We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Johnston Street, Savannah, GA 31405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% Book Early
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This Hampton Inn is a little bit off I-95 for a one-night stay but I did it because it seemed to be in a safe neighborhood and indeed it is. It is also convenient to the historic district if you are there for a longer visit. There is a nice shopping center just beyond it with a Fresh Market, Starbucks, etc. There is also an enclosed parking garage which I particularly liked as I am often traveling with a large amount of luggage which I do not want to lug in for one evening.

There are the usual Hampton Inn amenities and the hotel was pretty well kept up although not new. The staff are helpful and courteous. The gym was in good condition and I was very happy with what appeared to be a new elliptical machine. I did not have the complimentary breakfast so can't comment but the coffee was good. I thought it was very good value and I would come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    167
    58
    10
    8
See reviews for
234
201
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and was extremely pleased with the cleanliness. That issue was especially important to us because we had spent the previous 3 nights in a not-so-clean place in Pompano Beach, FL. The hotel is either newer or very well-kept--or both. I chose the midtown location instead of the historic district because I didn't want to pay for parking. The location turned out to be just a quick 5-minute drive to the historic district. Lots of restaurants within a 3-4 minute drive. There's an indoor pool that we never used it, but my hubby did use the exercise room which he found very nice. No real complaints about the staff but there was not the level of friendly interaction or helpfulness that we had experienced two weeks earlier in New Orleans at the Country Inn and Suites. I think I've been forever spoiled by the CI&S!! If you're looking for a well-kept and clean hotel that's close to the historic district and affordable, this may be a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Absolutely friendliest staff willing to accomodate on every level! Have had a minor bump with housekeeping issues while traveling with my 14 month old grandson but otherwise WILL continue to book here just for the excellent guest service!

Room Tip: Suites are amazingly roomy and offer all you need if you are staying more than a day or two and trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while in town for the birth of our Granddaughter. The property is well maintained and was squeaky clean. The breakfast was OK but not great, but I'm finicky anyway... The only problem we had was the a/c unit in our room was extremely loud when the compressor kicked on. Over all it was a very nice stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The hotel was very clean and the staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the river district, not far and a lot cheaper than the hotels down there. Breakfast was good, the staff always made sure everything was filled at all times. The parking ramp gets filled fast on weekend, so expect to park on top if u come back late on the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Thought this hotel well up to the standards expected of this chain, (though breakfast using the lounge area with its low furniture was odd). Front desk was helpful in directing us to the fish restaurant across the road and giving advice on parking etc. Savannah is a wonderful place to visit and we could drive in easily in under ten minutes (parking on meters, free at the weekend).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Since we have family in Savannah we are here quite often, and this is where we always stay. We love everything about this hotel. The entire hotel is top notch. Everything is extremely clean, and the staff is the most courteous, efficient and helpful we have encountered anywhere. Of course, this can be attributed to the manager, Felton Clark. He is great. Also, we always look up Bruce when we stay here. He's a joy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown

Address: 20 Johnston Street, Savannah, GA 31405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#11 Family Hotel in Savannah
#11 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.