We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Moss Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spanish Moss Inn
Save
You added Spanish Moss Inn to your Saves list
425 E. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31411 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Troutdale, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I with my daughter and son-in-law stayed at this charming B&B We enjoyed the beautiful home. It was beautifully furnished. The beds were high quality and so very comfortable. We loved the afternoon wine and cheese and the relaxing garden. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Its hard to find that balance between engaging your guests while not imposing on them. Sam and Elana have it figured out. What a great stay, room was large, clean and very charming. We stayed in the Mariners room in the lower level accessed by a tiny narrow staircase (just added to the charm). The breakfast deal was fantastic and we enjoyed the wine and cheese before heading out for the night. Dont hesitate to book this fantastic B & B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I found this gem of a B & B through tripadvisor.com and we were not disappointed. The house is beautiful. Sam and Elena were welcoming and helpful. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We stayed in the Garden Suite which had a door that lead to a beautiful patio with fountains, shade and tables. This space was very relaxing. Each evening wine, cheese, fruit and other hors d'oeuvres were set out. The Spanish Moss Inn was between chefs, so we went a few doors down to B. Matthews. The food was amazing and it was paid for including tip by The Spanish Moss Inn. The location was perfect as well. We were able to walk anywhere in the historic district. Night life and shopping was really close. We were so pleased with our trip we will definitely recommend The Spanish Moss Inn to friends and family and we hope to return ourselves someday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I found this little gem of a bed and breakfast online, and instantly fell in love with it. However, the beautiful online pictures don't even give it justice for its charm, location, and history. We stayed in the dormers room on the top floor. Although we had the entire floor to ourselves, our only reservation was that it was a bit awkward to walk out by the staircase to go to the bathroom. The owners were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were delicious, and room was spacious. I can't wait to make a return trip to Savannah and stay at the Spanish Moss Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our first trip to Savannah and we arrived late but the owner was on the porch to greet us. Inside we found a table of cheeses, olives, crackers and a sweet dessert along with wine, tea and water. We stayed in the aqua room with a wonderful king size bed, windows that looked out on a courtyard and a huge dressing room. Everything was pristine and breakfast was offered down the street at a wonderful restaurant. The courtyard was beautiful and a prefect place to have coffee in the morning. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute spent at this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Although they live off-site, Sam and Elena are terrific hosts, ably assisted by housekeeper Rosario. The building is over 200 years old, but the renovations are tastefully modern. Soft music plays and wine, cheese, and fruit are laid out every evening. The inn was between chefs, so breakfast was peovided at the excellent b. Matthews restaurant in the next block. Put your car in their garage and walk all over town, to see the sights, soak up the atmosphere, and enjoy the restaurants. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Bay Street is one of the busiest in town, especially for trucks. The inn provides earplugs on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 15th anniversary. We had taken a cooking class that day, so arrived around 6 pm. Upon arrival all the inn parking spots were taken up, but we easily found street parking a few doors down (which is free on weekends). We were warmly greeted by Sam and Evelyn, and then Sam told us about the great sights in the city to see while we enjoyed wine and a wonderful spread of breads, cheeses, fruits and chocolate. Our room, the dormer room, was very comfy, quiet and extremely private as it is on the third floor by itself. We were able to easily walk to enjoy the nighlife downtown that night and not having to worry about transportation. In the morning, they sent us to a wonderful restaurant for breakfast compliments of the inn. This is a wonderful place to stay in Savannah!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spanish Moss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Moss Inn

Address: 425 E. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31411
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spanish Moss Inn is newly furnished and renovated, we also have a private parking garage. Five elegant rooms with king size beds, four of the rooms have wood burning fireplaces. During the morning light our living room, dining room, and sun room fill with warmth and reveal Federal Era architectural details such as the dentil crown molding, wood floors, paired fireplaces and plenty of reading spots throughout the home. You will see Emmet Park and glimpses of Savannah River from our inn. Walk across the street and down a few steps to Savannah River Street where you might dine or sight see. Our location provides the ease and comfort that you desire while on holiday in this historic downtown area. Make Savannah your getaway destination by treating yourself to a stay at the Spanish Moss Inn!The Dunlap-Eppinger house was built on the corner of Jefferson and Hull St. in 1808 and was relocated to Bay and Price St. in 1968 in order to make room for a Civic Center. Our home was rescued and restored in an effort to preserve Savannah's historic homes. For the first time, we welcome traveler’s from all over the world. Come relax by your wood burning fireplace within the elegant yet family setting and enjoy the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spanish Moss Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Moss Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.