We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 West Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A trip to Savannah was a gift from my husband. He did his research and we stayed a few floors below the rooftop bar, so noise was not an issue for us. The Bohemian was eclectic and fun: oyster shell chandeliers, ornamental art, funky accessories. I couldn't live in it, but I loved visiting! The staff was warm and helpful, and it was within walking distance to everything. Check out Savannah Bike Tours for a wonderfully historic tour of the city, and the Olde Pink House is one of the best meals I have had in a long time. It was a wonderfully romantic weekend without kids. I would recommend the Bohemian and Savannah for a unique time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Graynick,

We are pleased to hear that your husband gifted you a trip to Savannah and a “terrific” experience at the Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. Thank you for sharing your comments and recommendation.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Savannah.

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    145
    59
    27
    10
See reviews for
81
312
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My expectations were met with this quaint, quiet , upscale hotel on the riverfront. It was easy walking distance to most sites. Very classy decor. Our room had a great view of river. Rooftop bar very nice with great tapas. Would definetly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Shandraton,

Thank you for sharing your recent Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront experience with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our quaint hotel and central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return trip to Savannah.

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is in a wonderful location with views of the river and easy walking distance from everything you want to see in Savannah. They also have a great roof top bar when you want to take a break from walking about.

The hallways are dark and the decor is clearly intended for a certain taste (but I liked it).

The concierge is not all that useful so do a little research before you get there on what you want to see, do and eat.

Room Tip: The waterfront is lovely to look at so if it is an option take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Squirreletta1,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location and the décor.

Your constructive comment has been shared with the Concierge team. If you would like to contact me directly on specifics of how they were not helpful, I would enjoy the opportunity to speak to you. Savannah has a lot to offer, and we strive to be informed for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Savannah, as we would love to be your "Home Base" once again.

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel was perfect for our couple getaway. The rooms were immaculate and quiet, easy walking to all squares, great roof top bar, music and view, very comfortable bedding and the staff was always eager to please. The only issue we had was the concierge misinformed us twice on shuttle times to Tybee. They just seemed less informed then should be, but over the top accommodating, friendly & accessible. We highly recommend the Oglethorpe Tours (with Dave).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Nicole S,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. I am pleased to hear it was perfect for your couple getaway!

I will share your comments with the staff, especially the Concierge. I apologize if the shuttle time information caused any inconvenience.

Please keep us in mind for your next getaway to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Tries too hard to be a hip venue. The rooms have a strange configuration....we were greeted with a view into the glassed bathroom when we entered. Weird chandelier hangs directly over the bed.....with what appears to be sea shells embedded in the faux crystal. The bed was covered with a brown faux fur throw (yes lots of faux here).

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Richard J,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your stay with us March 2012. I am sorry to hear that you found the hotel “dark and uninviting”.

While the design of the hotel is contemporary with a vintage allure, we also feature unique artful touches such as the oyster chandelier, and other works of original art. Plus, it is our staff that can really provide the warmth and help create amazing experiences.

We would enjoy the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Savannah and give us another opportunity.

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I chose the Bohemian because it was listed as an upscale hotel. I have traveled immensely, and while the decor is 'out there' and unique, my interactions with the hotel are mainly going to be in the hotel room. So let's start there.

The room was small. We are platinum members and are suppose to get a room upgrade. Across the nation, we are treated as frequent guests, treated to an upgrade and concierge service, but not here. When I say small, picture the size of room you used to get back in the day in an old motel room. There is a long desk, two beds, a table for a lamp and a chair by the desk. that is the extent of the room. Our 'historic' view consists of the backside of several large buildings, instead of the river view we requested.

Our room does not have a refrigerator, which surprised us. It is rare to not encounter a refrigerator in any hotel room. The bathroom was big enough but the doors on the shower and the toilet room are blurred glass, so someone quite shy might not want to be viewed sitting on the toilet.

We weren't given a river view, but instead, we told we to be placed on the highest floor. This seemed like an upgrade, as the Ritz put us on the highest floor when we received the upgrade in Atlanta. All this did was place us directly underneath the rooftop bar. All night long well into the sleep hour, the room was virtually vibrating from the loud music. After HOURS of trying to fall asleep, I was then greeted with loud sex coming from the room next door...through the thin walls.

So I guess so far I will say I have not been impressed. I understand this hotel may be limited by the room sizes, but other hotels manage to impress, why can't you? I won't be back and I regret staying here. I have a headache from the lack of sleep.

Review reader...know the price tag is paying for interesting unique decor and river street locale. The room is small, no refrigerator, stay away from the top floor, prepare for thin walls, and lower your expectations if you are a frequent marriott guest.

Room Tip: anywhere except the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear dLeighGeorgia,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your stay.

Our goal is to provide a top level of service and I would enjoy to personally review your experiences to see how we could make it up to you on a future stay. Your experience was not typical of a majority of our guests.

We would like to have you back with us. Please contact me directly at your convenience.

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a great "babymoon" 2 night getaway from Atlanta for our 2nd child this past weekend. The hotel is exactly where you want to be for a weekend away - we put our car in valet and left it there the entire time. Similar to its sister properties in Asheville, NC and Orlando, FL the Bohemian hotel has a very modern, chic, warm, trendy feel to it - which doesn't remind you of a "chain" hotel experience. The only difference is that the hotel and its rooms are just much smaller than those sister properties.

There is a really convenient restaurant in the bottom of the hotel with an excellent bartender who gave us tons of local tips on places to hit up, and the roof top bar is definitely a place to be seen. Since we were on a "babymoon" we didn't spend too much time up there but the place was packed even in early January which surprised us. Lots of visitors from outside of the hotel will come here and you'll be happy that the elevators require room key access to get to the floors that have rooms. Nice touch - you won't hear either bar from your room.

The only reason I'm not giving this review 5 stars over 4 stars is due to the room size and lack of view if you don't have a river view. The staff was very accommodating to the best of their abilities, but be aware that there are going to be a small handful of rooms with downright bad views - like the one we almost stayed in on the main floor of the lobby that had a view of the valet drop off. We were able to get moved, but if they are sold out you may not get so lucky. The bathrooms are ample sized, but the shower is crazy small. Yes, I was 7 months pregnant but I banged my elbows on the size of walls. Would this keep me from coming back to this hotel? Probably not, but considering the price and new-ness of the property (3 years old and built brand new from the ground up) I thought they could have given another few inches to avoid bumps in the shower.

You will not be disappointed with your chic stay here - just watch yourself in the shower :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear TheBelbuts,

Thank you for spending your “babymoon” with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

I am pleased that you found the staff accommodating. As you mentioned, we do offer River views and Historic views. While I am not sure exactly what room you were in, we do have showers of different sizes, even some with a large bath tub. When making your next reservation, please make the request. We will do our best to honor your request.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next escape to Savannah. Best of luck on the new arrival!

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Address: 102 West Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.