We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Comfortable Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Savannah

Save Saved
You added Andaz Savannah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Experience
Ranked #3 of 112 hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morgantown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location and Comfortable Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Honestly, the only reason our family stayed at this hotel was because I used our Capitol One miles to obtain a $500 Hyatt gift card, as my best deal for travel. I searched for "Hyatt Hotels in Savannah" and I found 2. Andaz, being the better reviewed hotel, and away from the noise of River Street, ended up being my choice.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted and checked-in by very friendly staff. As we arrived at our room, I was somewhat surprised to see how small our 2 Queens room was. Considering that we spent a limited amount of time in our room, this wasn't bothersome.

The hotel is very attractive and centrally located to everything in the Historic District. The major pros were our pillow top beds...WOW...best night's sleep in a hotel to date! We also enjoyed the comfortable pillows and duvets. The drinks and snacks that were included in our stay were also a plus. The pool area is beautiful and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were cleaned and towels were changed daily. I thought the bowl of fruit behind the check-in area was a nice touch as well. The peaches were delicious!

Now for the cons. Considering the price of the stay, the rooms could be bigger. The shower head continued to fall off, and the water pressure was ridiculously weak. A minor con was the lack of the refill of the mini-bar one of the 3 days we were there. By all means, none of those issues have ruined our vacation, but considering that this hotel is the #2 rated hotel in this area, there should be more attention paid to these details.

We did't utilize the bar nor the restaurant, considering the many choices throughout the area.

Overall, we had a wonderful vacation and would absolutely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
mommarcela, thank you for your visit to Andaz Savannah and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. My apologies that the shower head was loose and that the minibar was not restocked on one day of your visit, you are absolutely correct that those are the kinds of details that should not be overlooked!

We have a variety of upgraded room types that offer more space, but unfortunately not with two beds, where we only offer our standard queen/queen.

Thanks again, hope to see you at Andaz Savannah again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,059
    355
    78
    24
    5
See reviews for
258
832
42
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Andaz for my husband's birthday and everything about this hotel was wonderful!!!What a great hotel! Great view for our room...super friendly staff! Chef Kelly is the best! The food was soooo good! The bar had wonderful drinks! We will be back!! Can't wait to visit Andaz Savannah again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
cngregory71, thanks for your visit and your nice review. It is always great to have a local enjoy the hotel! And, last but not least, Happy Birthday to your husband! - Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Great staff and very clean and classic styles hotel. Nice room but booked thru Expedia and not the room in there picture. Located well in the historic district. Again the staff is awesome and very helpful. The city is a tightly packed mix of historic and modern building nice parks. A great place to stay if you want to relax site see and eat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Csbone, thank you for your nice review and thanks for visiting our hotel. I will have to check on that expedia picture, thanks for letting me know. All the best, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is excellent the staff needs help. We booked an Andaz Deluxe Loft-Bed & Breakfast for Friday evening, August 2nd, $304.97 plus parking. We had been attending a marine corps graduation in SC which concluded early and we arrived at the hotel at 11:30 am. We were pleasantly surprised by the congenial desk clerk who indicated that our room was ready. After a complimentary glass of wine we were shown to the room which was comfortable and clean but not elegant. We were also pleasantly surprised that the well stocked minibar was complimentary - alcohol excluded of course. We had previously booked for dinner at the Old Pink House which the helpful and courteous concierge indicted was an excellent choice. He both confirmed our dinner reservations and offered an excellent luncheon suggestion. When we checked into our room among the materials available for guest reading was a small sheet on the minibar recommending several local cocktails highlighting local products, like peach cider. We made a note to order this cocktail when we took drinks later in the day at the chic lobby bar. Before leaving for a tour of the city we called down to the desk to obtain the password for the internet. The call to the operator took 27 rings before we had an answer. We later called again to verify the location of the pool and it took 19 rings for an operator to reply. Returning to the hotel in the later afternoon thirsty and warm we stopped at the bar. After explaining to the barman about the recommended cocktail in our room he replied: "Never heard of the drink! I have never been in any room in this hotel and whatever you read must have been from the previous (prior to Hyatt) management." He then disappeared and after waiting for another ten minutes (the barman never reappeared) we left the bar and returned to our room. At 7 pm the housekeeping staff knocked on the door. Since we had just returned from the pool and we were in the process of showering we indicated that we would be leaving for dinner at 8pm and would appreciate clean towels and turn down service after our departure. They NEVER returned leaving us with wet towels for the evening and following morning. The breakfast the following morning was excellent as was the service. Upon check out the manager on duty asked about our stay. I said we had enjoyed the hotel with the exception of a few service problems. When he prompted me for specifics I provided him the above information. He apologized, indicated that this was not the service standard the Andaz sought to achieve, and he offered to comp the valet fee of $23, We did enjoy our stay and for the most part the staff was courteous and helpful. If the Andaz aspires to be one of Savannahs' premier hotels the overall staff response must improve and the bartender needs an attitude readjustment. A few thoughtful words with some alternative drink suggestions could have keep us at his bar for at least a couple rounds of drinks! Management think profit margins please. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room as the hotel is located on a square and there can be traffic noise. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
TRPTraveler, thank your for your thorough review and thank you for your stay. My apologies for the poor turndown service and bar service! The drink menu in the room is intended to give you ideas of drinks to be made with items provided in the minibar, but there is no good reason that we shouldn't share those drinks with the lobby barstaff - and they should always be pleasant regardless!

Hope to see you at Andaz Savannah again soon! - Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a room at the Andaz for a quick weekend getaway in Savannah.

We read all the reviews, and had expected a great stay, but I think it's pretty safe to say we were sorely disappointed. We were able to check-in immediately upon arriving in Savannah, around 2, which was nice. We headed up to our room on the 4th floor, and were a little surprised at how small our king sized room was. We've stayed at a number of other hotels with comparable ratings and much bigger rooms - there was little more than a 3 foot space around the bed, and a small hallway for walking space.

When we set our bags down, we saw a small roach running around, which was definitely surprising and slightly gross. We checked out the mini bar, which we'd expected to see stocked per other reviews - we must've been checked in to our room before the staff was able to restock from the previous guests, which was to our disadvantage - more on that later.

At check-in, we had been offered turn down service. During our stay, from Friday to Sunday, not only did we not receive turn down service, but housekeeping also did not clean our room. On Saturday, we had woken up and left around 9:30, and returned around 4:30 to take a break from the heat and freshen up before our dinner at the Olde Pink House, which we would've expected to be ample time to get to our room, but we were surprised to see that it had not been touched. We went out and asked housekeeping for fresh towels, in hopes that we'd shower up, go out for a nice dinner and stroll around, and when we got back, we would have received the turn down service we expected the night before and they would've had a chance to change out the towels, etc.

Not the case - I understand that they have to get to a number of rooms in a limited amount of time, but I think it's a little ridiculous to offer a turn down service, and then completely disregard an affirmative answer.

Next, the concierge - while helpful to a certain extent, I didn't really get the feeling that they were interested in helping us get to know the city or point out some interesting places to see beyond what was on the trolley tour and the tickets they were trying to get us to buy.

I will say that overall, the staff was always polite and they brought up more waters for us when we called down since our mini bar wasn't stocked when we first arrived. When we checked out, we noticed that not having our mini bar stocked prior to getting to our room came back to bite us when we were charged for all three missing bottles of liquor, which must've been removed by the previous guests. However, the front desk staff was very helpful in getting it taken off our bill before the valet even pulled the car around.

Overall, this is a nice hotel in a great location with some nice perks, including free non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, but beware the overcharging and falling shower heads. P.s. almost got knocked out twice by ours - not sure if it was simply because it wasn't in tightly, or the force of the water pressure being turned off that made it fall out of it's holster.

We really wanted to love this hotel - I'm hopeful that our next experience in Savannah will be better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
ATN613, thank you for your visit and thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry you had such a poor experience with houskeeping service and the idea of an insect in your room is just awful. I hope that if travel brings you back to Savannah that you will contact me directly so I can personally see to the details of your accomodations. Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stylish and comfortable which was perfect for our short stay in Savannah. Thr staff were very friendly and had great advice. Overall a perfect location and super hotel for exploring this beautiful historic city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
S1J2B3, thanks for the review! Hope to see you back at Andaz Savannah again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Awesome hotel!! It has a beautiful interior and amazing service. This was definitely the nicest hotel I have stayed in and the restaurant was great. Our package included 2 free breakfasts and the buffet was really great. Make sure you ask for the AAA rate of you have it :)

Room Tip: Ask for a good view or the 6th floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Brooklynne C, thank you for your visit and review! Please come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Green Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has been enhanced with a whole new hotel experience. With its artful décor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you’re ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising décor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42” flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.