We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good but unusual waterfront hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 West Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Brookline, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A good but unusual waterfront hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in a river front room. The room was comfortable, with a ton of electronics and a huge shower but only one reading chair and windows that did not open. The decorating was weird - ghostly images in the reception area, dark halls, strange paintings, driftwood candelabra, heavy metal studs on the furniture; supposedly a nautical theme. Huge container ships and tug boats passed by frequently outside our window. The service was excellent - they brought us a small refrigerator quickly upon request. Breakfast in their ground floor dining room was very good. The location is separated from the historic district by a somewhat run down commercial district, so we had to drive to the nicer parts of town. Too trendy for us but others may like their style.

Room Tip: Ask for a river front room with a balcony so you can get fresh air. Avoid the top floors since ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sandy B,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your recent experience at Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront.

We do have a unique design that was intended to tie in with the features of our location on the Savannah River, from oyster chandeliers to kayaks on the ceiling. The river is definitely active with ships coming and going.

Our staff will appreciate hearing that you found the service was excellent.

Please let us know if we can be of assistance on a future visit to Savannah.


Kurt Englund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    152
    65
    30
    12
See reviews for
86
336
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Savannah seems to take pride in all things haunted, judging from the number of promotions I saw for "ghost tours". We didn't feel the need to hail one of those hearses given the downright creepy decor of our lodgings at The Bohemian. The hallway artwork was bizarre, with stricken faces staring out from thick, bright acrylic canvases. The room decor was even stranger, especially the barnacle-encrusted chandelier that hung menacingly over our bed.

We stayed in a "corner river room", which is, I believe is listed as a "larger guest room" on the Marriott web site which is where reservations must be made. I was looking forward to the river view but unfortunately, the river-facing windows are pretty small. Still, the location is great for getting the flavor of the river area and we really enjoyed seeing the huge container ships pass by, led in some cases by small dolphins frolicking off the ship bows. The room's side windows faced the massive wall of the Hyatt next door, leading us to understand why there was so much hoopla over allowing that hotel to be built. Too bad the Hyatt triumphed in this case.

The only thing worse than the chandelier was the faux-fur throw on the bed. I wish I had brought latex gloves with which to remove it as I suspect there was a petri dish-worth of bacteria clinging to it from the forays of previous guests. I also had concerns about hygiene issues with the red velvet-quilted headboard. The sheets on the bed were clean but limp and of below-average quality. However, the room was clean and newish and the bath, while constructed of materials bearing no resemblance to anything found in nature, was spacious and well-designed.

I read numerous recommendations for the hotel's rooftop bar, which we visited once. Pleasant but not that exciting, really, and there are very few seats actually facing the river. (For a better view, I highly recommend dining at nearby Vic's on the River) I also read a number of reviews warning about bar noise disturbing residents of higher-floor rooms. This was not really an issue for us but maybe because we were there mid-week rather than over a weekend. The room walls are thin and we did hear a lot more than we would have wished from neighboring rooms and hallway passersby.

I originally had booked with the Bohemian's sister hotel, The Mansion on Forsyth Park, but switched out because it seemed that Forsyth Park was a bit far away from restaurants and activities. We stopped by The Mansion for lunch one day to check it out and it was confirmed that for us, The Bohemian was a better choice. For all its failings, the Bohemian's location is excellent. And it seems that Marriott inadvisably let the same crazed decorator loose at The Mansion, given the bright orange-lacquered furniture and light fixtures in their restaurant.

When I read half-hearted hotel reviews, I always wish reviewers would tell me where it is they wish they had stayed instead. I can't say that I saw a clear winner for a luxury hotel in this case. The Hamilton-Turner Inn looked magnificent from the outside but there seemed to be quite a few stairs which could be a deterrent for some. Perhaps the Westin across the river would be an option, although it is a bit removed from the action and I did not see its rooms.

The staff at The Bohemian seems quite youthful but I was impressed by their earnestness and desire to provide service. Not their fault that the place was decorated by someone on hallucinogens...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Goingoinggone,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience during a recent visit to Bohemian Hotel Savannah.

I am sorry to hear that you did not like our unique décor and original artwork. Our goal is to combine all elements, especially those of our river front location, to create an amazing experience.

Please be assured the bed throw is cleaned on a regular basis, and we would be happy to remove from your remove if it was not to your liking.

Thank you for your comments, and we do hope you will visit on your next trip to Savannah.

Kurt Englund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a trendy hotel, rooms were nice but not as nice as other Bohemian hotels I have stayed in. Not much of a lobby and the hotel is a little small but oveall it was a great place to stay. Well within walking distance to good dinning, and bars. The hotel has a nice ba on the roof that has a great view of the river.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in a river front larger king size room for two nights, which I highly recommend upgrading to. Room was large and had wonderful alcove with heavenly leather lounger where you can watch ships sail down the river. Bedroom and hotel Decor is dark and may not be to everyone's liking. The hotel is without a doubt the best on the river front but the hotel's designers/interior decorators had obviously never sleep here, which resulted in a number of annoying problems, such as no bedside table on one side of bed, problematic light switches, the inability to open any windows, no hooks to hang clothes in bathroom, a lack of drawers for clothes and toilet door and shower door which are problematic on opening when there are bath mats on floor. There is no mini fridge but hotel will provide one on request. There is a large size closet and work desk without drawers. We had constant problems with Wi Fi and were told by management that it was because our room was far from the elevators. We were offered another room but declined because the room was not available for 24 hours. On complaining the management was superb and tried to deal with most of our complaints very fast. They eventually fixed my husband's Wi Fi but could not fix mine. The roof top bar "Rocks" is very cool but the restaurant on the ground floor also called Rocks is very disappointing, expensive, dark and looks like a glorified cafeteria. Breakfast in Rocks is good but far too expensive for what it is. Give yourself plenty of time at the front office as the staff doubles as concierges and one has to wait a long time to be served. Nice bowl of fresh apples is available at front desk for guests. Security is great. Bell boys are pleasant, fast and efficient as is most most of staff and although parking is expensive, it is very convenient. The hotel's locations allows one to walk to most places of interest and the hop on, hop off bus stops right outside. The hotel tries very hard to please its' clients but is small so it does not have the capacity that a large Marriott has. It is expensive for Savannah but the location is amazing and despite the problems we encountered, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to river front room. Book dinner reservations before arriving in Savannah at restaurants of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived at night and were immediately pleased. The hotel is all lit up..including the palm trees in front. The lobby is warm, modern and interesting. All of the staff (front desk, vallets, maids) are very helpful and go out of their way to make sure you're happy.

Everything in the hotel is very artistic from the elevators to the rooms. We stayed on the 8th floor for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. We faced the historic district instead of the river. The beds and bedding are very comfortable. We did a Savannah tour and the tour guide raved about our hotel and the rooftop bar.

The location is great. We walked or cabbed it everywhere. We will come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KesslerCorporate, Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We are thrilled that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 8th floor for 4 nights - never heard the rooftop bar once- actually very quiet stay. The room was facing the street and had large window with a lot of light. We loved this hotel, it was clean and had a unusual ambiance that made the trip special. Wonderful location for everything - highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KesslerCorporate, Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Terry, thank you for your kind review. We're so pleased that you had a nice stay and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved this hotel. It sits on a bluff on the Savannah River. The hotel elevator brings you down to the river front, where they have a great restaurant and bar, more on that later. The hotel is beautifully designed and furnished. It is boutique-like, but the rooms, while not large, are larger than boutique hotels. It also has none of the frantic atmosphere of the typical boutique hotels. It is calm, laid back, and beautiful.
We had a river-front room which was great, but do not be deterred if a river-front room is not available. The hotel has plenty of frontage on the river where you can sit and watch the show that large, ocean going transport ships put on as they pass by. Savannah is a major port on the East Coast. The room, bedding, furnishings beautiful.
There is a very popular, hip, roof-top bar and restaurant which we visited, but did not eat in. Loud, thumping music, big crowd, not our thing, but people were having fun.
We did visit the river front restaurant and bar on the first floor (the lobby is on the 4th fl) and we loved it. Sat outdoors with our dogs, and the food and the views were terrific. Great for breakfast too.
Note: This is a pet-friendly hotel. But pets are allowed only in pet-designated rooms, so no worries about allergies. We have two small dogs, and they treated them great. $150 a night for one or two dogs.
The hotel is probably a half-mile from the "historic district" where there are many hotels. But there is all kinds of transportation to the historic district, you do not need to stay there. We recommend the river front, there is more energy at night, and it is fun.
Lastly, the staff at the Bohemian, from the valets, to the restaurant waiters are great. They have a lot of personality, and do not sound like they are speaking from a script the way you might feel at a Ritz Carlton or 4 Seasons. But the level of service equals those two hotel chains.
Probably $100 or so more a night than other top hotels in Savannah, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: River-front room are a little larger and the view, even from a single window, is fun. But f you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KesslerCorporate, Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Address: 102 West Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.