We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay...just a couple missteps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Stay...just a couple missteps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hotel is very nice, with a main building and connected cottages that are really all connected but have a little outdoor steps and gates. You walk through a beautiful pool area to the main lodge. Location is fine...not quite in the midst of the River Walk activity...alittle more along the side of the city, but just blocks from all the hustle. So no worries on location. The rooms were very nice (and I am picky and seasoned five star hotel traveler). Really nice beds, with white comforters. We had a problem in that they don't have enough pillows in the rooms for you to use the pull out sofa, and when we called the front desk, they said they were out...what the heck..Marriott - .buy some more pillows and be sure they are in the room for the pull out sofa. Worse was that the front desk tried to explain their way out of it...like my son carese when he is tired from traveling and wants a pillow. We were lucky in that we had two rooms reserved so were able to shift pillows around from our daughters room, and ended up with enough. My daughter found a couple hairs on the sheets (but the bed was so nice..it wasn't a big deall). I just think the cleaning crew should keep their hair back.. So bottom line...this is a very nice hotel...location not right in the heart of everything, but not out of the way either. Breakfast was fine...just not enough places to sit during busy time. In the summer the outdoor pool would be amazing. Do eat at the Ale house (just can't think of the name) that is recommended by hotel and just about three blocks away...great historic institution (like Boston's Cheers)...good for all ages and great food.. There is a gas station next to the hotel, which is fine shape but does bring in some homeless types, but isn't a problem.

Room Tip: Be sure you have the right sheets and pillows right away to avoid problems when you are ready to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We appreciate your comments and we appreciate you sharing them on tripadvisor.

I am so disappointed that the front desk associate was not able to provide you with the items requested! Extra pillows are a very common request and one that we are able to accommodate without any problem. I am not sure why you were told that we were out of pillows however I will follow-up with our staff to make sure they are aware of where additional supplies are located. I will also share your comments with our cleaning crew and encourage them to pay close attention to details.

Thank you again for your comments and for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Savannah. I hope that when your travels bring you back to our beautiful city you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Donnie Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    100
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
96
136
16
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lawyerdaggett
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed overnight here on two recent business trips. It's a really convenient location - easy to get to from the highway, and right on the edge of the historic district. On my last trip, I arrived rather late and was too tired to go out. I was so surprised that they had complimentary clam chowder which was quite good. Apparently there is some complimentary meal every evening. It's modest, but heck, it's free and it's pretty good. Breakfast was good and was served up by a wonderful woman (name unknown) who greets everyone with a big smile. The hotel feels safe, and the rooms are pretty nice. I particularly like the king suite. The hotel is behind an upscale convenient store so if you need something, there is no need to drive anywhere. There is valet parking for a fee, but this is unnecessary most days. There is free parking along the sides of the hotel. There is also a small adjoining park. The hotel allows pets, so this is a great place to walk the dog. There also is a kitchenette with a full-sized refrigerator, a coffee pot, a full sized sink, a microwave oven, and if memory serves me correctly, a blender. They even had a few snacks. Internet is free. I highly recommend this place, and have already booked my next business trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back near the stairs. It's quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District for your lodging needs while doing business in Savannah. We hope that we will always be your home away from home when your travels bring you to Savananh.

I appreciate you taking the time to share a review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. I hope that you will remain pleased with our product and service offerings! Your feedback is critical to our success!

Thanks again for being a loyal customer! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is always a pleasure to stay. The staff is very friendly,specially Kristen at the front desk. Vincent and Crystal ( the bar lady) are also very nice. The room is very spacious and convenient if you travel with kids. We had my 9 year old son and my 94 year old grandmother and they felt very comfortable in the rooms. We had two cottages facing the street. We loved our stay!!! Breakfast was also nice.

Room Tip: Get the cottages they are very convenient !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I really appreciate you letting us know about the associates who delivered Service So Memorable during your visit. I will be sure to make sure they are commended for their excellent service.

Thanks again for being our guest! We look forward to you returning to the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is nice and new and is an easy walk to the heart of the historic district in Savannah. When we stayed on New Year's Eve the hotel was very full, yet we still received prompt service with parking and check-in, and helpful information with directions.

Unfortunately, our room had a slight smoky odor that got stronger through the night, even though the hotel has signs posted about the fees that will be charged guests who smoke in the rooms of this hotel. If smoke didn't bother me so much, I would have been very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Savannah Downtown Historic District for your lodging needs while in Savannah. We know you have many choices and we appreciate the opportunity to serve you.

I apologize for the smoke odor in the room. We are a smoke free hotel, however sometimes guest will smoke in the room. We make every effort to make sure the smoke smell is eliminated however this can be quite a challenge. I am so sorry that this had a negative impact on your stay. We will certainly be more deligent in our efforts to clear the smoke odor in the future.

Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to post a review on TripAdviosr. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, AL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Able to walk anywhere in Savannah. The staff was so friendly and informative. The gentleman parking our car watched as we walked to our dinning location to make us feel safe late one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

really enjoyed spending Christmas in this hotel with the staff and services. From the valet to the front desk to the bartender, everyone was exceptionally nice, even those who had to work on Xmas...the rooms were large and clean and new....my only complaint was that the doors slammed loudly. We also enjoyed the firepit during happy hour. the free drinks are a measly Natty Light or a cheap White or Red wine, but what do you expect when it's free?

This hotel is conveniently located approx 10min from Forsyth Park and the riverfront. we ended up driving though becuase of the cold rain.

Also noteworthy is Ms. Bevan, the food station keeper...she was there for both breakfast and dinner social hour. she did her best to keep up w/a busy breakfast crowd, despite rude guests asking her where the fresh fruit was...I wish they'd let her put a tip jar out--she deserves a few extra bucks, esp during the holiday rush.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This is very very nice hotel. The rooms were clean, the lobby beautiful and the staff friendly. The only downside is parking is $12 per day, you can go in and out as often as you want in the day. There is free street parking on the street behind the hotel. Overall a great great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.