We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful house to tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace

Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace
10 East Oglethorpe Avenue, (corner of Bull St. and Oglethorpe Ave.), Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912-233-4501
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$20*
and up
Savannah City Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #12 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the extraordinary at Savannah’s MUST-SEE Destination! Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace, 1818-1821, Savannah’s first Registered National Historic Landmark. Enjoy a guided tour of the authentically furnished Gordon family home as it appeared in 1886. Explore the amazing and lively stories of four generations of one American family, including Juliette Gordon Low, founder of Girl Scouts of the USA in 1912. Elevator accessibility
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Moose Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful house to tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This house is beautiful, but what you learn about Juliette Gordon Low is inspiring! Dianne, our tour guide, did a wonderful job of mixing facts about the house with info about JGL and her family that was heart-warming and fun. The house has an original high boy (a piece of furniture) that Juliette thought was too plain, so she took out her wood burning tool and created a beautiful design over the front of it! She came from a long line of independent women and these stories are great for Girl Scouts and the interested tourist alike.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    239
    59
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you are a current Girl Scout go as a Troop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

The Troop Girl Scout experience here is different than the general public. The special interest session and pinning ceremony make it memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go if you are a Girl Scout OR not a Girl Scout!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We learned much that my husband and I didn't know about her and it was fascinating to learn more of the details of her life. Go whether you are a girl scout past or present or not.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good ghost stories here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Honestly, initially I was not interested in the founder of the Girl Scouts, but once I heard stories about how remarkable she was, we decided to tour the house. It was nicely furnished and I liked seeing all her artistic talents in various mediums. Interesting family stories.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go if you are/were a Girl Scout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Juliet Gordon Low founded the Girl Scouts in 1912 & this house is strongly influenced by this. The Andrew Low house is more beautiful inside but if you or your daughters were ever scouts, you will relate. This house is a restoration house, meaning that not all the furniture is original to the house although the restorers tried their best. The family took much of the original belongings. I thought the exquisite beauty & design of the Andrew Low house outshone this one by far, but this one has its upside too. Two little girls were on our tour (8 and 10) and they looked bored to death. They became interested when they saw the nursery and the stuffed dolls & toys from that era. Honestly, if you can only see one house, see Andrew Low's.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.