We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly innkeepers...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden
402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
August Special
Ranked #6 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly innkeepers...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Amethyst Inn for 4 nights. We arrived late on our first night, but were greeted by Jane and Rocky when we arrived. We stayed in the Lantana Room our first night, but moved to the Camellia Room for the next 3 nights, which is a larger room. Historic homes are a treasure and Jane and Rocky have done a wonderful job restoring this great house.

The Inn is in a wonderful location in the historic district near Forsyth Park. Everything in the historical district is within walking distance. Jane is an excellent cook...breakfasts were great and she keeps cookies/snacks in the dining room at all times. I highly recommend the bacon quiche, broccoli casserole, and grits!

There is a mini-fridge on the third floor for keeping beverages during your stay. A Kroger is about three blocks away.

Rocky and Jane will make dinner reservations for you (they made one for us at the last minute on a Friday night and were able to get us a table) and provide maps, directions, and advice.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay in Savannah and hope to make it back soon. You cannot go wrong staying at the Amethyst Inn while in Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    718
    54
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
164
408
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent three nights at the Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden. From the time we walked in the door until we said goodbye we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Camelia Room which had a nice porch. Rocky and Jane made it seem like our home. They made the restaurant reservations for us and we received nice tables, complimentary hors d'oeuvres and great service. Jane's breakfasts were well prepared and we only needed one other meal at dinner. The B&B is in the historical district and within walking distance of Savannah's attractions. We did take a pedicab and the driver even commented on how nice Rocky and Jane were and as a testament of how nice they are the driver felt comfortable enough to go into the B&B and help himself to some of Jane's cookies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

it felt like going home every night. Sneaking in with our own front door key and separate room key to our room. Giggling like a couple of teenagers. Rocky and Jane made us feel superb. The food and hospitality were gracious and relaxing. The house was in a perfect location. We loved walking over to the farmers market and to the river front. Great suggestions of where to eat and they called and made the reservations for us. The bed was comfy and high.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Amethyst Inn in Savannah is an immaculately maintained historic Inn that provided a perfect setting for your stay. The house is beautiful, inside and out and one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed. It is located at the edge of the historic district, which makes any attraction or restaurant a short walk. Our room was very comfortable and included a balcony where we could enjoy a morning coffee or an evening drink. As excellent as the facility is, what made our stay there an exceptional experience was Jane and Rocky. They are two wonderful and seemingly tireless people who know Savannah inside an out and are always willing to provide travel advice. More importantly, Jane is an unbelievable cook, her breakfasts include things like crab meat casserole, broccoli/cheese casserole, blueberry pancakes, praline french toast, and fresh fruit.(and that was just in two mornings). Jane also maintains a great supply of home made cookies and candies available 24x7 in the dining room. One of the high points of the Inn is the warm and friendly atmosphere that Jane and Rocky maintain. We would highly recommend the Amethyst Inn for a stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just got back from a fun visit to Savannah and stayed at the Amethyst Inn for a girls' weekend. Jane and Rocky were so warm and welcoming, and their house has been beautifully restored! We stayed in a charming suite which was roomy (lots of space for the four of us) and the beds were sooo comfortable. The shower was large and perfect. Rocky had an abundance of local information to share which was so helpful. Jane's breakfast was delicious, a large assortment of homemade delights, including a scrumptious crab souffle. The location was perfect, an easy walk (or pedicab) to all the sites. Sarah's garden, overlooking the pool, is the perfect place to sit and relax with some wine (and new friends, thanks Jane for introducing us to Mia!) after a day of sightseeing! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I heard my wife say, "I need to get out of the house." We'd never visited Savannah so... we searched Savannah Bed and Breakfasts' and found a wonderful treasure in the Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden. Jane and Rocky are kind, inviting and natural at meeting your every need from reservations to information. Our accommodations were comfortable, clean and within walking distance to everything. We loved the food, Jane is a wonderful chef, and the company as the Inn was full of interesting guests. Our first historical Savannah experience was absolutely perfect and we can't wait to return in a couple months to their Bed and Breakfast!! thank you Jane and Rocky... you're the best!

Room Tip: We had the Lantana room, the smallest at the B&B and were pleasantly surprised at the comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

and Jane and Rocky offer just that perfect place to stay in the lovely city of Savannah. They make their home your home and will go the extra mile to make your stay the perfect stay. The house is true to form of old style Savannah yet furnished and decorated exquisitely. The rooms are comfortable with all necessary amenities and the beds are clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is a pleasure with excellent food and good company. Jane and Rocky get involved with their guests and truly care how your stay with is. The location is perfect - within walking distance of the heart of Savannah, but not in the middle where things could get a little loud. The trolley stops within a block. Can't say enough good things about the Amethyst inn and if we are back in Savannah we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden

Address: 402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden to your Saves list