We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!! 5 STARS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dresser Palmer House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dresser Palmer House to your Saves list
Dresser Palmer House
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   211 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!! 5 STARS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were so excited to spend our 21st Anniversary at the Dresser Palmer House. The BnB prior to our arrival followed up to ask if there is anything they could do to make our stay enjoyable, recommendations for dinner, tours, etc….. Their customer service was OUTSTANDING prior to our arrival. Well sometimes in life things happen.... my husband became ill the evening before our arrival, then to add to that, he got food poisoning at dinner and was really ill throughout the evening. From the minute we arrived; Leslie met us and greeted us with her wonderful personality. She made sure that our stay there was comfortable. She went over and beyond to help us out and provided us with homemade remedies to help out my husband. Unfortunately, we had to leave the next morning. The BnB is beautiful. I would recommend to anyone to stay here. The decor, the rooms, and the main house is decorated amazing. The bar is a really nice feature that they offer and loved the afternoon social, you are able to meet others staying at the same time. We will be booking our return visit real soon. Loved the time we spent there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear mreyes1340...

First of all, we hope he's feeling better!!! It was great chatting with you for the short time y'all were here and we look forward to seeing you again for part 2 of your visit, haha. We love when guests post pictures, thank you so much for the beautiful shots. They really let more people see the inn the way you do when you walk in. Get better and come back to us!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    34
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
35
204
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the DPH during our Savannah trip for his 30th birthday. The room was nice and clean and the service was very personal and welcoming. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts and wine and cheese hours. Also, the building itself is really beautiful and romantic. Also, we were walking distance to almost everywhere we went that weekend. I would definitely recommend staying at this B&B!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Confederate Jasmine and really enjoyed the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi AliciaShope,

We hope y'all had a great time for his 30th! It was great to help you celebrate. The Confederate Jasmine is such a nice quiet and private room perfect for those looking to get away from the other guests. Savannah is a fun and exciting place to celebrate occasions like birthdays and anniversaries! We look forward to having y'all back :)

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This bed and breakfast absolutely blew us away. My mother and I stayed at the Dresser Palmer for 2 nights and wished we never had to leave. As soon as we entered the house, we were satisfied. Of course, we're in Savannah, so the house was stunning, but really it took our breath away. We walked up to the small desk that functioned as the check-in area and there was a sign posted that informed us that whoever was supposed to be sitting there was somewhere else in the house or in the garden and that we were welcome to come look for them or call these numbers... I immediately felt at home. We did find them in the garden and were greeted very warmly with cookies and a refreshing drink. The check in process was smooth and they made all kinds of wonderful suggestions about things to see and places to eat which was all drawn out on a map they gave to us. The room was absolutely beautiful, complete with a claw-foot, champagne bubble bath (yes!!). I will absolutely be returning to this bed and breakfast, it was just fantastic.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are set up differently, we stayed in the Lady Astor. All of the rooms are previewed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Sophie C!!

What an AMAZING review! We couldn't have had a better time with y'all. Savannah is such a glamorous lady and we like to show her off in the best ways with great restaurants and fun activities and sights. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in The Lady Astor. The bathtubs are PERFECT for a long soak after walking around all day shopping and touring. We all look forward to another visit from you soon!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just stayed here for 4 nights. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. You feel at home here. Breakfasts are excellent. Having nearby parking in Savannah is an extremely valuable benefit. We have stayed here many times and will continue to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hey rgrant9094!

Thanks for the glowing review! We always are glad to welcome you back at The Dresser Palmer House. Our private lot for parking is included in the cost of your stay here and it's a highly treasured item here in the Historic District! We look forward to MANY more visits with you and some recipe sharing as well ;-)

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I had a terrific experience at the Dresser Palmer. We especially recommend the room we stayed in: the Emma Kelly room. We give the privacy of the room's location a 10, and the room is both spacious and well appointed (has a gas fire and a door onto lovely second story piazza), and the bathroom was outstanding - very spacious compared to many b & b bathrooms. Very comfortable bed in the room. Lesley and all of the staff we dealt with were notably friendly, patient, and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The only two detractions I can think of are very minor - you have to go through an involved process to make hot tea for yourself if that happens to be your choice of breakfast beverage (no tea bags), and the parking is a short walk from the house. Actually, the walking is probably providential because the eating in Savannah is excellent!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hey Joybell1965,

It was SO great to meet y'all! The Emma Kelly is an impressive suite and that veranda it opens to is just the perfect beginning or ending to any day of touring here in Savannah. Guests like to mingle and meet each other out there and talk about the day and where they're from over some great locally roasted coffee served here in house or during our wine hour. We also take pride in having some great breakfasts! We do love to cook, but furthermore, we love to EAT! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us...

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just spent a wonderful time in Savannah's historical district at the Dresser Palmer House. It is a beautiful Inn located near the park and is within walking distance of everything to see and do. The rooms are nicely decorated, the common areas step you back to a much more glamourous time and the gourmet breakfast is wonderful each morning. Everyone was very nice and went out of their way to insure a perfect weekend getaway. We highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Rich G,

We are so flattered to get such an excellent review! Forsyth Park is SO close, we find ourselves wanting to wander there especially during this warm weathered January. Our neighborhood is just peaceful and sitting on that front porch during a tranquil evening with a great glass of wine can hardly be beat. Or, during the chillier evenings, inside the parlor with the fireplace crackling!
Can't wait to see you again...

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dresser Palmer for a couple's getaway in May of 2012. We stayed for 3 nights in the Wisteria Room on the lower level. The inn was gorgeous, as was our room. The bed was esp. beautiful. The bathroom was huge with a spa-like shower. It was a very nice location, just a block from Forsyth Park. We enjoyed sitting in the rockers on the large front porch each night after walking the streets of Savannah. The courtyards were very inviting also, with fountains, plenty of greenery, seating, and romantic lighting for nights outdoors. The inn was very quiet and peaceful. The staff was friendly and welcoming. They graciously accommodated our food requests and served us a very nice breakfast in the dining room each morning. They also had plenty of suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing, and even arranged for us to be picked up at the front entrance to take us into town for our trolley tour. Savannah is so gorgeous and the Dresser Palmer added to our wonderful vacation. We would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Tina W,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us last spring! Savannah in May is just perfectly breathtaking with the Azaleas and Magnolias in full bloom. The front porch is just ideal for rocking away a lazy day here in the beautiful historic district. We'll be waiting for your next visit to us!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dresser Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresser Palmer House

Address: 211 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dresser Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the nation’s largest urban Historic Landmark District, Dresser Palmer House, a historic Savannah bed and breakfast, offers an elegant southern vacation setting with quaint hospitality to delight the most discriminating traveler. Come stay at one of Savannah’s oldest and most exclusive locations, one block from world famous Forsyth Park.Built in 1876 by Henry Dresser and Samuel Palmer, this 11,000 square foot Italianate townhouse now operates as one of Savannah’s finest bed and breakfast inns, providing a variety of distinctive accommodations from king canopy beds and private baths to our ADA compliant lift and guest suite.At the Dresser Palmer House bed and breakfast in Savannah, you will find amenities normally seen in much larger hotels, coupled with the personal attention found only in the very best inns. We invite you to come and experience true southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dresser Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dresser Palmer House Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dresser Palmer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.