We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in Savannah.. No Argument!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wiley's Championship BBQ

Wiley's Championship BBQ
4700 Highway 80 East, Suite N, Savannah, GA 31410
912 201 3259
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 774 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Park City, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Savannah.. No Argument!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The food at Wiley's is OUTSTANDING!!! The brisket and sauces are made to perfection. This is a restaurant with few bells and whistles, just darn good food! And their sides rival their entrees for originality and taste!! This is a joint where they know their food and produce a great product. Been several times and never had a bad meal!!! Cant' wait to go again!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan3t, Owner at Wiley's Championship BBQ, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
OkeefeFamily,

Thank you, for that glowing review. We appreciate you noticing the love and care that we put into our food...and not just the star attractions, but also our home cooked sides. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit. Be sure to step up to the bar and introduce yourselves next time.

Wiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    132
    58
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Found this place on trip advisor since hubby and I were in town from Atlanta on a weekend getaway. I had the brisket and he had a combo platter with ribs and pork. The food was just ok, be loved the bbq sauces

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan3t, Owner at Wiley's Championship BBQ, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Cateyes4228,

We spent 12+ years traveling and competing on the professional BBQ circuit. If I didn't learn anything else during that time, I learned that judging BBQ meats, or any other food for that matter is strictly subjective. If you look at the next three reviews under yours, all of which were five star ratings, I can prove my point. Tastiness is in the tongue of the beholder. I am pleased you found something you liked, in our BBQ sauce and it didn't fall in the "just ok" category. This review aroused my curiosity, as a native Atlantan...I am curious to know where you go to get BBQ in Atlanta that is above "just ok".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A definite must when your in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stopped by for dinner on Sat, Aug 1st. Dinner crowd was there, people had to wait..but not long. Staff was very friendly. Had the BEST brisket - EVER! Homemade sides were delicious. Don't let the location in a small strip mall fool you. It's definitely worth the stop!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan3t, Owner at Wiley's Championship BBQ, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Tracy S.,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed our BBQ cuisine. We put just as much time and care into preparing the sides as we do "the best brisket ever" and appreciate you noticing. Please come back and see us soon.

Wiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Super Award Winning BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The walls are covered with all of the awards and articles written about this restaurant. The barbeque is perfectly smoked and everything you could want in a barbeque restaurant. The sides are just as delicious.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan3t, Owner at Wiley's Championship BBQ, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Barb125,

Thank you for noticing on your visit to Wiley's our awards and plaques, because they are a big part of our lives. Those represent a lot of hard work, and the same hard work we put into the restaurant. Everyday in the restaurant is like being on the competition circuit again, competing against ourselves, constantly trying to improve what we do. Hope to see you again next time you are in the Savannah area.

Wiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Well worth our 45 minute wait. Amy (I think that's her name) is a sassy brunette that treated GREAT!!! We tried several options all equally as good as the next. Please make sure you ring the bell on the left side of the door frame. The guys in the kitchen will cheer in appreciation.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan3t, Owner at Wiley's Championship BBQ, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
RicPie,

Thank you for pointing out the bell that we have in the restaurant for customers to use to compliment the chefs. They love hearing that bell ring. And yes, the name of the sassy brunette is Amy, and we will be sure to pass your compliments on to her (as long as it won't go to her head). We are glad to hear that you found everything you tried to be well worth the wait, we do everything we can to turn those tables quickly. Hope to see you back again, ringing that bell soon.

Wiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiley's Championship BBQ also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Wiley's Championship BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wiley's Championship BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.