We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District to your Saves list
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This property is located on the edge of the historic district making walking access very easy. It is right next to the Visitors Center where the tours begin. Very large rooms, even for Residence Inn and very nicely decorated. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    150
    34
    6
    15
See reviews for
133
181
20
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are quite taken with Residence Inn - its a great combination of comfort, value and the freedom of self catering. And this location is excellent for all of Savannah - we walked everywhere, including dinner both nights. We probably didn't have the best of rooms (102) but we were never in it but to sleep. The early evening wine/food is very well presented and breakfasts are pretty good quality. I had nothing but good service throughout.

Room Tip: I would probably ask for the upper floor looking into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wonderful hotel, great suites with full kitchen, comfortable beds, happy hour mon-fri; can sit inside or outside around the fire pit. The complimentary breakfast was really nice! The staff was extremely friendly....always with a smile and some friendly chit chat. The hotel was within walking distance to all the sites that we wanted to see. Very conveniently located.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just got back from Savannah and we had a excellent stay at this hotel. The staff in particular Willie (valet) and Vincent (bartender and front desk}) we the best. Check out the fire pit in the evenings. The hotel is in a great location and our room was very clean and nice. We are looking forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Only 4 years old the facility is in very good condition,nicely decorated,well maintained. Very friendly staff who all know their jobs are helpful to family members & a business associates alike. Great wellness center and out door lap pool. Hot breakfast a cut above the norm as is managers happy hour (complimentary beer & wine). Suite style rooms make it easy to host guests away from bedroom.

Room Tip: Cottage Suites surroundi ng pool are like garden apartments with patio nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for three nights on a larger tour of USA. We like residence inns as they are predictably good and suit us as we like to prepare our own meals when we can. What was especially good about this one was its location in the historical district. We've been driving a lot so it was good to be able to park up in the street to the rear of the hotel (which has a key operated access to the building) at no cost. At busier times it may be difficult to get a place on the street there, but having got one, we just walked for the whole of our stay, and it is a city in which it is so easy to find your way on foot. Our King Studio was large and well equipped. Our room was quiet, which we like. It has a coin operated guest laundry which is particularly useful on a long trip. The pool was a decent size in a lovely setting. We were told by our independent tour guide that Marriott had invested a lot in restoring the adjacent cottages, and they did look particularly good. The hotel was next to the Battle of Savannah historic battlefield, so lots of greenery, as well as an interesting site. Also very close to the visitor centre. And the staff were lovely: helpful and friendly, making our stay there a very pleasant one.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked a King Studio room at this hotel as a surprise for my husband's birthday. I wish our stay had been longer than 1 night because the hotel was lovely and had so many amenities to take advantage of. As has been mentioned in other reviews, the staff really makes this place excellent. Everyone we dealt with from the front desk staff to the valet were very friendly and helpful. The room wasn't cheap, but it was in line with comparable hotels in the area, and the excellent staff along with the quality of the hotel definitely made it worth the money.

There's valet parking in a fenced lot directly across the street from the hotel entrance. I believe it was $12 a day with unlimited in/out privileges (we got the valet parking free with our package). I think the valet parking is a worthwhile expense because you know your vehicle is safe, and it can be difficult to find parking.

Our room was very large with high ceilings, and a kitchenette. It reminded me of a room in a traditional Victorian home with more modern decor. There were wood and glass cabinet doors in the kitchenette, wood tables, along with some modern chrome touches that made the decor very nice. There were 2 tall windows that overlooked the courtyard, a couch with double ottoman, small dining table, and a desk. The bathroom/shower is separate from the sink/vanity area which is always convenient, and there was a large closet with mirrored sliding doors. The room also had a nice flat screen TV.

The courtyard is beautiful - there's an outdoor pool, a round fountain area with seating, a gazebo, and a firepit/grill area with covered tables and chairs. I really wish we had been able to take advantage of this area but we just didn't have time.

One thing I really enjoyed was the artwork throughout the hotel - there were pictures of Savannah scenery which I thought really added to the southern charm of the hotel based on the location.

There's a workout room, bar, a snack area, and a breakfast area where you can also use their computers and get free wi-fi. Lots of nice areas to sit and relax.

It's easy to get around from this hotel - the staff will give you maps and directions if you're walking, and there's a trolley close by.

All in all I was VERY pleased with hotel and plan to go back again sometime when we can enjoy more of what this hotel and the area has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.