We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!! Excellent Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District to your Saves list
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff!! Excellent Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had an extended stay here for 3 weeks in June/July (in town for FSI) and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for business or pleasure. The staff treats you like family and will do anything to help you out with whatever you need. It is a beautiful, comfortable, up to date property a short walk into downtown. Great restaurants and pubs within a 2 min walk (The Distillery and the Crystal Beer Parlor were my favorites) Large, spacious room with kitchenette that was perfect for the extended stay. Competitive price, especially when considering all the conveniences offered. Delicious free breakfast daily, free appetizers and beer 4 nights a week, plus 24 hour valet (came in handy on early 4am departure on my day leaving town). They waived my nightly parking fee for being with FSI. Thank you to Victoria, Leroy, Antuan, Kristen, Dennis and Willie for being excellent hosts! If I have to come back to Savannah alone or with family I will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 105, first floor around the corner away from noise but close to back door to walk into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    117
    28
    6
    12
See reviews for
110
147
18
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay here. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel itself was very clean and we loved the courtyard area with the pool, firepit, etc. Our room had a bit of an odor but hey, it's Savannah in the summer so that can happen in the heat and humidity. The hotel is located on the fringe of the historic district in an area that appears to be starting to regenerate and there are a few other chain hotels located in the same area. It's fine if you make a beeline down Liberty street into the historic district but I wouldn't recommend straying too far in any other direction, especially after dark. Otherwise this is a good example of a nice Residence Inn and the money you will save by staying on the outskirts of the historic district is worth the extra few blocks walk to see the main sights. We had a car so we would drive in to the historic district when we knew we would be returning after dark and had no issues finding cheap, secure parking in the main tourist areas. Overall, I would recommend this hotel as a lower priced alternative to the hotels in the historic district/river front areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here in Savannah, Georgia. I researched a long time to find just the right place to stay and this was perfect! It is located right next to the Visitor center so as soon as we checked in I walked there and picked up information on the town.

The room was very nice and included a nice sized kitchen, breakfast area, couch and living area that was open to the king size bed. The bath room had the tub and toilet separate from the sink area which is always nice when multiple people are getting ready at the same time.

The location was excellent. The beautiful streets and squares were right by the hotel so we walked to them and enjoyed the surrounding area.

I will stay here again when we return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank, ca
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed her for 2 nights as a first time visitor to Savannah

Pros: great staff; free breakfast, free happy hour, big rooms with full kitchens, small sized hotel, so easy to navigate, free street parking, if you're lucky enough to find a space, which can happen otherwise valet is $12 a day. Hotel will also take care of your extended stay needs such as dry cleaning, food shopping, etc.

When the desk chair in my room wouldn't raise/lower, within a few minutes of calling the front desk, I had a new chair that worked. Every staff member was awesome - from valet, to front desk, to bartender, to facilities.

CON: only one, the hotel is technically in downtown and very close to key attractions, it's just that it is on the 'wrong side' of a large boulevard that you need to cross to get to everything else. Savannah is a pedestrian friendly city and each traffic light has crosswalks and pedestrian signs, but I did have to be a little more hyper vigilant when I crossed the busy intersection to get to everything. As such, this hotel is maybe better suited for someone staying for an extended period, for a short stay like mine, you might want to check out the Courtyard Marriott which is right across the street but on the 'right side' so you don't have to cross that busy intersection.

I would recommend this hotel if you like suites and/or if you have kids, there were a fair amount of children (all well behaved) who seemed to enjoy the pool and the breakfast buffet. Also this hotel seemed to be dog friendly.

Room Tip: Room choice: if you want to use the pool, I think the cottages are more convenient. I had a 4th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice hotel on the outskirts of the historic district. Very quiet - rooms are standard for a Residence Inn. Nice courtyard pool area, quality breakfast included with room rates. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently stayed here for a national gymnastics competition with a group. This hotel is within walking distance of many things in the historical district but it iis on the outskirts of it.That is not a problem though since the free shuttle that runs downtown stops at the hotel.
I have stayed at several Residence Inns and I found the rooms at this one to be slightly larger than the others I have stayed at. My daughter and I had the studio but it was still quite large and comfortable. There are many ammenities at this hotel. The breakfast is plentiful and has many options, including a make your own waffle station which the kids loved. The pool is not large but was fine and there are pool towels provided. If they run out, just ask for more. The staff is wonderful and very helpful with a good sense of humor which comes in handy when dealing with groups of kids. They allowed us to put signs on our doors wishing the girls good luck at the competition. There is a Dollar Store within walking distance which had everything we needed to make Smores on the firepit at the hotel.
Parking is free on the street and I never had any trouble finding any and did not feel my car was in jeopardy of being broken into. There is a free managers happy hour with small snacks during the week which was enjoyable. The weeknight bartender, Crystal, is truly an asset to this hotel. She greeted many of the repeat clientele by name. I noticed this hotel is a nice mix of business people and families on vacation. I would definately recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is such a great hotel. SO clean and in a wonderful location. Rooms are new or almost brand new, spacious, clean & with a beautiful lobby and wonderful pool. It is in a great location to walk to the other Savannah attractions...restaurants are closeby. Definitely give this one a try! Loved it!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Savannah
#23 Family Hotel in Savannah
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.