We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Andaz Savannah to your Saves list
Andaz Savannah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Experience
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my partner had a lovely stay here back in 2010. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms very well furnished. It's also in a great location, centred in the famous Historic District of the city, we were in walking distance of a lot of attractions. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Sandra F, thank you for your visit from so far away and thank you for your review, come back soon! - Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    379
    84
    25
    6
See reviews for
275
867
44
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was in a great location. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Room was ready when we arrived and we were given a complimentary glass of wine while we checked in! I would definitely recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
AbbyandTom310, I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come back to Andaz Savannah again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at the Andaz in Napa a few months ago and LOVED it so knew this would be a good choice and it was. Modern and hip without being pretentious. Small things set these hotels apart - glass of wine on arrival, complementary mini bar (excluding alcohol of course), coffee station in lobby, etc. Loved the outdoor pool/sun deck and fire pit. As said by others perfect location. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
fmrtaitai, thank you for the nice review and thanks for staying with Andaz twice. Andaz Maui is getting ready to open, maybe an island trip next? - Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our second time staying at an andaz (previously AVIA) hotel. Our first stay was at the Napa location, which we thoroughly enjoyed, so when planning our trip to Savannah and saw they had a location there, we knew we had to book it. They did not let us down.

It was our first time to Savannah and when we drove through the neighborhood to get to the hotel, I immediately knew I'd love the city. The hotel is in a great location, very modern, clean, right across from Elliot Square and a few blocks from the river. Lots of shops, bars, restaurants, etc. HUGE parking deck right underneath.

The hotel lobby was beautiful as expected and it has a magnificent scent, like fresh linens and flowers. Great music playing, too! Check in was a breeze and the staff was friendly. We were offered a complimentary glass of wine upon check-in...nice touch.

Our room was on the smaller side (not sure how other Savannah hotels are size wise) but functional and well appointed. Very clean and comfortable. Great view of Elliot Square!

Terrace with pool and fire pit and bar was great. We spent a couple of ours there swimming, lounging and drinking.

Overall very pleased once again. I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends -- not only in Napa or Savannah -- but at any location. I trust that based on these experiences that their other locations would meet my expectations as well.

Another positive note - the whole staff was a huge help and very polite and patient in helping us locate a bag we had left behind after we checked out. They were very apologetic and sympathetic for not finding it sooner and shipped it to our home at their expense, which was very considerate of them. We really appreciate it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Puddles126, thanks for the nice review and thanks for staying with us! Happy all worked out with your lost item and I hope we will see you back in Savannah again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great location on Ellis Square. Room was a pleasant surprise, we had an Andaz suite and it was very thoughtfully appointed. The concierge was on point with every recommendation. The entire experience exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
lou k, thanks for the business and thanks for the review, I hope you have a chance to return to Andaz Savannah soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I chose this hotel for a quick trip to Savannah as it offered an attractive rate with a prepay, non-refundable option. Since I booked the room 2 days before arriving, I knew a non-refundable option was a safe bet. Plus, I knew all would be ok with Andaz as the reviews are overwhelmingly positive... and it didn't disappoint.

Upon arrival, we experienced superb customer service from minute one all the way until the valets waved goodbye as we drove off. It really was refreshing to have such a customer focused attitude in an affordable hotel... finally, I didn't have to pay big bucks to get the royal treatment.

Our standard room was located on the 6th floor and was very quiet. The pool and terrace were below and we had a view of the river and bridge. A top floor room with a view and we didn't have to upgrade... love it. As for decor, it's what you would expect... a dark and brooding corridor leads you to a quasi-funky room that is nicely appointed. Only complaint (and it's tiny) is the bathroom is small, stuffy and a bit dark and I wasn't too fond of the weird shower head. But, it was a standard room so I can't expect too much or complain too loudly. Room BONUS: all snacks and non-alcoholic beverages are free in your room. Finally, I'm not being nickel and dimed on a silly bottle of water!

We did use the concierge while we were there and found him to be absolutely lovely! We booked the recommended trolley tour at the desk and it was the best way to see Savannah on a compressed schedule -- just like he (I wish I remembered his name... Bruce, maybe?) told us. Also, this charming man helped me with a running route that was safe and scenic.

Location is ideal... easily accessed from the interstate and tucked away on Ellis square. It's a great launching spot for walking and touring. Plenty of food options are in the area and if you walk, run or drive around Savannah you will find this hotel is ideally located.

I would give them 4.5 stars if the rating system allowed... oh, and the barman doesn't serve the complimentary wine at check-in... he seemed a bit annoyed when we returned to the lobby for our glass and asked for it at the bar... the cranky barman must have missed the memo on customer service because he was the only one with an attitude. So, bypass Mr. Suntan at the bar and grab your glass from the front desk. Pity, we would have generously tipped if he poured our free glass...

P.S. for those of you who stay at the Hotel Monaco chain, Andaz does a good job of mimicking their model (comp wine, modern decor, super friendly) but at a more affordable price + free snacks and endless bottles of water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
ATL - travelbug, thanks for your business and thanks for your thorough review. Hope to see you at Andaz Savannah again soon! - Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was a fantastic short vacation for my wife and I. The place is very up-to-date. Friendly atmosphere. No complaints. Just up from the waterfront area and all the restaurants. We absolutely loved it and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Savannah.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Irish_Padraig, thank you very much for the kind review. Hope to see you at Andaz Savannah again soon! - Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Green Hotel in Savannah
#3 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.