We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown from 11/01/2012 to 11/05/2012. We stayed in one of the stuido suites between the pool and the battle monument. The staff were very friendly, very helpful, and very customer oriented. The hotel was always clean, and quiet. The courtyard is one of the best parts of the experience. The bar area is a must for a final night cap, or just a nice chat. I would recommend asking if Crystal is working. Also, be sure to be nice to Mary the resident feline.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    111
    25
    6
    12
See reviews for
108
142
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This property is located on the edge of the historic district making walking access very easy. It is right next to the Visitors Center where the tours begin. Very large rooms, even for Residence Inn and very nicely decorated. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are quite taken with Residence Inn - its a great combination of comfort, value and the freedom of self catering. And this location is excellent for all of Savannah - we walked everywhere, including dinner both nights. We probably didn't have the best of rooms (102) but we were never in it but to sleep. The early evening wine/food is very well presented and breakfasts are pretty good quality. I had nothing but good service throughout.

Room Tip: I would probably ask for the upper floor looking into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wonderful hotel, great suites with full kitchen, comfortable beds, happy hour mon-fri; can sit inside or outside around the fire pit. The complimentary breakfast was really nice! The staff was extremely friendly....always with a smile and some friendly chit chat. The hotel was within walking distance to all the sites that we wanted to see. Very conveniently located.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just got back from Savannah and we had a excellent stay at this hotel. The staff in particular Willie (valet) and Vincent (bartender and front desk}) we the best. Check out the fire pit in the evenings. The hotel is in a great location and our room was very clean and nice. We are looking forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Only 4 years old the facility is in very good condition,nicely decorated,well maintained. Very friendly staff who all know their jobs are helpful to family members & a business associates alike. Great wellness center and out door lap pool. Hot breakfast a cut above the norm as is managers happy hour (complimentary beer & wine). Suite style rooms make it easy to host guests away from bedroom.

Room Tip: Cottage Suites surroundi ng pool are like garden apartments with patio nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for three nights on a larger tour of USA. We like residence inns as they are predictably good and suit us as we like to prepare our own meals when we can. What was especially good about this one was its location in the historical district. We've been driving a lot so it was good to be able to park up in the street to the rear of the hotel (which has a key operated access to the building) at no cost. At busier times it may be difficult to get a place on the street there, but having got one, we just walked for the whole of our stay, and it is a city in which it is so easy to find your way on foot. Our King Studio was large and well equipped. Our room was quiet, which we like. It has a coin operated guest laundry which is particularly useful on a long trip. The pool was a decent size in a lovely setting. We were told by our independent tour guide that Marriott had invested a lot in restoring the adjacent cottages, and they did look particularly good. The hotel was next to the Battle of Savannah historic battlefield, so lots of greenery, as well as an interesting site. Also very close to the visitor centre. And the staff were lovely: helpful and friendly, making our stay there a very pleasant one.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Savannah
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.