We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Long Weekend with the Most Gracious Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherine Ward House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Catherine Ward House Inn to your Saves list
Catherine Ward House Inn
118 East Waldburg Street, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stratford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Long Weekend with the Most Gracious Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over a long weekend. Leslie and Sonia's hospitality, wealth of helpful suggestions, walking directions to a diversity of attractions and tours (the inn really is well located), dining recommendations, and overall graciousness were truly first-rate. The breakfasts each day were outstanding and varied with wonderful fresh fruit and excellent grits. Sonia even spent quite a bit longer than we ever expected driving around in the middle of a late afternoon finding us perfect soul food. We couldn't recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    41
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
354
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had the great fortune of staying in this lovely home for 3 nights. Everything about it was amazing. Leslie and Sonia were amazing hostesses. They made us feel right at home immediately. In fact, moments after we arrived, Leslie drove us around town for a quick tour and dropped us off for lunch at Mrs. Wilkes (amazing family style dining experience). She and Sonia provided so many great suggestions of the things to do and places to see. Our Sea Trade Room was absolutely charming. The bed was very comfortable and it was so quiet that we slept incredibly well. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests. This proved to be another way to get tips on restaurants, etc. We were within walking distance of so many things so the location was very nice. We would gladly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The Sea Trade Room was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We came to Savanna to celebrate out 47th anniversary and check something off my bucket
list. But we were not ready for what was in store for us when we arrived at the Catherine
Ward House, we were so impressed with the hospitality from the moment we walked in the
front door, we were greeted with such an abundance of Southern Hospitality and graciousness.
The house was full of gorgeous antiques and so beautifully decorated. Our room had a
lovely deck with deck chairs that we could choose to enjoy whenever we wanted. We
had a jacuzzi tub and our room was immaculate and tastefully decorated in the style that
was known as "old Savanna" we had a crystal chandelier above our bed, that was incidently
hung from a 10' ceiling. The street was quite. The Next mornings breakfast was a culinary
delight and Leslie the owner and Sonia her co-worker, did everything themselves. The
table was set beautifully. Also both women did everything they could to make our stay as
comfortable and entertaining as possible. They were a a wealth of information regarding
our surroundings and what to do and see. What tours were the best, and where to go
and eat. It was a dream vacation. Thanks Leslie! We will do everthing we can to return
again.
Deznr4u2

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for three nights and loved it! The home is beautifully decorated. The Inn Keeper and her staff are extremely helpful. They offered us suggestions on where to go, what to see, where to eat, and gave us maps on walking around the local area. The home has a wonderful front porch and is steps from the park. The first night, Sunday, that we arrived there was a large free symphony concert in the park. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and want to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This house and these ladies won my husband and I over completely! This anniversary trip to Savannah was one of our favorites!! Miss Leslie and Sonja work together flawlessly and helped us get the most out of our time there! Absolutely can't say enough about this beautiful house with private entrance and bath! Very clean with all of the special touches including fresh flowers. The location and ease of seeing the historic side of Savannah was fabulous. The breakfast was amazing each morning! Young Miss T was charming as well and was like seeing one of our girls as she greeted us from her bicycle when she passed us during a tour! Just can not say enough about these wonderful ladies and can't wait to return to the Catherine Ward House!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Savannah stop on our road trip from Baltimore to Key West was the Catherine Ward House Inn. Although we arrived a bit early we were welcomed and made to feel right at home. Our room was spacious with a private courtyard which made sitting out in the evening an added pleasure. The room was immaculate, clean and well presented. The sitting room upstairs was elegant and the breakfast table was in the formal style. Our hostesses looked after us in very way, recommending walks, eating places and activities. The Savannah Jazz Festival was on and these good ladies knew all he acts and the headliners.
Breakfast was excellent, beautiful food and well presented. All our stays so far have been excellent and without trying to pick winners, this place would have to take the cake. But then, we do love Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was my first visit to Savannah and i'm so glad I chose to stay at Catherine Ward House. The Inn keeper and staff were so welcoming and kind, they made me feel right at home. The house is beautiful gives you the real "Savannah" charm. Great location, walking distance to everything, right across from beautiful Forsyth Park. I stayed in one of the carriage house rooms and it was great!! Very clean, had own porch with chairs to sit out on and a private access gate in the courtyard area. They are very dog friendly and great at giving you all the info you need to explore and enjoy beautiful Savannah! I will absolutely be staying here again on my next trip there!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Address: 118 East Waldburg Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherine Ward House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.