We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeerful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden
Save
You added Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden to your Saves list
402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wondeerful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a short break in Savannah and Charleston and had the pleasure of staying at the Amethyst Inn. We met all the family on arrival - Jane, Rocky, Jimmy and Sarah and were immediately made very welcome. The open kitchen is like a gathering area and we sat and chatted while the food was being prepared.
The Inn has a lot of the original features but also has a small swimming pool and secluded garden for sitting.
Nothing was too much trouble for the family and they helped with advice about trips, restaurants and history of Savannah.
We also met all the other guests at breakfast and shared experiences about what to do - and what not to do! Great fun!
Breakfast was all home made and very tasty (I even tried Grits for the first time), although the 9:00am serving was a little later than we were used to.
Overall a great experience and a pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    56
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
169
423
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Rather than repeating dozens of accolades before this, just read them and BELIEVE! My very, special college friend and I just spent five wonderful days at The Amethyst Inn. Because of Jane, Rocky, Sarah and Jane's brother Jimmy (the artist) we had an incredible visit. BELIEVE all that is written and reserve your stay at The Amethyst Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about this Victorian B&B. Rocky and Jane,the owners, are totally involved,from the cooking,Jane is a superb cook(makes delicious candy too) and Rocky will tell you about the local history;point out all the sites to see and all the many good restaurants. It's in the historic district so you can walk everywhere but it is not on a busy street so we had a wonderful few nights sleep in their comfy beds. This was our first visit to Savannah and Rocky &Jane helped make our stay a memorable one. All and all a wonderful experience and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My college roommate of 50 years ago and I met in Savannah for 5 wonderful days to relax and catch up. We chose the perfect setting - the Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden. Jane, Rocky and Sarah (and Jimmie, Jane's charming brother) are wonderful hosts and a delightful family. Rocky met us upon arrival ready with a map and suggestions for our stay. Jane added more ideas and guidance and her breakfasts are not to be missed! Rocky arranged for an "on-off" bus to pick us up the first day. Once we became familiar with the area, we walked throughout the historic district each day. Their suggestions for dining were spot on - the Firefly Cafe a few blocks away and the Chart House on the river were both memorable meals. But the best part was returning to the comfort of the inn and our hosts at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Jane, Rocky, Sarah & Chemise were as hospitable as ever. We were lucky enough to meet Jane's sweet brother Jimmy. Rocky set up the most memorable dining experience at the Chart House. They are more than happy to make any arrangements for dinner, tours, transportation, etc. I loved the house being decorated for Halloween.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had the pleasure of staying with Jane and Rocky on our recent trip to the United States.

We were very impressed by their warm and sophisticated southern hospitality. Their home, including our room, was beautifully decorated and we felt immediately at home.

We enjoyed the pleasant company of the other guests that evening and learned a great deal about the local points of interest.

Breakfast was memorable for a beautifully cooked selection, which included the local speciality of white cream cheese grits. As we had not had that before, it was quite a treat.

Staying there was a wonderful experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a terrific stay at The Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden. I can't say enough good things about this charming, warm and welcoming establishment.
When I made the reservation I had the pleasure of speaking with Jane, the owner. Her warmth and friendliness told me, "this was the place to stay in Savannah!" How right that was!
Jane and husband Rocky were away during our stay but no worries--we were treated like royalty by a very personable, well-spoken, warm and friendly young woman, Chemise!
Breakfast, prepared by Chemise, was outstanding. The quiche, grits, French toast, muffins---all were delicious, leaving all of the guests with one thing to say: "More!!"
We stayed in the Magnolia room. It was beautiful, with stenciled walls and fireplace. The other rooms we saw were equally as charming. And I must say I am quite fussy about bedding and comfort. No problems there! The sheets and mattress were so comfy. And I can't stress enough how clean everything was!
In short, if ever back in Savannah, I'd stay there without any hesitation! Thumbs up all the way!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

Address: 402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.