We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always good Hampton but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Johnston Street, Savannah, GA 31405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% Book Early
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Tennessee
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“As always good Hampton but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton which was very nice, had a parking garage behind the Hilton and Hampton which was very convenient. One night we walked up to the Hilton to eat dinner and it was superb, it was the best Shrimp Alfredo I ever had and service was great.

We had a king room with a jacuzzi. The bed and room was great, but the jacuzzi save your money. It was good size but the water never did get over the tepid stage even when I ran Hot water only into it. I circulated the water, etc etc, then I even spoke to management. They said they would send maintenance up to repair but it wasnt repaired no difference just warm water.
The shower water was hot but not the jacuzzi.
Everything worked out all right, driving to Tybee Island was easy and getting to downtown also.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    167
    58
    10
    8
See reviews for
233
199
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Usually stay at Springhill. Read about this one. Never knew it was here. Right near abercorn and derenne on the right. Behind Hilton garden inn. Got parking deck. Well lit. Beautiful upscale Hampton inn. Wood floors. Warm colors. Indoor pool. Am gold Hilton member and got upgraded to a suite. Spotless. They spray febreeze so fresh! Bed is wonderful. AC worked great. No noise. The breakfast was nice. Eggs bagel. Make waffle yourself. Three coffees. Fruit. Only issue was room keys didn't work 2 nd time we came back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We called the hotel directly and received a good AAA rate for King Suite Studio for 3 nights. Great location with upscale shops nearby. It's off Abercorn and easy to drive 5 minutes to downtown and to out Tybee. This is a nice new six-story hotel with a covered parking deck. The facility personnel keep it all very pristine. The front desk clerk is very friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was quiet, comfortable and attractive. We've been coming to Savannah for 30+ years and this is our new hotel of choice!

Room Tip: High floors have the best view. Odd # =parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISSavhMidtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
EurekaAtlanta,

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and that you have found a new home away from home in Savannah!

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Being a Hilton Gold Card member, I researched all the Hilton properties in the Savannah historic district area prior to our one week stay. Based on Tripadvisor advice, I settled on this Hampton Inn as the best blend of price, location, and quality. The downtown properties have the location advantage, but check out the parking fees....steep. Unfortunately they also did not score as high as the mid town properties maybe because they are older, and in the case of the Hilton, the expectations are higher.

This Hampton sits only 4 miles south of the historic district and right next to the Hilton Garden Inn. If you wish, you can use the Hilton consiuerer (sp) service and outdoor swimming pool free of charge. The Hampton has an indoor pool and covered parking.... I found that it's a quick 10 minute trip to the historic district. Parking is NOT a problem in the historic district and it's much cheaper than hotel rates. Just do your research or ask the hotel associate when you get there. Side street parking is abundant but my caveat is to get there by mid morning. There is NO charge for street parking on weekends after 5:00pm Fridays! Weekdays, e.g. you can park at Polaski Park for $.50 per hour up to 5 hrs. Just bring lots of quarters. :-)

The room is standard Hampton but with nice ceramic tile bathroom floors, oversized shower ( no tub), faux granite bathroom countertops, and a 42" LCD TV with the usual station selection. The food is also standard Hampton. Nothing special. We had several occasions to ask for help with minor issues and they responded very quickly.

If you're more inclined to book Hilton, then consider the Hilton Garden Inn which is right next door to the Hampton.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISSavhMidtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Rayjayjr,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Many people do not realize that Hampton Inns are a part of the HIlton family of hotels and you can earn Hilton Honors points at these hotels. We pride ourselves on the high quality furnishings and amenities we are able to offer, including granite counter tops in the guest rooms and throughout the hotel. You must have stayed in a King room as our 2 Queen rooms do have tub.shower combinations. You offer great advice regarding parking. It is often a better deal to stay in midtown with us and find parking downtown. Even if you have to pay to park, the difference in price between downtown and midtown is worth it! I hope you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011 via mobile

Don't be fooled this is not the one across from river street... way to noisy thin walls way to many kids there churches girl scouts and on and on... me and preg wife were in the pool when about 2o kids jumped in and one bumped my wife staff was rude at front desk but house keeping were nice and courteous!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISSavhMidtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
parkerbrown1,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the issues you had during your stay. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly hotel as well as a nice retreat for couples wanting to see Savannah. We frequently have student groups, church groups, family reunions, etc. stay with us. While we cannot control all of our guests' actions, we would have been happy to minimize the number of people in the pool as there is a limit. I apologize for the rudeness of the desk attendant you encountered and can assure you we expect our staff to always be courteous. I hope you will give us another chance to wow you if you return to Savannah.

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
418 helpful votes 418 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night on the way to a 3 night stay on Jekyll Island. Room request was met exactly right down to the floor and location. Bed was very comfortable. Had one of the new type of rooms that have a nice sized shower only. Property appears to be only a few years or so old. Everything is in tip top shape. Kids utilized the outdoor pool at the adjacent Hilton Hotel in the evening (did not want to use the indoor HI&S pool) after we got the okay from the front desk folks @ the HI&S. The folks we encountered working at this property were all very friendly and professional.

Breakfast was typical fare. The staff did a great job of keeping everything restocked. Complimentary breakfast is a godsend. I understand that it can sometimes seem like the same old, same old, but it is such a time saver. It eliminates the need to go hunting for food in the morning.

We drove downtown in the evening for ice cream @ Leopolds and a walk along the waterway.....drive was about 10 minutes or so.

This property is in an area with decent shopping around. Would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISSavhMidtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
abcjjl,

Thank you so much for your review! It's great to hear you had such a great experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Savannah. While it's not right downtown, it's easy to get there and well worth the cost difference between historical district and midtown. The staff was very gracious and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Room lacked an easy chair which was disappointing, but not so much so that we wouldn't absolutely stay there again the next time we're in Savannah. Highly recommend this very nice faciltiy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISSavhMidtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback! I am glad that you enjoyed the property and the location. We hope that you are able to come back to see us again soon! Please “like” us on facebook or follow us on twitter@stayinsavannah.com so that you can see the specials and promotions that we offer to help you plan your return trip! Thanks again! Felton Clark, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown

Address: 20 Johnston Street, Savannah, GA 31405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#10 Family Hotel in Savannah
#11 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.