We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect officiant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Dan Walking Tours

Savannah Dan Walking Tours
7 East Congress St., Johnson Square, Savannah, GA 31404 (Downtown)
912 398 3777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 139 activities in Savannah
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Take a leisurely stroll through Savannah's picturesque squares with a Southern Gentleman. Or take a private carriage tour with up to four adults! Hear the history of Savannah in the language of the South. See churches and Southern mansions dating back to the 1700s! You'll visit scenic locations used by Hollywood's movie industry. See where Forrest Gump sat on the bench waiting on the bus. Get the inside buzz on local restaurants and night spots and enjoy Savannah like a local. Only Two tours daily with limited space.
2 reviews
“Perfect officiant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My new husband and I took Savannah Dan's tour in March and loved it! He is so knowledgable and passionate about Savannah! When we decided to elope to Savannah, we thought how wonderful it would be if he could officiate. After a few short e-mails, it was done! S.D. performed a short, meaningful secular ceremony for me and my husband. He even put in a good word at the Pink House for later in the evening. Dan really made our day special and we couldn't have picked a better officiant! THANKS SAVANNAH DAN!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    30
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“He doesn't levitate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Better study up before this tour, answer a Savannah Dan question incorrectly and you will be served a warm dish of tail between your legs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“So good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Dan really is the man. I was admittedly dragged on this tour because I assumed it would be boring facts but Dan makes it so much fun. He is a witty guy with true southern charm. My ONLY critique of this tour is that I feel that the tour was a little too scripted in that Dan didn't spend a lot of time asking questions that didn't deal specifically with what he was talking about. All in all though I would def recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great way to see Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ended up on Savannah Dan's tour after another well rated walking tour of Savannah was unable to accomodate us. After being on Savannah Dan's tour I now realize we were lucky our initial tour choice did not work out! This tour was significantly less expensive and was everything we had hoped for in a tour of the city. The tour was 2 hours and covered a lot of ground. That being said the pace was comfortable and easy. Savannah Dan was able to share his knowledge of Savannah's history and architecture in a way that kept you interested and also made you laugh. He was truly great at what he does and looks the part too in his seersucker suit! The Savannah Dan tour is absolutely worth what you pay and then some and is a great way to get to know Savannah!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“History that will keep you interested”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Savannah Dan made history interesting and informative. I wish our teachers in school could have done this! With his witty personality, and story telling ability, Savannah Dan is recognized by everyone who you meet as though he were the town Mayor.
Learning about the area was great fun. We toured for approx 2 hours taking in the sites and being educated by this historian who simply loves his town. So put on your walking shoes, wear a hat, and join him. Oh, and afterwards go get a Savannah Dan Chocolate Shake at Leopold's... wink!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Dan Walking Tours also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah Dan Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Dan Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Savannah Dan Walking Tours to your Saves list