We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District to your Saves list
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Sterlington, Louisiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent almost three months here. A large percentage of the guest are long term guest. The hotel is close to the downtown night life but just far enough away that the neighborhood is quite. Within a short walk there are some nice dining options. Just ask the staff and they will make sure you have options that suit your taste.

The hotel is one of the new style Residence Inn's but what makes this hotel is the staff. They do make you feel like family. Looking forward to going back next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for being a long term guest at the Residence Inn Savannah Historic District. We appreciate you posting a review on TripAdvisor as well.

I am glad to hear that the staff made you feel like part of the family during your stay with us. As you mentioned many of our guests are here for extended periods of time. It is our goal to make you fee as though our hotel is your home away from home.

Thanks again for being our guest. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    117
    29
    6
    12
See reviews for
110
148
18
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed one night only because we changed plans and came early. What a great little place. It's not a fancy B&B but the breakfast was still good. They don't have dinner but the brew pub across the street was fun. Their rooms are predictable but that's the beauty of Residence Inn. I know what I;m getting. It was an excellent value for our money and the staff showed great care for us. Yes, I would stay here again and probably will.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for staying with the Residence Inn Savananh Downtown Historic District during you recent trip to historic Savananh. It was so nice of you to take the time to post a TripAdvisor comment as well.

I am sorry that you got to stay at our hotel for only one night. There is so much to do and see in Savananah and our hotel offers the perfect location to take it all in. We hope that you can return soon and spend some more time in our beautiful city.

I appreciate the comments regarding the staff. I have shared your review with my team. It is always great to be able to share such positve feedback with the associates. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Inn, with our Marriott points, from April 28th to May 1st, 2013. The hotel wasn't easy to spot because it is located behind a gas station. We found it because we saw the Courtyard across the street.

We parked our car near the entrance and checked in. The check in lady was nice, we asked about parking and she told us that we had two options: valet parking for $12 a day or free parking around the hotel on the street. We opted to park valet for the first night. We did wait over 30 minutes for the bell man to come with a luggage cart; apparently they only have 3!

Our room as spacious and beautiful. It featured a desk with free Wi-Fi (extremely slow), nice appointed kitchen with: stainless steal full size fridge, dishwasher, two burner stovetop, beautiful counters and 42" cabinets, dinette, flat screen tv, pullout sofa, king size bed, nice big bathroom. I must say, the room was perfect. The bed was very comfortable.

We had the free breakfast at the hotel and the staff was friendly and very hospitable; the free breakfast is not huge but, it has everything you need to get your day started. The hotel offer free wings on Mondays and free burgers on Tuesdays. We had a great time and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Savannah Historic District for your loding needs while in Savananh. We really appreciate you posting a review of the hotel on TripAdvisor as well.

I apologize for the delay in retrieving a luggage cart. During heavy check-in times they are in high demand. We will look into purchasing an additonal cart. Thanks for the nice comments about the room and the breakfast and evening social.

Thank you again for being our guest and sharing your comments. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We rented 2 one bedroom suites...ended up with 2 STUDIO's! Both had their carpets cleaned earlier that day...both were soaping wet. The air conditioner could not keep up with so much moisture in the rooms (yes, both of them). We were slippijng and sliding all over the place, could hardly stand up in the bathrooms. If that wasn't bad enough they sold us 1 bedroom suites and we were given wet studio's. Would never stay here again...staff was not accommodating. When I phoned the about the air conditioning not being able to keep up (too much moisture), they sent up an "engineer" who immediately noted how hot and wet it was in the room but the air conditioning is pre set to go no lower... it had a minimum, think it was 70! We could not sleep all night..too hot and wet. Staff was not at all friendly.

Would NEVER EVER stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Residence Inn by Marriott Savannah - Historic District. Please accept my sincere apologies for the frustrations you experienced during your stay with us.

As the hotel stays busy throughout the year, we try to schedule carpet cleaning at a time that will minimalize interference with our guests. I apologize that this cleaning process had a negative impact on your stay. Typically the cleaning process leaves the carpet damp and the carpets dry within two hours after cleaning.

I apologize that we did not have the room type available that you requested and the air conditioner in your room did not cool sufficiently. As our guest feedback indicates, this is not typical of our hotel. I have shared your comments with the team at the hotel and we are commiteed to making sure future guests do not experience the same frustrations.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback. I invite you to call me personally to discuss this matter in greater detail. I may be reached at (912) 233-9996.

I do hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah you will stay with us again and receive the quality accommodations and service you expect from Marriott Hotels.

Sincerely,

Donnie Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Great stay away from traffic and bustle. Delicious free breakfast daily. Fitness room very clean and well equipped. All the staff was helpful. Laundry room with complimentary detergent & fabric softener is nice. The only issue was the windows dont open and it gets stuffy. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott - Savannah Downtown Historic District for your lodging needs while in Savananh! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed one night and found the hotel to be very clean and modern. The courtyard and pool area was very nice. They offered a complimentary soup and salad the evening we were there. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The car valets were both great. We thanked Willie when we left. The hotel was within walking distance to everything and we felt very safe in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District! Thanks for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. It is great to know that the associates took good care of you while you were guests in the hotel. The team at the Residence Inn strives to deliver each guest Service So Memorable and it is always motivating for my associates when I am able to share comments such as yours. Thank you again for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for being our guest! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here two nights in April. Clean and comfy room, enough space. Standard Res. Inn kitchen area. Very large lobby, bar, breakfast area that was especially nice. Outside courtyard was tranquil and pretty. One mediocre breakfast and another breakfast that was the best I have ever had at a Marriott property. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Pay to park in a secure, valet controllet lot. Easy access to historic area. The free DOT bus goes by the hotel, and they will stop if flagged down. Can't compare it to other hotels in Savannah but this must be the top Residence Inn of all the Marriott properties we have visited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District while in Savananh. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the service and accommodations! I appreciate you sharing your comments on TripAdvisor as well. I apologize for the mediocre breakfast however I am glad to hear that we were able to turn it around the next morning! I have shared your comments with our staff and we look forward to providing all of our guests with a fabulous breakfast everyday. Thanks again for your feedback, it is so important in maintaining the high standards we wish to achieve. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Savannah
#24 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#24 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.