We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it was the first time, this second visit was even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden
Save Saved
You added Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden to your Saves list
402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Texas
1 review
“As good as it was the first time, this second visit was even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Excellent location, excellent staff, amazing ambiance, great room...couldn't have been better! We had just the right amount of attention, and so relaxing! Rocky and Jane have a great thing going here, and we sincerely appreciate the hospitality! Between Rocky, Jane, Pat, and Chemise - our young children were treated like royalty...they will also remember this stay for the rest of their lives! And to top it off - the food was excellent! The smell of Jasmine (no shortage of that!) will always remind me of the Amethyst Inn, too! We loved being treated as part of the family! Thank you to all of you guys...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    54
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
164
412
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent weekend stay in Savannah, and the Amethyst Inn was a welcomed highlight. Rocky, Jane, Pat, and Chemise made our stay truly memorable. We stayed in the Camellia room, which was quiet and nicely appointed.
The Inn is in a wonderful location on Gaston St. Pat's cooking and service were wonderful, and Chemise was the model hostess. Rocky and Jane were very accommodating, even driving us to our dinner reservations one evening.
We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

This time we returned with our two young children (2 and 5), and my mother. Rocky and Jane are so thoughtful and accommodating! They even had a little dining room table with chairs and dishes for the girls. They gave our daughters little surprise treats which made the girls feel extra special. We all felt so welcome and like part of their extended family (a rare treat when traveling with young children!). Their daughter even played with our girls! Our entire family had an amazing and wonderful time. My mom keeps raving about what a wonderful time she had at the Amethyst Inn! We definitely plan to return in the future. We know that if you stay at the Amethyst Inn, you will be very pleased with every aspect of your visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, calif
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Our recent March trip to the South was capped by our wonderful stay here with Jane and Rocky, Miss Pat and Chamise. We loved every minute of it, and have already dreamed of a return. The B&B is lovingly restored and furnished; our room was spacious, very lilac lovely and very comfy. And the breakfast is a hearty and delicious flavor of the South, with baked goods and nice fruit and egg dishes. It kept us satisfied thru lunch on our busiest days!
I'm still reminiscing about the afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres hour also. We just enjoyed unwinding after a busy day with Jane and Rocky and the other guests. It really felt like a family home, where everyone could sit back and truly relax. You can't buy that kind of hospitality at a hotel or inn; it is a natural extension of the owner's outgoing and helpful nature.
Rocky and Jane had excellent tips about which trolley tours to take (I am a converted skeptic on this one. I don't usually take tours, but this was worth my time and minimal $). They also have excellent pointers for restaurants of all price ranges. (Thank you Rocky for suggesting Johnny Harris because our other choice was closed. We wanted an old school, not tourist place, and this fit the bill. )
The Amethyst is also perfectly located near Forsythe Park and many classic squares with fantastic architecture. All within a fast walk.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

I recently stayed at the Amethyst Inn for a one night visit to Savannah. From my initial phone call to make a reservation,to my departure I was treated like a true guest. Jane, was an absolute doll and gave us great restaurant recommendations.She even gave us a big bag of spiced pretzels for our ride back to Chicago.Our room was clean and charming. It is a great location for doing Savannah on foot. I will absolutely stay at the Amethyst Inn next time I go to Savannah

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

After much research my husband and I decided to stay at the Amethyst Inn. We had never stayed at a B&B before and couldn't wait to make the reservations. I called Jane a month before our trip and we became instant friends! She was incredibly kind and even sent us maps and brochures before we arrived. Upon arrival, Pat showed us our room and helped us with directions, lunch recommendations, etc. We made sure to be back by 4:30 to meet Jane and Rocky and to meet the other guests at the wine/snack hour. WOW- Jane and Rocky-what an amazing couple! They truly opened their HOME to us and made us feel so welcome. That is what the Amethyst Inn is truly about....feeling warm and welcome in their HOME. While the Amethyst Inn is not the most elegant B&B in Savannah, it is truly a gem of a find. We enjoyed every second of our stay there and loved our Geranium room. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast made by Pat each morning and enjoyed talking with Shemice each afternoon. My husband and I had a wonderful weekend getaway at the Amethyst Inn and wish we could have stayed longer. We are already trying to plan another trip!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

The Amethyst inn was from far the hightlight of our trip to the Old South. The welcoming reception, the amazing breakfasts and the cozy feeling of this romantic house make this Inn become the very special place where one fall in love with Savannah.
We were lucky enough to have time to enjoy inspiring conversations with Pat and Chemise who add an even more personal touch to the place.
We initially planned on staying one night and keep moving. We have been so charmed by the place that we spent the rest of our holidays there and yet felt deeply sad to leave behind such of peace of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

Address: 402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.