We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that we expected, and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden
Save
You added Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden to your Saves list
402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swainsboro, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“All that we expected, and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

While my husband was in Savannah on business, I traveled along to see the sites of this beautiful city. We chose to stay at a bed and breakfast. We were so delighted with our choice of Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden. The owners, Rocky and Jane, were like "old friends" by the time we left. The breakfasts and social hour where we became acquainted with the owners of the Inn and the other guests was a highlight of our stay. We will definitely return to this lovely Inn the next time we're in Savannah!

  • Liked — location and hospitality
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    63
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
180
464
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

My husband Carl and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely, restored Victorian Inn. There is parking on-site, a pool, and the location of the inn, in the historic district, made everything easily accessible by foot. NOTE: We took a guided tour of the city and our tour bus even picked us up in front of the Inn!

Upon arrival in the evening, we were greeted warmly by Rocky (owner) and introduced to most of the guests who were staying at the inn. The guests were gathered around the dining room table enjoying the complimentary wine and homemade snacks made by Jane (also owner) offered daily.

We knew the choice to stay at Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden was a good one based on the friendliness of the guests and the Innkeepers Rocky & Jane. The Inn is lovely without being pretentious.....we felt welcomed and at home right away.

After meeting the guests, Rocky provided us with maps of the city, brochures for various guided tours/sightseeing and made recommendations for dinner. He even made reservations for us at two establishments. This was followed by a tour of the inn and our room. Our room was handsomely appointed with a fairly large TV, comfortable bed and lots of windows/light.

Breakfast is served daily at 9 AM. The food is homemade, with different foods every day. It is prepared by the innkeeper Jane and served by Pat, an loyal employee of the inn for many years. We enjoyed Pat's attentiveness and sense of humor. We also thought the breakfast was great and enjoy the experience a B&B provides in getting to know other people.

We met Jane on the 1st full day of our stay and loved her! She is warm, friendly, personable, enthusiastic and hard-working. Jane really cares about the Inn, her guests; specifically their comfort and enjoyment while visiting. One way this is demonstrated is by her home cooked breakfasts and various homemade dips, spreads, and soups served at "wine and cheese" time. Jane provides menus of local restaurants for the guests to review during "wine and cheese" time and makes recommendations for dinner/sightseeing/shows. She will make reservations for you at the asking.

Upon departure, we were provided with a picture of the "Inn" as a memento of our stay.

I would highly recommend the Inn as a place to stay in Savannah due to the location, innkeepers, food, and accomodations - just everything!

  • Liked — Innkeepers, location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

The Amethyst Inn in savannah made my birthday week end a very memoriable one. The inns host, Rocky and Jane were beyond any expectations of southern hospitality that i could have hoped for. They were gracious, full of energy, fun and very informative. Jane will gladly share receipes for some of her home cooked dishes that she makes. The food was great, the room was very comfortable and relaxing. What a great place to stay in savannah, I recommend Amethyst Inn for all your travel needs. JJ From Atlanta

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

Although the location is central and has a parking lot, we found this Inn didn't have any charm. Part of the exprience is to meet the owners. We stayed 3 days and 2 nights and never met the owners. They do not live at the Inn so it is basically like a boarding house with no one to recommend what to do or see. After check-in someone did show us a map and recommend a tour (like any hotel would). The Inns I have stayed at before had the owners who were always there to offer a suggestion. There was several events in the city we missed and found out about after the fact. Like a fireworks show in the park. There were 3 adults staying together and when I asked at booking if the pull-out couch was comforable for an adult the owner said it was and that she had had no problems. When we arrived it looked like a taco and we moved the mattress to the floor althought that was not much better. We keep expecting to see the owners to discuss our options but never saw them. When we checked out we did talk by cell phone and they did reduce our rate by $30 a night. Food was just OK. Not homemade like other Inns I have stayed. All together for this kind of service we could have stayed in a hotel. Next time we will definately stay at a different Inn.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We visited Rocky and Jane Easter Weekend and had a wonderful, it's my idea of what a B&B should be. Be ready for being spoiled

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

I highly recommend this bed & breakfast in a beautifully renovated home. The owners are warm & welcoming. Great care is taken of the comfort of each guest. The afternoon wine & snacks is a highlight. The breakfast are in true southern style - varied & delicious.

  • Liked — Very clean & comfortable. Within the historic town of Savannah.
  • Disliked — No apparent internet access.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

We picked the Inn using the Net for our daughter and son-in-law's honeymoon last year. They loved it, and invited us to join them there for their 1st anniversary. Lovely, friendly, accomodating hosts. We stayed for six nights--the owners, Jane and Rocky, take great pride in the Inn, and it shows. The rooms are immaculately kept and if you like high Victorian, this is the place for you. Breakfasts were sumptuous, and the daily high tea each afternoon was more like an early supper--plus wine. Rooms are comfy and quiet. Staff will make reservations for you for tours, meals, etc. Pat, who is the housekeeper and more, is one of God's gifts--just a terrific person and a heckuva chef too. You cannot do any better in Savannah than the Amethyst.

  • Liked — Comfy and cozy
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

Address: 402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.