We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Residence Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District to your Saves list
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #22 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really Nice Residence Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is one of the nicer Residence Inns I have stayed at. The hotel is relatively new and has kind of a unique feel to it. The location is about 10 blocks from the River front, but definitely walkable. There are good restaraunts closer. The free in-room wifi has descent speed, and the fitness center is nice. I can only think of two minor complaints. First, the breakfast is weak compared to an Embassy Suites or Garden Inn, but it does have some hot fare that is edible. Also, there aren't too many tv channels, but they do have most of the big ones. All in all, its a great place to stay in downtown.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    143
    33
    6
    15
See reviews for
131
174
19
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I was only able to spend one night at this property but would have stayed longer if my schedule had allowed. The property is located in the Historic Distric within walking distance of many of the great resteraunts of Savannah. The staff went out of their way to give us recomendations and directions for dinner the one night we were there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Fl
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I o\would highly recommend this location...GREAT Marriott standards, clean rooms, very modern & comfortable. Victoria at the front desk was amazing...warm, friendly & ready to help at any moment! I can't say enpugh good things about the hotel, rooms, location & STAFF!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We were in Savannah to celebrate my mom's 70th b-day. The hotel was WONDERFUL - The most exceptional part was the staff...they went way above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. They were always warm and very friendly and helpful, and went way above and beyond the call of duty. When the learned it was my mom's birthday they even got her a balloon and champaign! We could not have asked for any more from them. They helped make recommendations on where to go and what to do throughout the weekend, etc. I was worried about the location (worried it wasn't close enough to the river area) but it was totally fine. We even forgot about the free shuttle and walked everywhere until the last day, when we used it and it was GREAT! The accommodations were great - clean, spacious. Having a full kitchen was nice although we didn't use it much. The kids enjoyed the heated pool. We used to lobby a ton to visit with family. It is not a luxury hotel, but is totally comfortable. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Very nice hotel for the money. Large room, nice setup. Only issue is how far away from the river walk or historic village it is. A bit of a walk, but if you are on business it is great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We made reservations at the last minute while on the road from Northern Virginia to South Florida and looking for a place to overnight. Pet friendly was important as our small dog was along on this trip. The Residence Inn turned out to be a great experience. The suite is spacious, valet parking in a private locked lot with camera surveillance, and the comfortable beds made for a memorable stay. Also we had never been to Savannah, which we were delighted to visit, with its great historic neighborhoods and buildings, including many fine restaurants from which to choose. We sill definitely return there, including when we make the return trip in the Spring.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

The staff are very nice. One of the best hotel during our Dec. 2010 trip. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#23 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.