We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District to your Saves list
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for an extended weekend at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful with food suggestions and logistics. For the most part, the one bedroom suite was clean and comfortable. I did notice some build up of dust on the lamp fixtures and it looked as if someone had tracked parts of the tile floor after mopping. Otherwise, it was a comfortable and relaxing stay. The breakfast (complimentary) was diversified and kept stocked. Here too, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. All in all, a nice stay but a bit of a walk to attractions although there are local tour providers close by.

Room Tip: The "cottages" are a nice experience and away from foot traffic. Just be aware that the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1floridatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District. We appreciate your feedback!

It is always nice to hear such wonderful comments about the friendliness of the staff. I am proud to work with one of the best group of associates in the hotel business. They certainly make my job easy! I have shared your comments with them and we will make sure to pay closer attention to the details (dust and tile floor). Your comments are so helpful in making the necessary corrections and adjustments.

Thanks again for being our guest! We hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah we will have the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Hotel is very nice, with a main building and connected cottages that are really all connected but have a little outdoor steps and gates. You walk through a beautiful pool area to the main lodge. Location is fine...not quite in the midst of the River Walk activity...alittle more along the side of the city, but just blocks from all the hustle. So no worries on location. The rooms were very nice (and I am picky and seasoned five star hotel traveler). Really nice beds, with white comforters. We had a problem in that they don't have enough pillows in the rooms for you to use the pull out sofa, and when we called the front desk, they said they were out...what the heck..Marriott - .buy some more pillows and be sure they are in the room for the pull out sofa. Worse was that the front desk tried to explain their way out of it...like my son carese when he is tired from traveling and wants a pillow. We were lucky in that we had two rooms reserved so were able to shift pillows around from our daughters room, and ended up with enough. My daughter found a couple hairs on the sheets (but the bed was so nice..it wasn't a big deall). I just think the cleaning crew should keep their hair back.. So bottom line...this is a very nice hotel...location not right in the heart of everything, but not out of the way either. Breakfast was fine...just not enough places to sit during busy time. In the summer the outdoor pool would be amazing. Do eat at the Ale house (just can't think of the name) that is recommended by hotel and just about three blocks away...great historic institution (like Boston's Cheers)...good for all ages and great food.. There is a gas station next to the hotel, which is fine shape but does bring in some homeless types, but isn't a problem.

Room Tip: Be sure you have the right sheets and pillows right away to avoid problems when you are ready to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheeseheadwithTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We appreciate your comments and we appreciate you sharing them on tripadvisor.

I am so disappointed that the front desk associate was not able to provide you with the items requested! Extra pillows are a very common request and one that we are able to accommodate without any problem. I am not sure why you were told that we were out of pillows however I will follow-up with our staff to make sure they are aware of where additional supplies are located. I will also share your comments with our cleaning crew and encourage them to pay close attention to details.

Thank you again for your comments and for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Savannah. I hope that when your travels bring you back to our beautiful city you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Donnie Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawyerdaggett
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed overnight here on two recent business trips. It's a really convenient location - easy to get to from the highway, and right on the edge of the historic district. On my last trip, I arrived rather late and was too tired to go out. I was so surprised that they had complimentary clam chowder which was quite good. Apparently there is some complimentary meal every evening. It's modest, but heck, it's free and it's pretty good. Breakfast was good and was served up by a wonderful woman (name unknown) who greets everyone with a big smile. The hotel feels safe, and the rooms are pretty nice. I particularly like the king suite. The hotel is behind an upscale convenient store so if you need something, there is no need to drive anywhere. There is valet parking for a fee, but this is unnecessary most days. There is free parking along the sides of the hotel. There is also a small adjoining park. The hotel allows pets, so this is a great place to walk the dog. There also is a kitchenette with a full-sized refrigerator, a coffee pot, a full sized sink, a microwave oven, and if memory serves me correctly, a blender. They even had a few snacks. Internet is free. I highly recommend this place, and have already booked my next business trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back near the stairs. It's quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawyerdaggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District for your lodging needs while doing business in Savannah. We hope that we will always be your home away from home when your travels bring you to Savananh.

I appreciate you taking the time to share a review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. I hope that you will remain pleased with our product and service offerings! Your feedback is critical to our success!

Thanks again for being a loyal customer! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is always a pleasure to stay. The staff is very friendly,specially Kristen at the front desk. Vincent and Crystal ( the bar lady) are also very nice. The room is very spacious and convenient if you travel with kids. We had my 9 year old son and my 94 year old grandmother and they felt very comfortable in the rooms. We had two cottages facing the street. We loved our stay!!! Breakfast was also nice.

Room Tip: Get the cottages they are very convenient !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I really appreciate you letting us know about the associates who delivered Service So Memorable during your visit. I will be sure to make sure they are commended for their excellent service.

Thanks again for being our guest! We look forward to you returning to the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is nice and new and is an easy walk to the heart of the historic district in Savannah. When we stayed on New Year's Eve the hotel was very full, yet we still received prompt service with parking and check-in, and helpful information with directions.

Unfortunately, our room had a slight smoky odor that got stronger through the night, even though the hotel has signs posted about the fees that will be charged guests who smoke in the rooms of this hotel. If smoke didn't bother me so much, I would have been very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan_Hurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Savannah Downtown Historic District for your lodging needs while in Savannah. We know you have many choices and we appreciate the opportunity to serve you.

I apologize for the smoke odor in the room. We are a smoke free hotel, however sometimes guest will smoke in the room. We make every effort to make sure the smoke smell is eliminated however this can be quite a challenge. I am so sorry that this had a negative impact on your stay. We will certainly be more deligent in our efforts to clear the smoke odor in the future.

Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to post a review on TripAdviosr. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, AL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Able to walk anywhere in Savannah. The staff was so friendly and informative. The gentleman parking our car watched as we walked to our dinning location to make us feel safe late one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamBo1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is very very nice hotel. The rooms were clean, the lobby beautiful and the staff friendly. The only downside is parking is $12 per day, you can go in and out as often as you want in the day. There is free street parking on the street behind the hotel. Overall a great great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing