We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherine Ward House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Catherine Ward House Inn to your Saves list
Catherine Ward House Inn
118 East Waldburg Street, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greensboro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

SAVANNAH - CATHERINE WARD HOUSE INN 6/20/13

This is my first review, one which I never thought I'd write, but our experience was too good to be left without comment. it all started with Leslie, the Inn owner who greeted us with such warmth that we knew immediately that we had chosen the right place. We sat in the living room that was decorated in an eclectic mix of historic & modern, and was airy and comfortable. Leslie offered to assist us in any way that would make our stay in Savannah memorable, and with her extensive help, it was! Leslie took us through the house and to our room which was in a separate building. It was huge and inviting with a king-size bed and modern decor. It had a kitchen nook with fridge and microwave, and an amazing bathroom with a glass enclosed shower. We felt right at home. Although this all seemed too good to be true, the best was yet to come. Breakfast! Simple, yet generous, imaginative, and elegantly served. Day one: fresh fruit cup, ham & eggs cooked to perfection, a delicious warm scone, and plenty of OJ and coffee. Day two: fresh fruit cup with different fruits, eggs accompanied by pork tenderloin (yes!)_with an amazing teriyaki sauce, coffee cake, OJ, coffee. Day three: Fresh fruit, the most deliciously different french toast ever, (eggs too if you want them) link sausages, …. etc. It all starts with Leslie who sets the tone and delivers every time. We were so taken that we added an extra day to our planned two-day stay. In over 50 years of travel including many, many B&B's, this was the best one we've ever experienced. Thank you Leslie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    41
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
354
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Leslie and Sonya are absolutely the best B&B inn-keepers possible! Everything was so perfect - the breakfast (plentiful, fresh and delicious), their hospitality and the location! We loved our stay. Leslie and Sonya go above & beyond to make your stay amazing from making great recommendations to making sure you are comfortable! One example would be how they went out of their way to help my husband who wasn't feeling good due to his allergies. The B&B is not located right in the center of everything but that's perfectly okay because it is a nice quiet block near Forsyth Park & walking around Savannah is part of the charm and experience. Would definitely go back to this B&B and recommend others to go as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville.NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have been very negligent in writing a well deserved review of this beautiful B&B. We finally got a few days we could escape in February 2012 and chose Savannah, Ga. We were traveling with our little Australian Silky Terrier. After a search we fell in love with the Catherine Ward House Inn. Their location, pet friendly room with a separate entrance/exit, a short walk to downtown and very close to a big park to walk our dog. The room was perfect, had our own small refrigerator and the food nicely presented. We were even served a made from scratch New Orleans King Cake, for one of our breakfasts. The pet fee (Savannah is very dog friendly) was a one time payment and when we return to Savannah we will definitely return to the Catherine Ward House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Savannah, thanks to Leslie and Sonya. Leslie cooked up wonderful breakfasts and Sonya pointed us to fine restaurants and activities. Our room (Hibernian) was nicely appointed. We especially enjoyed the porch overlooking the garden, where we could enjoy our morning coffee. The location of the B&B was perfect for us, since it was an easy stroll down lovely streets to many of the sites that Savannah has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just returned from a wedding weekend and had the pleasure of staying at this lovely Inn. We loved our room (Catherine`s), which is a front corner room with a lot of windows (no problem at night because they have shades and drapery to darken the room!). The room was large and immaculately clean, with a nice size bathroom. The Inn is located on a quiet street, in close proximity to a beautiful park and just minutes to shops and restaurants. The breakfasts were outstanding...the best we`ve ever had at the many B & B`s that we`ve stayed in. Many thanks to Leslie, Sonia and staff for making our stay at your Inn such a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed on Memorial Day weekend in the Garden Room at the Catherine Ward House Inn. When we arrived we were greeted by Leslie and Sonjya. They were wonderful and provided us with great insight on options to do and see in Savannah. This was our second visit to Savannah, and we enjoyed it very much! There were so many things that we were able to hear about by staying at the bed and breakfast. The other guests were very helpful on things to do while you are in Savannah. The rooms were well decorated and give you the feeling that you really are in old historic home. It is a short walk to Forsyth Park, and gives you the opportunity to really enjoy the city. It is a bit of a walk to River Street, but not too strenuous. Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here, and we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I returned three days ago from Savannah where the Catherine Ward House not only supplied lovely, quiet accommodations, but great concierge services as well. They helped the five of us select tours, made restaurant recommendations and reservations and as a last thing on my agenda, a pleasant cab ride to the airport by a lovely, female driver who enlightened me about the whole area. And the breakfast part of the B and B was over the moon. Fresh fruit in tall highball glasses, and all three breakfasts completely different. We brought home memories and photos and a recipe. One of us has even watched the movie Midnight in the Garden.....and has had it confirmed that Catherine Ward House is one of the backdrops in the film! Thanks to Sonia and Leslie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Address: 118 East Waldburg Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherine Ward House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.