We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly Trained Staff & Housekeeping & Hard to Find Location = The Hotel fromHell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Poorly Trained Staff & Housekeeping & Hard to Find Location = The Hotel fromHell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is very hard to find when one is driving down the Street it is located on =Montgomery is a one way street going away from much of downtown and the hotel sign is tiny compared to all the other Marriott Hotels - Courtyard, Residence Inn, etc. It is located behind the Civic Center rather than in front of it, like almost every other Savannah downtown hotel. The drive in to the Hotel entrance and garage is hard to find and narrow.

Housekeeping is poor. Although the bed and bath linen is clean, there are large stains on the carpets (don't they have Spot Shot?) and on the walls and mildew outside the shower. Tatyana, the front desk clerk was the only person at duty at the front desk, despite a sold out hotel requiring extra staff to make check-ins not take too long or answer the phone.

The breakfast is served for a short period. The General Manager does not work weekends,so there is no one to report a serious problem to.

Tatyana gave us a handicapped room because she didn't check - the handicapped rooms do not have the showers, just a handicapped tub - she then took a long time to find us a satisfactory room.

If the rates were low, perhaps poorly trained staff and a hard to find location would be acceptable, but rates are as high as anywhere in town.

If like me, you are a Marriott Elite member, find another Marriott hotel in Savannah.

Room Tip: Be sure they don't give you a nandicapped room unless you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Valued Marriott Member,

Thank you for your review and we apologize you left the hotel feeling unsatisfied as you did. We will review our rooms and Housekeeping procedures to ensure we are providing the highest quality to our guests. We can assure you though that those conditions are not the baseline for the hotel. It sounds like multiple incidents added up to create an unsatisfactory visit and we deeply apologize you did not have an excellent stay. We hope you will stay with us once more time for a much more characteristic experience of our great staff and hotel.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    218
    90
    23
    9
See reviews for
221
205
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The location was perfect it is across the street from johnny mercer theater. Based on previous reviews i was worried about valet parking and was going to opt not to but the guy said he had an end spot available and he would park it there; no issues with the parking. Our room was clean. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Judy at guest services gave great resturant and siteseeing recommendations. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is located on the edge of the Historic District and allows for comfortable walks to all of the most interesting sites. The service was excellent, the rooms sparkling and the views from the top floor enchanting. I found the concierge to be knowledgeable but not totally accurate. I asked if I needed reservations for restaurants on a Monday evening and he said probably not. My advice always make a reservation in Savannah.

Room Tip: Be prepared for rather soft beds and inadequate pillows, but the bed side lights are superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was built inside a historic building near the river in Savannah. It had an ultra modern design and was the perfect getaway spot for our family of four. With two teenagers, I am always searching for something cool enough for our kids, but comfortable enough for mom and dad. This hotel fit our needs perfectly. Two comfortable queen sized beds plus a sleeper sofa left room for all with no excuses for sibling fights! Having the bathroom facilities split, sink and toilet in one room and sink and shower/bathtub in another gave us privacy as well as shorter prep time in the mornings.
The hotel was in walking distance of wonderful dining and tourist spots. We never used our car.
We were on the second floor, which was the same floor as the terrace pool and hot tub. Very convenient for all of us to enjoy. I thought the pool too small, but I heard no complaints from our 13 year old son, so reading the latest John Grisham novel in peace was an unexpected pleasure.
The first night we ordered food delivered to our room. The concierge offered us a large supply of restaurants to choice from. We picked a good one, Congress Street Social Club. Best wings I have ever had...order them smoked with your favorite sauce.
We also dined at Lady and Sons (touristy, but teen friendly) and Molly MacPherson's Scottish Pub. The Pub was awesome, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We traveled to Savannah after spending the weekend in Charleston, and have to say that we were just blown away by the beauty of Savannah,as well as the value of this beautiful hotel right in the historic district. Everything we wanted to see was in walking distance, and we did not use the car except to leave town for Tybee Island or Bonaventure Cemetery. We chose not to use the valet parking, but instead to use metered parking which was cheap and easy to come by within one block of the hotel. You pay nothing on weekends or after 5 pm, and you don't have to feed the meter until 8 am on weekdays. We were not automatically charged for the parking. The hotel was clean and had a business center with free printing which came in handy. The pool is located on the 2nd floor. It is small but adequate for someone who would like a quick swim. Parents can supervise older kids from the hot tub right next to the pool. It was not crowded during our visit. The suite was very spacious for our family of 5,and I especially liked that there were two separate bathroom areas-one with a vanity and shower and a separate private half-bath so that more than one person could be accommodated at any given time.Breakfast was very crowded and there were usually lines for food. I don't really mind a small line for free food, nor do I mind Girl Scouts underfoot. Their parents know a good value and troops probably choose to stay at this hotel year after year to visit the childhood home of Juliette Gordon Low,the founder of Girl Scouting, in Savannah. The only thing I did not care for at breakfast was the meat. It was very unappetizing. There were other choices though,and the staff was working very hard to keep everything stocked. I will definitely stay here again on a return trip to Savannah, which I hope will be soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauvoo, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose the Springhill Suites for our trip to Savannah since our children were coming with us. We were on the 3rd floor in a 2 queen bed room with living room area and mini-fridge/microwave area. Having stayed in a Springhill Suite before (Lafayette, LA), I expected the kitchenette area to be a bit larger. While on the small side, it was still adequate enough to meet our needs while in Savannah. So room size was a plus while we traveled with our 11 year old son and 8 year old daughter.
I loved that the bathroom was split, being the toilet and a small sink were in one room and the shower and another sink/vanity were in another room. We are a family used to having access to 3 bathrooms at home, so this alone made the room worthwhile!
In the room, the linens were clean and neat and were changed as requested. We stayed for 4 days and had no problems with getting replacement/clean items.
The plumbing in the toilet did squeal when flushed and then calmed as soon as the tank filled. I could have complained, but this was not a big deal for us. The carpet was dirty, with large and small spots on the floor. It needs cleaned or replaced - we wore shoes/socks the entire stay. The bathroom areas were clean as was the fridge and microwave. The living space was adequate and included a sofa that folded out to a bed (uncomfortable, but typcial of a small mattress/sleeper sofa) and a desk with multiple plugs.
Staff were great, even the valet attendents. All were very friendly and more than happy to meet any request I had. Our vehicle was brought around once during our stay and it was a very quick process.
The breakfast lacked a lot to be desired. We are on CST at home and Savannah is EST being they are an hour ahead of us. While on this vacation, we didn't set alarms and slept late until around 7:00 a.m. every morning (late for us). Meaning it was 8:00 a.m. Savannah time. So we got to breakfast at about 9:30 EST and were dissappointed with the selections being un-filled or lacking all together - some were just removed early. In addition one morning the curtain was pulled on the breakfast at about 9:45....didn't stop me or several other moms from moving the curtain and getting what we needed (breakfast was supposed to be available until 10). I had to remind myself that I brought several snacks (granola bars, nuts, etc) and that we weren't here for the hotel breakfast, lol.
It was in a great location, walking distance to everything in historic Savannah.
Overall, would I stay here again? Possibly, at least while traveling with our kids. Probably not if just myself and hubby - we would opt for a more upscale place :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We really like staying at the Springhill Suites in Seattle, and we liked this one even better. The rooms and the pool are beautiful, and Brianna at the front desk was really nice, patient and helpful. The location was closer to everything than I expected. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#35 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.