We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful introduction to Savannah” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah History Museum

Savannah History Museum
303 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401 (Yamacraw Village)
912 651 6825
Improve this listing
Visit Savannah History Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$20*
and up
Savannah City Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #98 of 204 things to do in Savannah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the former Central of Georgia Railway passenger station & adjacent to the Savannah Visitor Center, the museum offers a brief introduction to the story of Savannah through exhibits and a short film on the history of the city.
Conyers, GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Helpful introduction to Savannah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

As expected, the Savannah Visitor Center is a source of information on city attractions and a quick introduction to local history, Unfortunately, the museum experience is not what one would expect in one of the nation's most historic and beautiful cities. Granted, the information is useful, but uneven in quality and thematic coverage, and almost random in presentation. It is not designed to be digested quickly as is the case in most urban "welcome center" plans and designs. Visitors who know the Charleston Visitor Center will know what I mean. Still, if you have the time to wander through this large exhibit and read everything it is certainly worth your time and money, but do not expect a well-structured and complete story. Be sure to take note of the building housing the museum. It is the old Central of Georgia Train Shed, a national historic landmark.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope you will visit us again as we continue to develop our exhibit space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    39
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
606 reviews 606 reviews
182 attraction reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“VERY BLAND”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Savannah History Museum is small and has little to offer. We did enjoy the quilts and the Girl Scout exhibits. They have a few exhibits with military uniforms and equipment.

In my opinion, not worth the $7.00 admission.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our Special Exhibitions Gallery, which houses some of our newest exhibits! We hope you might visit us again as we expand our exhibits and programming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interactive, Engaging & Educational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went on Labor Day weekend and happened to catch the re-enactment of the battle, and I was pleasantly surprised at how spectacular it was- the tour guide/soldier was a phenomenal resource for local history and it was sobering to re-live the bloodiest battle in the Civil War. You get to carry a gun, and even though it was REALLY hot over Labor Day weekend, as it is apt to be, it was still a fun time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you were able to experience our Battlefield Memorial Park programming, and we hope you will visit us again in the future as we broaden our exhibits and programming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A good orientation to Savannah if you see the video”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a small general collection of things South Carolinian located in the Visitor Center, and across the street from the GA State RR Museum. The exhibits are somewhat limited and seem to be a place to keep sundry historical items. You can see a reproduction of the ‘Forest Gump’ bench. The best part of the Museum was a short video detailing the history of Savannah and the origins of the unique layout of the city. As a part of the combo admission ticket it is worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Informative, and great presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a pleasure to see the actual beginnings of this country. This museum has tools and boats and pictures of the earlest settlement in Ga. It is clean, uncluttered and you can view it at your own pace. They are constantly adding and improving the museum. The staff was freindly and helpful. Ask a question and they will get you the answer. Don't miss this.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah History Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.