We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skidaway Island State Park

Skidaway Island State Park
52 Diamond Causeway, Savannah, GA 31411
912 598 2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located near historic Savannah, this park borders Skidaway narrows, a part of Georgia’s intracoastal waterway. Trails wind through maritime forest and past salt marsh, leading to a boardwalk and observation tower. Visitors can watch for deer, fiddler crabs, raccoon, egrets and other wildlife. Inside the park’s interpretive center, birders will find binoculars, reference books and a window where they can look for migrating species such as Painted Buntings. Children will especially enjoy seeing the towering, 20-foot Giant Ground Sloth replica and reptile room. A scenic campground is nestled under live oaks and Spanish moss, while groups can enjoy privacy in their own pioneer campgrounds. Open-air picnic shelters and an enclosed group shelter are popular spots for parties, reunions and other celebrations.
Dallas, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Park was small and very "buggy." We were camping and I really do not recommend camping here. However, paths were well marked and bathrooms were clean.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    53
    17
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for bird watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good trails, which were dry and well signposted.
We went around the birding trails and spotted 22 different varieties,
including 5 woodpeckers , pileated, red-headed, red-breasted, downy, yellow bellied sapsucker, and eastern bluebirds, white eyed vireo, and Carolina wren.
Place had huge car parks and was well organised.

As another review said bring your bug spray.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

There is a small fee to enter the park, but it's well worth it. They have a small learning center with all kinds of native critters to look at and learn about. There are numerous trails for biking and walking. The campground is nice, the spaces are a good size. If you geocache, they have several within the park.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't miss this one!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Oh my!! It's so great to go away for a weekend! And a place like Skidaway is the icing on the cake! My Husband and I arrived at 11pm to set up our ten. The area was easy to find. The whole park was so clean I was amazed! AND the $25 a night (RV's are only $35!) was incredible. We were looking for peace and quiet and found just that!! We lit a fire at night in the pit and starred at it for hours. Definitely going back again and again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Campsite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a wonderful composite only 15 minutes from old Savannah. We camped in a tent for 5 nights in campsite 3 at the back of the park. It was clean, quiet, and safe. We were near the newest comfort station that was well maintained. Lots of hot water.

It is gated at night, but they ranger will give you a pass-code to open it. Check-in was quick and you pick which ever campsite that is available that you want. There is also hiking paths and a nice little museum on the property.

There is construction widening the rode that accesses the park, and it looks like it will take some time to complete. Also, the camping section of the park backs up to a very high end neighborhood. Many of the houses like to use leaf blowers early in the morning.

Overall, our first camping trip in Savannah was a huge success.

We will stay here the next time we visit Savannah.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skidaway Island State Park also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Skidaway Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skidaway Island State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.