We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden
Save
You added Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden to your Saves list
402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Living history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Amethyst Inn is a beautiful old Victorian home set in the historic district of old Savannah. Stepping into the foyer immediately takes you back a century to a quieter, more genteel time. The innkeepers, Rocky (a former military helicopter pilot) and his charming wife Jane, are absolutely disarming with their charm and Southern warmth. Rocky has maintained the inn perfectly -- it's spotless, with generous room sizes and amenities. Jane is lovely and welcoming, and she is a great cook! Emphasize the breakfast at this B&B -- delicious quiches, pastries, pancakes, sausages, and of course, grits. Breakfast is communal in a beautiful formal dining room. Rocky and Jane give it their all, and speaking with them for a half hour made my feel that they were lifelong friends. They are also a tremendous source of information for visiting this fascinating, historical town -- whether you want to take a trolley ride all around the historic district, imagine yourself in the atmosphere of old Savannah in a nighttime tour of the city's haunted sites, stop by the Lady and Sons, or just relax over a cocktail at waterfront Rocks atop the Bohemian hotel, R & J will get you there with ease and with all the information you need. We had visited Savannah once before, and found the city somewhat tired and uninteresting. Thanks to Rocky and Jane, we not only felt kinship with the city, but discovered how charming, interesting, and fun it can be. Make sure Savannah is on your bucket list, and when you visit, let Jane and Rocky make you feel like you're visiting family, in their beautiful Amethyst Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    56
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
169
423
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The historic Inn was a very pleasant place with a family feel in a good location. Everyone is welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very nice. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This Victorian-esq home is located in the historic district, not far from Forsyth park. It is beautiful, includes three floors and a pool in the back. What is most striking about this Inn? The innkeepers are fabulous. Rocky and Jane are fun, engaging, helpful and very accommodating. It is obvious they love their job and have the gift of true hospitality. Rocky is the epitome of a southern gentleman. Jane cooks continually and keeps "sweet treats" at various places around the dining area of the inn. They have the most delicious, and refreshing water. (They put fresh, sliced oranges in it.) The breakfast is delicious -- egg bakes, sweet breads, waffles and real maple syrup. Love this place and we hope to visit again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Kind and helpful staff, satisfying breakfast, and good location. The price is right as well! We would come back. From a young Los Angeleno married couple.

PS: Is the 200 character minimum really necessary?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We decided to escape the rain in Florida and were looking for an excuse to go to Savannah again anyway so on short notice, we checked and found that the Amethyst had one room available. We are so glad they did and in fact, we stayed 3 days instead of 2 as planned. Rocky and Jane were exceptional hosts, always helpful and cheerful. Their dining suggestions were right on track and their knowledge of tour options were impressive. Coffee was out by 7 for early risers and the breakfast options were excellent. Our room was clean and neat and nothing that we might have needed was missing. This is a great place to stay and we would definately book here again. There is no doubt that our expectations were exceeded on our visit to the Amethyst.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownwood tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is the perfect choice for couples, families, or girls getaway. The inn is within walking distance of all the historic district so no car rental is necessary. It was my birthday, and Jane & Rocky made it extra special. I've traveled extensively and there is no doubt this inn offers the BEST personal attention to detail I have experienced- from quality of tableware setting to "outdoor fresh" linens. Breakfast, served at 9:00, was delicious! Jane and Rocky are professionals with a keen knowlege of the inn business with the unique human interaction that makes an inn a home complete with a "pet friendly" environment.

Room Tip: Our Magnolia Room can be converted from King to twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed with another couple in March. The Inn is clean and very well kept. We had a room with a combined shower and bath, which was nice. The bed was quite comfortable.

Rocky and Jane are the bests hosts you could imagine. They know so much about Savannah that is helpful to visitors. For example, we talked about going to Bonaventure cemetery and Wormsloe estate, and Rocky reminded us of the opening and closing time for both sites. We could have gone in late afternoon and been disappointed. They are helpful with reservations and had tips on different things you want to try.

Their breakfast is delicious with several different hot and cold choices. You could skip lunch if you wanted to. My only two issues were that I did not like the coffee very much. It was okay, but I like a strong rich cup of coffee, and it was more medium strength and some type of flavored coffee. Second, there is very little space in your room for your luggage and clothes. I think that is fairly common with these old houses that have been turned into Inns.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

Address: 402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.