We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel on Ellis Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Savannah to your Saves list
Andaz Savannah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Experience
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
San Juan Capistrano
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel on Ellis Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Location is perfect and the staff was fantastic. Rooms were very nice, not huge but big enough. Staff was the highlight of this place an could not have been nicer. Only complaint was the really weak water pressure in the somewhat bizarrely arranged shower area. Shower was just weird and the super-low pressure just made it even weirder. Would recommend and defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: BYOSPA, (Bring your own shower pressure accelerator :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
ContinentalCaptain, thank you for the nice review! My apologies the shower was poor, water pressure is important! Hope to see you here again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    394
    86
    25
    7
See reviews for
279
897
45
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We've visited Savannah a half dozen times in the past six or so years and this, by far, was our favorite hotel experience. Here's why:
a) The location -- on Ellis Square -- puts you an easy walk to dozens of interesting shops, restaurants and bars. People watching on Ellis Square (and also in the lobby) is also fun. Note that you are steps from City Market, but it's not for us. It seems very young or very old...but not much in the middle. Better to venture a little farther..but return to Andaz's on-site bar (love the Jet Pilot cocktail and sazerac, in particular) for a night cap or a little break.

b) The room -- We were in 320, which is a suite with a balcony overlooking Ellis and a soaker tub. Plenty of room for us and our luggage (for a two-week trip). Soaker tub fits two. Shower is a decent enough enclosure, but low flow. Men must be behind low-flow showers because any woman with hair longer than shoulder length knows how long it takes to rinse shampoo/conditioner out with low flow. But that aside, room was immaculately clean. Bed was extraordinarily comfortable -- on par with the $4k we shelled out for our home mattress. Balcony has no chairs (mini chairs would fit). But it was lovely to stand out there and soak in the atmosphere (we stayed Halloween night and that offered a great vantage to revelers).

c) The extras: The gym has a couple of ellipticals, one bike (non recumbent) and four or five treadmills, weights, an excersise ball and a couple of other items. It also provides chilled towels, a bowel of apples and free bottled water. Thank you. It overlooks the heated pool, which is on the second-floor terrace. The water is heated to 82 degrees. There are lovely cabanas overlooking the pool. And the terrace also includes a large fire pit and a bar that is sometimes open. Back in the hotel room, the refrigerator is stocked with juice, soda, water...nuts, snacks. All free. There is a $7 charge for craft bottles of beer in the frig...and $25 each for three small flasks of liquor (jack daniels, gin and vodka -- no rum). Morning papers are free, including WSJ. 24-hour room service.

d) The decor: I remember this place before Andaz took it over. The bar had a dark, vampire-ish vibe. That's been lifted. The lobby is open and fresh. Modern couches sit alongside light and black-trimmed windsor chairs -- a nice nod to the history that surrounds this modern hotel. (the rooms, with their velvet couches, still retain a bit of vampire drama, but it's not overwhelming). The restaurant has community seating option.

Other: We arrived at peak check-in time on Halloween. The valets were scrambling, but they were efficient and friendly, as were the staff inside....floating with hand-helds to check in guests and make sure each tottered happily away with a complementary glass of wine (red or white) or a soda. There are two elevators. Guests must insert key card to use and some guests seemed to have problems with that...and that increased wait times for already-busy elevators. Bottom line for us -- Not everyone enjoys a bed and breakfast...the limited serving schedule, the forced socialization. And the Andaz, as a boutique, offers most of the amenities of a bed and breakfast, but wraps them around all the best amenities of a hotel. It's a great hybrid. We'll be back.

Here are some of the places visited for the first time this trip (walked from Andaz)...we recommend each: World of Beer (finally, a good craft selection in Savannah); The Distillery (wait, two good craft brew selections in Savannah...also very good bean burger); The Public Kitchen and Bar (vibe sort of like Andaz, great bruschetta); Pinkie Master's (authentic dive bar (not contrived); Chive (live jazz with a spicy sweet martini, yum).

Room Tip: We overlooked the square and didn't have any problem with the noise...but other reviewers said t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
amagar, thank you for the detailed review. It is gratifying to hear that we can offer some of the attentiveness of a B&B but with the services of a hotel. We share tastes in many restaurants and bars! Please come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Thrilled with the Andaz. Probably the best service of our three week holiday. Friendly, prompt and so welcoming. Enjoyed wine at check in! Valet also very convient and recommended. Common areas are bright, contemporary and stunning. Room was of a good size and well appointed. Complimentary snacks and refreshments a nice touch. Excellent beds so we had very restful sleeps. Bright bathroom of a good size. Super clean. Fantastic breakfast in the restaurant each morning. Really excellent location that made all the sights within walking distance and also very easy to access/exit the city. Don't look elsewhere. This is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
3Thirstytravellers, thank you so much for your very kind comments, hope to see you at Andaz again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Andaz. The second you walk in the door they send you to a comfortable lounge area to check you in and ask you would you like a glass of red or white wine. Wow, this is going to be good! Then you sit on the couch and they check you in with their iPad. We took the optional upgrade to a suite and were not disappointed - maybe it was the wine talking! ;-) They are all so friendly and very accommodating! The room was beautiful - on the 3rd floor overlooking Ellis Square. River Street and City Market are a short two block walk away as is Broughton Street. You can't beat the location. Jacob at the lobby bar is an asset - knows where to eat and what to do, and makes a mean cocktail! So many mixers - where do I start!?! The lobby computers are very handy for printing up boarding passes/tour tickets. The first 15 minutes are free, but keep in mind you will pay a per page printing fee - nominal and worth the convenience. The room was more than we could ask for, very clean and comfortable. Two large TVs and a huge bathroom. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Joanne M , thank you for your business and thank you for your nice review. Please come back to Andaz Savannah again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here during the week of my wedding and we couldn't have been happier!!! From the moment we walked in, everyone was so helpful and such a delight to talk to!! From Joy, at the front desk, to the valet, etc, everyone was awesome!! The hotel had everything we needed and more!! The rooms were really cozy and tge beds were super comfy! We would definitely come back!!! Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Chanatucci, thank you for your visit and your nice comments. I will be sure to let Joy know that she made a great impression on you. Looking forward to your next visit! Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Asked for quiet room as the square can be quite noisy, only disadvantage was fairly dark as faced onto a narrow street with an ofice building opposite. Very pleasant staff and excellent simple restaurant albeit with a limited menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
GGPtrs, thank you for your visit! I am happy you found a quiet spot and happy we exceeded your expectations. Please come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The location makes for the perfect spot from which to walk to historic River Street and many of the squares that make Savannah the popular tourist spot that it is. Also walking distance from dozens of restaurant choices from casual to fine dining.
The staff is ultra friendly. You will experience the true definition of Southern Hospitality.
The accommodations are great and the amenities of Andaz Savannah are superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
phil1727, thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review. I am happy you were able to interact with our team, they really are special. Hope to see you back at Andaz soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#3 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.