We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The AVIA Won Our Hearts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Savannah to your Saves list
Andaz Savannah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The AVIA Won Our Hearts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Just got back from Savannah and must say that the AVIA was the perfect choice for our stay. The facilities are fabulous. Very sleek design. Rooms are wonderful with flat screens, superb beds, deluxe baths and ammenities. We stayed in the Lux 1BR suite with adjoining king guestroom. Plenty of room for two adults and two teens. The AVIA does a good job explaining the different room sizes on their site. If you need help picking - just call them and they will help find the right room for your situation. The staff was out of this world. Everyone was so helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay in Savannah was wonderful. Always a friendly greeting. Location of the hotel is perfect- right in the middle of historic district across from River Street. They helped us navigate our way around from dining recommendations to golf tee-times to booking trolley tours to calling cabs. Sent us to a fabulous PGA golf course and got us discounted greens fees. Food at the AVIA was the best we had the whole trip, and the bar was lots of fun. When we go back to Savannah- AVIA will be our first choice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

It is so nice to read that AVIA won your hearts. Thank you for taking the time to post such a fabulous review of your stay. Our staff strives to be gracious hosts and it sounds as though they succeeded. Thank you for recognizing in your review. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    430
    90
    27
    8
See reviews for
299
981
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Mills, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hotel was beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful. Location is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Scottish Borders
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights recently and was impressed by the location, friendliness of staff and general ambiance of hotel.
We booked our breakfasts in advance the evening before, to take advantage of the reduced tariff, (on advice of previous tripadvisor reviewers) and felt this represented excellent value. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious. We also sampled the 'small plates' menu available in the lounge bar on our final evening and were very happy with their quality and also pleasantly surprised by the quantity ( I had initially envisaged us all maybe requiring a second 'small plate' to satisfy our hunger pangs).
Would also commend the concierge (unfortunately I cannot remember the lady's name) who was so pleasant and supplied us with a good map and excellent advice on what to do during our limited time in lovely Savannah.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful comments about AVIA. I am so elated you were impressed with the hotel and the customer service. I am glad you took advantage of the discounted breakfast by paying the night before and the small plates in the evening exceeded your expectations. Thank you for choosing AVIA and we hope to see you again soon.

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here for our one year anniversary and were very pleased! This is a very hip, comfortable hotel that certainly makes you feel welcome. Our room (the Grand Hosting Suite) was the perfect amount of room of us and had a full sized refrigerator, which was great.
As another reviewer mentioned, buy your parking passes at the Visitor's Center before you arrive at the hotel (they're even open on Sundays). It's $12 for 48 hrs and $7 for 24 hrs and you can buy multiple passes if you're there more than 48 hrs. Otherwise, you're going to pay $16 for one day- it's a great deal and the parking garage (Whitaker Parking Garage) is directly beneath the hotel.
We had the hotel breakfast buffet twice and loved it. The shrimp and grits are out of this world and the bacon and grits on the buffet are great, as well.
The pool is a bit small and was overrun with kids a few times we went, but overall, the outdoor area is nice.
The bed was super comfy and the housekeeping did a great job of servicing the room while we were out.
Overall, a lovely hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Congratulations on your one year anniversary! I am elated you chose to celebrate at AVIA and had a wonderful time. Thank you for the great comments regarding the breakfast, especially the shrimp and grits. Also, thank you for recognizing the housekeeping staff. They work hard to make sure the hotel is clean...thank you for noticing. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

This was my first time visiting this hotel, and I have to say I plan to return. I stayed in the Grand Suite (french doors, no kitchen). The decor of the room was stylish, the bathroom was huge and elegant. The claw foot tub was well worth the price of the room (which wasn't that bad!). The pool was on the small side, but the pool area was lovely. Huge lounge sofas, a fire pit, and covered, cabana style seating made the area feel like a resort. I only wish the poolside bar had been open during my swim.

The staff was friendly and helpful. And the turndown service was quite nice.

If you go, I highly recommend the breakfast. Pre-order it and get 25% (so you pay around $11 or $12). The word buffet doesn't do it justice. Cooked to order shrimp and grits, peach crepes, omelets - all made with fresh ingredients. It was amazing. And again, the staff was top notch. They went above and beyond what I expected in every way. And all this was after I spent almost twice as much on a pretty terrible breakfast at a spot across the street at the riverfront.

I've already recommended this hotel to my friends. And I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

I am ecstatic to read that AVIA Savannah exceeded your expectations in almost every way. It is great to know you enjoyed the suite, relaxing in the pool area and the wonderful breakfast. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the staff. They strive to be gracious hosts...thank you for noticing. It is great to read you have recommended AVIA to your friends and we look forward to seeing you again.

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Just got back from a 2 night stay. The hotel is in a great location. Step out the door and you are in downtown Savannah. Before I say anything else, I've got to mention parking. Stop at the visitor center and buy a 2 day parking pass for $12. It covers all the city garages and meters marked more than 1 hour. Otherwise, the Whitaker garage (more or less under the Avia) is $16 per day self park, more if you let the hotel park the car. That 2 day pass was very much well worth it for being able to park all over town let alone the Whitaker garage.

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. I only have 2 complaints. The mattress is very firm. None of us slept very well because of it. Also, the remote for the TV didn't work very well at all. The table/desk actually seemed to block IR reception depending on where you were in the room. I wasn't really in Savannah to watch TV so just a minor complaint regarding that. All in all the hotel is great. I'll just bring my memory foam mattress next time:-D

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at AVIA and the location was perfect! I do apologize you didn't enjoy the mattress. We usually get rave reviews about the bed, but it sounds as though it was not what you like. I do hope this does not impact the possibility of you returning to AVIA.

Thank you for the tip to future guests regarding the parking and we hope to see you again soon!

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Avia. It is located in the best part of historical Savannah, and is absolutely stunning. The staff is very accommodating, responds quickly to all requests, a doorman greets you with a smile every time you enter/exit. The rooms themselves are wonderful... they are very modern and comfortable, feature huge flat screen TV's, free/fast WiFi, wonderful turn-down service automatically provided (they also replace your towels again at this time... we found this out as we checked in during the hot afternoon, took showers, went out to dinner, and when we came back the room had been refreshed and the towels... FIVE of them had been replaced), they also provide 2 complimentary waters and chocolates on the pillows with the turn-down svc, there is a huge work desk, the room is at least 1/3 larger than a standard hotel room, and features vaulted ceilings (approx. 12') with wonderful crown moldings. The common areas are also ultra-modern and attractive. The pool area is inviting and comfortable, with lots of shaded cabana areas and soft surface seating provided, as well as misters turned on in the hot afternoons. Their gym area is the best (free) gym I've ever seen at a hotel... lots of cardio machines, some free weights, a bow-flex type machine, and a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was very nice... like others noted, the open shower is a little odd... but is very nice looking, and I liked the removable shower head.

The only negative would be the $20 valet parking... but there weren't any better options for parking that we found... and it beat walking to your car (and included in/out privileges). We weren't dissuaded by this though... we've paid more to park before... sometimes with NO in/out privileges.

Note: They've got an advanced mini-bar that automatically charges the room when removing items... like any other hotel, the mini-bar prices are steep... but they do leave the top shelf intentionally empty for guests to use for thier own beverages (it's marked as such)... also, a free safe is provided for guest use inside of room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! One of the best hotel stays you've ever enjoyed is a very nice compliment. Thank you for writing such a great review of AVIA and all the hotel has to offer. We couldn’t have said it better. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to host you gain soon!

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.