We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service at its worst, and then some...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #30 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Customer service at its worst, and then some...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Stayed here with my family for one night. Our room was nice but the valet damaged our car and then the manager refused to speak to us over the phone because it was his day off. Well, it was our VACATION!!! He would not even speak to Marriott customer care. Do not stay here if you value your car or personal relations. This manager is the worst. It has been 3 days and we have yet to be contacted by him.

Hotels operated 24/7 but this one operates at the leisure of the manager. Beware of his schedule. It may not suit yours...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
thebigappel,

I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. There seems to have been some miscommunication regarding our contact this week. I am sorry about that. I emailed you this morning and have attempted to call you as well. I unfortunately was unable to speak to you on Sunday for personal reasons explained in the email I sent. As far as the incident with your vehicle, I sincerely apologize for this. We have filed an insurance claim and you should be contacted by our representative soon if you have not been already. Unfortunately we have to process claims for vehicle damage through our insurance and are unable to issue cash for repairs as you requested Sunday. I hope you understand that my hands are tied on this. I hope that the refunding of your Marriott Rewards points spent for your stay with us as well as the email I sent will help your opinion of our hotel and that you will consider giving us another shot should you return to Savannah.

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    204
    87
    23
    9
See reviews for
209
191
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk,MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

This was our first time ever staying at a Springhill Suites and this one really set the bar high for other Springhill Suites we will stay at. We stayed here over April Vacation for a couple days, we had come from a couple days in New York City, so this hotel and city was very low key for us. We got a great deal of the Marriott Family and Friends rate, $82 a night, because my cousin works at a Marriott, so obviously the value was great for us. The rooms were very nice and also clean, the bathroom door situation was a little bit odd, but having two bathroom compartments was also very convenient. The breakfast was perfect having just the right food for everyone and the service was also great. The hotel's location was right within walking distance of everything which was nice. Overall, I higly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
Redsox3,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We have stayed in Springhill Suites around the country and have always had great stays. This stay was no different. Very conveniently located to river street and walking the historic district. Unfortunately, the heat indices were 108-119 the time we were there so the walking was a minimum. The only problem we had with the stay, was the fact that the city had come to inspect the pool and it was closed for several days. Very inconvenient for the HOT days, but I don't feel it was the hotels fault. Very good breakfast selection, but like most hotels, the area was crammed and crowded. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
Trvlmanwv,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry the pool was closed during your stay. Summer is definitely not the time to close a pool in Savannah, but we do have to have it inspected by the city and don't control when they come. Thank you for your understanding on this. I hope you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and 4 children, and this place is beautiful! It is in the heart of downtown Savannah, within walking distance of shops, restaurants and other sites. The lobby was gorgeous, the breakfast was great, the rooms are comfy and immaculately clean. The air conditioner gets very cold, which is good because it was HOT outside when we went. The pool and hot tub are outside and very nice. The fitness center was probably the best I've seen in a hotel. There were about 5 treadmills, 4 elliptical machines, 2 bikes, and dumbbells; plenty of equipment for getting a good workout. The valet parking was $12, but well worth the money. There is also a concierge onsite, but she was not pushy or bombarding at all. With our AAA discount, we stayed in this room for only $94, which is a steal for how beautiful this hotel is. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Savannah!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
ncmon,

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you and your family will come back soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way to Florida. The valet staff was very personable and efficient. Reception staff very good. Hotel is a good location; we walked everywhere downtown, including the waterfront and many parks/squares.

However, it seems as if only the sheets/pillowcases were changed (they were very comfortable and clean) and the tub cleaned out. It did not appear that the carpets were vacuumed (debris, fuzz) or anything dusted (dust on EVERYTHING). The toilet paper and towel holders had dust and lint all over, as did the glass shelf in the shower room, which turned into a dusty, soupy mess with the shower steam. The wallpaper had dirty marks all over, incl. splotches of blood near the toilet (the paper is light colored and doesn't seem to ever get cleaned). The kicker was a large piece of chocolate covered nut candy that was on top of the airconditioning unit, underneath a wooden suitcase holder. It looked like poop and was either left by the previous occupant and missed by housekeeping (I saw it in 2 seconds) or left by HK as a bad joke. I don't know how they could have missed it, except that their cursory cleaning job only includes the above mentioned tasks.

There was also trash left in the hallways for an extended period of time, i.e. an empty beer 12 pack by the elevator and wrappers and utensils in the hallway. Unacceptable. If the staff would;ve spent as much time cleaning as they did hanging out at the end of the hallway sitting on the windowsill, maybe the rooms would not be so grimey.

Also, as others have said, a toilet and sink are separate from the tub and sink. This is a great idea, except that they are behind sliders with an opaque glass door that do not lock and don't close particularly well. Not too much privacy, so take into consideration depending with whom you are traveling.

The room was very large and stylish. However new but because they are not keeping up with cleanliness, the sofa area seems dirty and I would not use the pull out. Too afraid of what we might find in there. There is a large micro fridge combo.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
laxmomPa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad you found the location and the front of the house staff to be so accommodating. I sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you had during your stay. We are a brand new hotel and strive to keep everything in top condition. I will address this issue with the Executive Housekeeper.

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I love the Marriott chain, but never stayed in a Springhill Suites. This was a nice surprise. Our room was very large and well appointed. The location was great and the staff was most courteous. My husband and I wish we had been spent more time here rather than Charleston. I will recommend to all our friends.

The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because they did not have a bar.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Celeda51,

We wish you could have stayed longer too! I hope you'll plan a return trip soon and stay with us.

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Hotel was very nice. Loved the soft beds and lots of pillows. Room layout was great for our family. All the staff was very friendly. Loved the good breakfast in the morning, especially the oatmeal and waffles. Concierge was very knowledgeable and helped us make some good choices on what to do and where to eat. Didn't use the valet parking, parked in the garage next to the hotel, bought a 48 hour pass from the visitor center for 12 dollars that allowed us to park in the garages and almost anywhere else in the city. Short walk down to the river and to the visitors center where the trolley tours depart. A short 20 minute drive to Tybee Island.
Overall was very satisfied with our stay and would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
baysue623,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful. We look forward to you staying with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#39 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.