We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, modern hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #30 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chic, modern hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We booked this hotel from the Marriott website because it was the cheapest and newest of the Marriott hotels in Savannah, plus it was well-located and included breakfast. Considering all of these factors, it was a smokin' good deal.

The decor and layout is modern and similar to high-end hotels in Europe--sort of a high-end Ikea look. Interesting features like sliding doors on the bathrooms, bed lights integrated into the bed, steam-proof mirror in the shower, ipod docking station, etc, made the hotel room appealing. The lobby, swimming area, etc, were very chic and I was really impressed.

I stayed at this hotel with my husband, my toddler, and my teenage brother in law. We booked a king bedroom, which came with a sofa-bed as a standard feature. The layout of the room was such that there was physical separation between the king bed and the sofabed, which was a plus. The toilet is in a separate room from the shower, also nice.

The con's of the hotel:
- Although the sliding doors on the shower and toilet rooms was very cool looking, the doors were loud and since they could not be locked, my toddler delighted in throwing them open.
- For all the meticulous attention to detail, they didn't stock enough towels and we had to call down for more. I think that we may not have indicated that there would be 3 adult guests, so that may be our bad.
- Like all Marriott hotels, breakfast was a madhouse. This hotel had particularly poor staffing at the breakfast rush hour, as evidenced by the overflowing trash cans and empty food containers. This is counterbalanced by the fact that at least they *have* a breakfast, and a very good one at that, so I give that criticism with some hesitation.
- We did not plan to do much food prep in the room so this was no problem for us, but the kitchen area is somewhat spartan. If you plan to use the kitchen extensively, this may not be the best place--it has a microwave and a fridge but it is a small area tucked in a corner by the door.

The service here, in general, is excellent. The front desk is helpful and knowledgeable.

I was generally more impressed with this hotel than I have been with any hotel in a very long time. It was shockingly inexpensive relative to the quality.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Social Media Sales Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Ninja_Catz,

I am so glad we wowed you with the value and customer service. I appreciate you taking the time to voice your concerns as we are always trying to improve. We can only become better if our guests offer honest feedback. I have addressed the door lock issue with the General Manager and we will work on trying to find a solution.

Sincerely,
Stacy Sturgis
Social Media Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    204
    87
    23
    9
See reviews for
209
191
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I loved the decor. With the Savannah College of Art and Design right up the road, felt this hotel did fit right in. Everything was in walking distance. The staff could not have been more helpful. Definitely my new place to stay when in town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Social Media Sales Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
mcehrlic,

Thank you so much! I am so glad you loved it!

Sincerely,
Stacy Sturgis
Social Media Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We lasted one night (of a 5 night reservation). Hated the ultra modern look, especially for a new hotel located in the historical district. Left and went to Courtyard a couple of blocks away for a room we considered more traditional. A new room, yes, but room was narrow - reminded me of hotels in Asia where space is a premium. No bath tub and shower door gap generated a large puddle in the shower room. Towel too thin for Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Social Media Sales Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
noles2u,

Thank you for taking a minute to write a review about our hotel. I am sorry you did not like the hotel. It is definitely contemporary and unlike anything Savannah's Historic District has to offer. I am glad you found another location that better suited your tastes. While the hotel decor is far from traditional, our staff is second to none! I hope that during the one night you were with us you were shown fantastic customer service and Southern hospitality.

Sincerely,
Stacy Sturgis
Social Media Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

The room is well appointed and very comfortable. It was unusually large and the modern furniture was visually appealing and comfy at the same time. My only complaint is that the towels provided could have been more plush but that would probably be nit-picking on my end. Its location is perfect because it's very close to the historic district. City Market and The Lady & Sons are within a 5-10 minute stroll and River Street is not much further. We also didn't expect breakfast to be available since other Marriotts will charge extra for breakfast. When we were informed at check-in that breakfast will be served I thought it would just be some fruit, cereal and coffee but it turned out to be a substantial HOT breakfast with turkey patties, eggs, oatmeal, freshly-made waffles aside from cereal and bagels. I want to plan another visit to Savannah just to have an excuse to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

This hotel just opened in the fall of this year (2009), and we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel from the service we received as soon as we drove up to the rooms, and cool modren decor. I am in a wheelchair and often have problems feeling comfortable when I travel, but this hotel was totally accessible, and even had accessible rooms with 2 QUEEN-SIZED beds (which can be difficult to find). We never even expected to have a consierge service in a hotel at this price. She made us dinner reservations, booked us tickets to a show, and wrote us directions BY HAND! The rooms are large, with a semi-seperate seating area complete with a sofa, a large flat screen tv, free internet access, a coffee table, a desk, and a food center that includes a microwave and frige. The hot complimentary breakfast was just another added plus! I haven't been to Savannah in over 5 years, but I look forward to coming back really soon, and staying here at the SpringHill Suites in Downtown.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Social Media Sales Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
LilRedDeltahood,

Thanks so much for the review you wrote about our hotel! We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us and can't wait to come back!

Sincerely,
Stacy Sturgis
Social Media Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We recently stayed here over Halloween. This is a new hotel on the western border of the historic distric. Here are our pros and cons.

Pro:
1) New hotel. It still had the new hotel smell. The rooms were clean. Great bed. Big flat screen TV. Mini fridge and microwave. A nice big shower. A separate sittng area.
2) It was on the west end of the historic district. It was a 4 block walk to the City Market. Here's a tip. If you plan to do the Trolly Tours, it's an easier and shorter walk to City Market than the Visitor's Center. (Stop 10 and 14 on Old Trolly Tours). From City Market, it's another 5 minutes to the Waterfront and Bay Street. Many restaurants there.
3) Location is good. You are within a 20 minute walk to everything in the historic district except the Pirate House. This city is a very walking friendly city.

Con:
1) The layout of the room is a little weird. It has an Asian feel to it. When you are lying on the bed, you face the 2 bathroom areas. On the left, there is the toilet and a very small sink in one room. To the right, there is a separate room where the main sink and shower are. The doors slide and never fully close. In the room where the toilet is, the pedestal sink had no room to put soap or anything else.
2) There is nothing in the hotel that tells you that you are in the South. I know it's new, but as stated before, it has more of an Asian feel that a Southern feel. You could uproot this hotel and put it anywhere in the country and not have to change anything.
3) The breakfast buffet is the same menu as every other Springhill Suites. Egg patty, sausage patty, waffles, oatmeal, breads, etc. No biscuits and gravy? Really?! I am in the South, right?

I would recommend this hotel because the pros outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Social Media Sales Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
1Kman,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of our hotel. I am so glad the location worked so well for you! It is right in the middle of everything in the Historic District and you can walk anywhere. The hotel is contemporary and is unlike anything else in the Historic District. It is definitely not what you would expect to see in that location, but many guests think that is one of the things that makes it great! I hope that if you visit Savannah again that you will stay with us!

Sincerely,
Stacy Sturgis
Social Media Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishing it was Aruba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Since we were new to Savannah, we didn't know where to park so we parked in the parking deck located about a minute or two within walking distance. We arrived at the valet entrance and were told it cost $12 a day to park at the hotel but we could still park at the parking deck for $10 every time we leave and come back. We ended up parking in the deck for 3 days for a total of $13 (we were able to walk most everywhere).

Pros:
Staff was very friendly
Very clean since it is brand new
Free 24 hour fitness center with treadmills that have tvs on them
Outside pool and whirlpool
Super comfortable beds
Contemporary designs
Free breakfast (oatmeal, eggs, sausage, pastries, juice, coffee, cereal, milk)
Lots of sitting areas in lobby with flat screen tvs
The toilet/sink is in separate room from shower. Ample room in shower.
High speed internet with desk
L shaped couch in sitting area of room
Microwave, small refrigerator, and coffeemaker
Plenty of pillows on bed
Flat screen TV
Lots of adjustable lighting to suit your taste
Clock radio with I-pod docking
Small "store" next to lobby desk with beer, wine, soda,snacks, pain reliever,etc
Walking distance to shopping, bars, restaurants
Right next door to the Savannah Civic Center


Cons:
Windows don't open
The sliding doors to the bathroom and shower need to be redesigned. I smashed my finger closing the door the first time.
The elevator was rather slow most of the time.

Bottom line: Excellent hotel and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacySturgis, Social Media Sales Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
ctucker45,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! I am so sorry you hurt your finger with the pocket doors to the bathrooms. They are a bit different from other doors. They are excellent space savers, though! We would love to have you stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Savannah.

Sincerely,
Stacy Sturgis
Social Media Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#23 Family Hotel in Savannah
#25 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#39 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.