We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 111 hotels in Savannah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were very nice. Had an issue with the sofa Ed where it had the sheet from the previous guest in it which was kind of gross. The manager was very kind and apologetic. Credited me some MR points which was a very nice gesture and appreciated.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The people were all very nice. Besides the one issue, rooms were clean and well maintained with relatively new furnishings. Beds were very comfortable.

The pool was awesome with a really nice historic feel. We felt like we were in a nice little historic village which was cool.

Valet was very quick and friendly as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and taking the time to post a review of your stay on TripAdvisor! Again, I apologize for the issue with the sofa bed, however I do appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I have shared your comments with the room attendant who cleaned the room as well as the entire housekeeping staff. Your feedback is such an important tool for us as we strive to deliver each and every guest a perfect stay in every way! Thanks again for choosing our hotel, we look forward to you being our guest again!

Donnie Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    92
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
92
125
15
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Upland, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not only is this property charming in its appearance, but it is clean, well appointed and has a great, friendly staff. The decor is modern and the bar/ breakfast area is very homey and accessible. The pool area and quaint courtyard is a lovely place to sit and relax near the fountain or swim and lay out by the pool.
I was first concerned about the location being at the edge of the historic downtown area, and I was alarmed at first with the gas station/ quick mart next door. The quick mart was actually handy to buy drinks and snacks to keep in the kitchen. The hotel is next door to the visitor center (which houses a museum and gift shop) where the tour trolleys pick up and next to the railroad museum that has a round house for trains (super cool to see- you can check it out without paying to get in). The hotel is also right next to the site of the bloodiest battle of the American Revolution and there is a memorial there. We were a 10 to 15 minute walk from river street. Yes, it got a bit tiring, but if you can handle walking it is great. We thought it helped burn some of the calories we took in with the over-abundance of southern food and drink( you can walk around with a cocktail in the historic district). If you don't want to walk, just take the DOT system or call for a golf cart or taxi.
We stayed in a suite. We had three people in our party and slept with a queen bed and a sleeper sofa. The queen mattress was very nice to sleep on, but the sofa was not. It was uneven and very difficult to sleep on. The bathroom was also difficult for three adults. The sink and mirror were outside of the toilet and shower area but it was right next to the queen bed. I think the room, as a suite, could have been roomier for three adults. The kitchen was very nice with a dishwasher and a full size refrigerator.
Hot breakfast was different each day with items such as biscuits and gravy, egg burritos, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, canadian bacon and potatoes sauteed with bell peppers and onions. Each morning they had standard continental breakfast items such as yogurt, granola, oatmeal, cereals, bagels, english muffins, bread, muffins. A waffle machine was available to make your own waffles, milk, juice, coffee, tea and hot cocoa. There were many places to sit inside the kitchen, lobby and outside by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are so glad that the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District was your hotel of choice while visiting Savannah. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. As you pointed out, our location provides easy access to historic venues, restaurants, bars and shopping. If you are not up for walking the DOT shuttle is a great, FREE alternative. I appreciate you mentioning the friendly staff, I will be sure to share your feedback with them. Thanks again for being our guest, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here - and it is a good walk to the Historic District - but doable - especially if you do walking on a regular basis. We choose this hotel because it was a little outside the 'inner circle' so to speak - so we got a pretty good rate. I knew the parking issue ahead of time - so was prepared for that. We walked back from the historic area several nights after 10pm - and we felt very safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We appreciate you being our guest at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District as well as sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. As you may know downtown Savannah is the largest historic district in the United States. There is so much to see! If you are not up for walking the district, there are several trolley tours which offer great historical information about the city in addition to some local folklore that is interesting as well. The trolleys all depart from the Visitors Center located next to the hotel. We hope that when you return to Savannah you will be our guest again! Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and the employees were very friendly. On the outskirts of historic district, but easy to walk to everything. A few blocks walk to the tourist areas. There is a pool with sitting areas around it in a cute courtyard. Yes, exercise room. No hot tub. Rooms very spacious. My only comment, the bathroom is right next to the bed. There is a door for the shower area, but not the sink area. So, the light in the sink area lights up the whole bedroom. Not a problem if you are by yourself, but disruptive to all other sleepers if you are not.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Savannah! I appreciate the comments regarding the friendly staff. I will be sure to share these comments with my team in our morning huddle. Thanks again for being our guest! We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Why would Marriot put a Residence Inn in a place that looks so rundown with no shopping & few restaurants? You HAVE to pay to put your car behind a chain link fence because its so sketchy. The valet won't even stand outside after 10pm. Come on, ppl, tell the truth!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District for your lodging needs while in Savannah. We also appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am so disappointed that you were not happy with the location of the hotel. We are located next door to the Savannah Visitors Center and one block away from many restaurants, bars and shopping venues. Every hotel in the downtown market offers valet parking as parking is very limited in downtown locations. Once the car is parked, most of our guest never have to use it during there stay with us. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah you will give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is located on the edge of the historic district. It is within walking distance, but not as close as others. If you are used to walking, it's fine. If you are not a regular walker, you may prefer a hotel further into the historic district, although you will pay more. We had a townhouse room, and it was spacious and very quiet. Only beef with the room was how dark it was. The windows were narrow and almost no natural light, but who spends a lot of time in their hotel in Savannah? Shortage of towel racks was annoying too. About parking, it's expensive to use the hotel parking, but it's 24-hour free parking on the street in the rear, so try to get a spot there for free parking. We never had a problem getting a spot, but maybe we were just lucky.
The breakfast was what it always is at these places. Not great, but it's included. Staff was slow to re-stock the food.
Really nice pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

I have shared your comments with our breakfast staff. I regret that the complimentary breakfast did not exceed your expectations. We will pay close attention to the quality of food as well as making sure we replinish the food in a timely manner. We know this is such an important part of your experience with us and we want it to be exceptional as well!

I hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah you will stay with us again and experience our warm southern hospitality! Make sure to take advantage of the fare free shuttle as well. It is the perfect way to get around the historic district!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a one bedroom suite, which was very spacious with a full kitchen. There was a toaster, electric range, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and freezer. They also included pots, pans, plates, cups and utensils. The only layout issue was the bathroom was located off the bedroom instead of the living room area, so with the baby asleep in the bedroom we were cut off from using the bathroom. I was told that there was no difference in the regular one bedroom suites and the cottage suites, but when we arrived I saw that the cottage suites are in separate small buildings, some with entrances right off the street. I would prefer to be in the main building in this area.

The location was okay, but I would have preferred it to be a little bit closer to the riverfront area. It is technically in the historic district but it is right on the very edge so the walk is at least 15 minutes to the riverfront area. The visitor center and tours are all on the very next corner, so that is great and the free DOT bus will pick up right in front of the hotel.

The breakfast was great and the evening receptions with free food and drinks were a nice touch. The pool looked very nice and the courtyard had firepits with smores at night. The staff was very friendly, but the hotel did not have a crib for our baby and sent up a very old and shaky pack'n play instead. We hauled our own in from the car because theirs didn't seem very sturdy or safe.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor as well!

Upon reviewing your comments I immediately had all of the cribs inspected for safety and durability. As a father of two I certainly understand how important this is and I regret that you felt as though you had to bring in your own crib. Marriott has recently launched a program targeted specifically at parents traveling with toddlers. "Tots Travel Too" is our way of making sure your baby is safe and secure.

I hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah you will stay with us again! Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel
Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.