We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent early brick fort, well-maintained and explained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fort Jackson

Old Fort Jackson
1 Fort Jackson Road, Savannah, GA 31404
912 232 3945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: Military Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The state's oldest remaining fort dates back to 1808 and includes a number of Civil War and other military exhibits.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“An excellent early brick fort, well-maintained and explained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Fort Jackson sits on the site of an earthen fort built during the Revolution. A brick fort was begun to replace it in 1807, in order to defend the port of Savannah from a possible naval assault by the British or French, and was it was used during the War of 1812. Between 1814-1860, the fort was expanded and made stronger, adding larger cannon, thicker walls, and more enfilading ports. During the Civil War, Fort Jackson, along with an ironclad gunboat and a larger ironclad floating artillery platform, formed a second line of defense for the port of Savannah, behind the larger and more heavily armed Fort Pulaski down river. Fort Jackson remained in Confederate hands until 1864. After the War, the Government started to reinforce the Fort further, but soon realized that, nothing could make it strong enough to withstand late 19th c. artillery. The Fort has been preserved as it was in 1870. There are signs describing when each part of the brick fort was built, exhibits of rifles used from 1800-1870, and original rooms in the Fort walls showing how artillery was operated and how the soldiers were housed. Fort Jackson is a State of Georgia property. When we visited, an extremely engaging and knowledgeable young woman park ranger explained to a group of under 10 year olds how a cannon was loaded and fired, then got everyone to safety and fired the cannon as a demonstration; not 10 minutes later, she was on the other side of the Fort teaching a class of junior high students how signal flags were used during the Civil War. I have read a fair amount and visited many other historic forts, but I still learned something from each of her presentations. The Fort is only 2-3 miles from the heart of historic Savannah, and you can see the whole Fort complex and the demonstrations in an hour. If you have any interest in history, you should make time to see Fort Jackson.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are thrilled that you took the time to visit our fort and share your experience here. It seems that you know a bit of history based on your review so we are glad you were able to learn something from our interpreters presentation. We strive to keep this 205 year old fort in the best possible condition while teaching our visitors what life was like at the fort during the War of 1812 and Civil War. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    146
    49
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must See Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Old Fort Jackson is hidden away, but it's easy to find. It's an old Confederate fort that fell into ruin and was saved by a private non-profit organization. They have done an outstanding job of cleaning it up and making it into a very interesting attraction. The cannon firings on the weekends are a must-see. The re-enactors are very knowledgeable and courteous. They will take time and answer any questions. They will spend time with you one-on-one if needed, and you will leave feeling enriched.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We want to thank you for taking time to visit our fort and post this kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

There is not a lot to see here but there are some great cannons and our docent, Neal, was INCREDIBLY knowledgeable and was able to take time to show us around and really explain things. Neal really was the person who took this experience from average to very good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to Old Fort Jackson. We are very proud of our interpretive staff and they do a great job of bringing the fort to life. Within the next year, we will have even more exhibits and programming for our guests. Next time you visit, you will definitely have more to see. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real taste of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

There is nothing bad that I can say about this place. We have been to several historic places and Old Fort Jackson still is our favorite. We love how the staff interacted with the entire family. Answered questions from our daughter and let her try out the drum and taught her a different rhythms that were used back then and lots of other things. They even stopped a firing drill so we could see 2 cargo ships pass each other in front of the fort as it a rare sight. The Staff here goes beyond what they need to do! If you need a place to go this is it. My family highly recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are so glad you got to see the container ships passing by the fort. We always try to explain why Fort Jackson was built in the first place and the reason is to protect the port of Savannah. Although she ships have grown larger, the basic concept has not changed since construction of the fort began in 1808. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
“Revolutionary and Civil War History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a great visit in February. Cannon fire and muzzleloader demonstration was well described and shown. Park staff was full of useful information about the role the fort played in American history. Our kids had a great time interacting with the staff and even learned a couple of things. Cargo ships pass near the fort for a very up close view.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so glad you were able to visit and that you enjoyed out fort. We love doing presentations for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope you are able to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fort Jackson also viewed

Richmond Hill, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Old Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fort Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.