We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Palm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Palm Inn
Save
You added Green Palm Inn to your Saves list
548 East President Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“True Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights in beautiful Savannah as a stopover while driving to Florida. We were very pleased with our accommodations at the Green Palm Inn. We met up with friends of ours, and both of our rooms, Sago Palm and Palmetto Palm, were decorated nicely and spotless. We enjoyed using the common areas to relax before and after our busy days. Breakfasts were delicious, as were the hor d'oeuvres, cookies, and wine. Diane and Cheryl were both gracious hosts and very helpful with any questions we had, both during our stay, and through emails before our arrival.
We took a trolley tour of the city, toured a few mansions, saw an excellent show at the Savannah Theater, did a ghost tour, had some good food and made it to Leopold’s for ice cream twice during our short visit. Hopefully, we will someday return to this very interesting and lovely city for a longer stay. We would definitely choose the Green Palm Inn again if we are lucky enough to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
206
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived (even before check in) Diane the inn keeper was welcoming and friendly. She mapped out all the highlights we needed to see while staying in Savannah. The staff was also lovely and the breakfast each morning was delicious. There were also cookies and tea/coffee available throughout the day. Our room was large, quiet and very comfortable. The common rooms were bright and charming. A relaxing and happy place to come back to after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAMcCray, Owner at Green Palm Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Isn't Savannah a fabulous city? The beauty and gentleness of each square along with the tree lined streets just grab hold of you. Our guests are absolutely the best too and I am so glad you were able to come and enjoy my Savannah. Would love to have you come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days in Savannah at Green Palm in and loved our experience there. We were welcomed with a map and explanation of the city's layout, received restaurant and tour suggestions, and were offered snacks and something to drink after our long journey. Gourmet breakfasts were superb, conversation grand, staff wonderful and Diane is a great innkeeper, paying attention to our every need. Our luggage was lost for 4 days and Diane literally gave me the shirt off her back (let me wear some clothes of hers until luggage arrived). Location is great - easy walking distance to the river front, historic squares/sites and Diane can arrange for the Old Savannah Tour Co. to pick you up right outside the door. The tour was a great way to learn about Savannah's history, see its beautiful homes and sites to determine how best to spend your time in this beautiful city. Diane, Cheryl, Charles and staff were very accommodating and we consider the Green Palm Inn our Savannah home away from home. Excellent! Lory Miller - Spokane, WA

Room Tip: All rooms are nice - go on line to see which room suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAMcCray, Owner at Green Palm Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Lori you are so sweet! Thank you for your very kind and wonderful compliments. I was so bothered that your luggage did not make it that I could not let you go without. I know you were elated when it arrived. I hope the balance of your trip was fabulous but uneventful in the missing things aspect!!! Just know you are always welcome and would love to have you come back in the future. It is your home away from home! Savannah is a great place to be!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great time at the inn. Diane was superb as well as her staff. Cheryl gave us a fantastic overview of the city just as we arrived. The location was great. We walked everywhere and since we also had our bikes with us - we biked all over Savannah. Diane made us great breakfasts each morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAMcCray, Owner at Green Palm Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Isn't Savannah just the best? What more could you ask for, great city, great food, great companion? I loved having you come stay with us. All the fabulous breakfast conversation and the sharing of ideas each morning. Thank you for your wonderful compliments too. I just want you to know you are welcome to come back any time and we'll show you more of our sensuous city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Green Palm Inn, and we were sad to leave. From the moment we arrived, in the afternoon in the rain, Diane, the owner, did everything she could to make us comfortable. She helped carry our bags to a lovely room, offered us wine and a selection of yummy hor 'doeuvre, and helped us reconnoiter with maps and advice. We took her advice for dinner, and were very happy with Cha Bella. Back to the Inn, where our beautifully decorated room awaited. Diane again demonstrated her cooking skills with a delicious and nutritious breakfast. All in all, our visit was romantic and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I had an extraordinarily good time here. This B&B is a wonderful and charming haven for fun and relaxation. Our host Diane was such a lovely, hospitable and warm person. We felt so at home here. We stayed 3 nights in the Sago Palm Room, which is beautiful, spacious and has a very comfortable four poster bed. The homemade treats and wine in the afternoon was always something to look forward to. The home cooked breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We loved meeting and chatting to the other guests. We would definitely stay here if we were lucky enough to be in Savannah again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I were mixing business and pleasure in Savannah. We wanted to stay in a B&B for couple of nights before attending the conference at a traditional hotel. I wish we had stayed at the Green Palm Inn for the entire conference. Diane, the owner, is an awesome hostess. We were welcomed with homemade cookies and hors d'oeuvres. She took the time to show us a city map and answer any questions we had about restaurants and places to visit in Savannah. The room was lovely and the mattress on the bed was awesome. The breakfast was delicious and very filling. She heard us talking about going to Tybee Island to the beach and offered to give us some towels to use while we were there.(we had forgotten ours!) Thanks to Diane's wonderful hospitality we had the best time in Savannah!!! Worth every penny!!!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palm Inn

Address: 548 East President Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fodor's guide calls the cozy Green Palm Inn a "pleasing little discovery." Exuding a calm, homey yet smart atmosphere, the little Savannah B&B haven reflects the well-traveled innkeepers' devotion to guests. The family-owned Victorian cottage resides in the Savannah historic district along boundaries of colonial Savannah's palisades; near the Savannah Riverfront, Factor's Walk on Bay Street, and concert venues; and, just steps away from patriotic Greene Square park, one of historic Savannah's world-famous garden squares. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Palm Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Palm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.