We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliza Thompson House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eliza Thompson House to your Saves list
Eliza Thompson House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% Off July-August
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This Inn is in a great location in the historic Victorian district. The wine and cheese and deserts/coffee in the evening was a nice touch and the full breakfast in the courtyard patio in the mornings was fantastic! The bed was a little high but had a stairstep to get into it. I stayed in one of the courtyard rooms in back,not the main house which I think I would prefer. There are some stairs to manage so that could be an issue if you need special accomendations.

Room Tip: Back in the courtyard on the second floor would be my preference. The breakfast is right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    124
    41
    25
    8
See reviews for
78
399
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Eliza Thompson House. The staff was every welcoming and friendly. Erin and the two bellman took good care of us! The innkeeper was friendly and personable. We found the location was superb, quiet and centrally located. We were a short walk from all the city has to offer and we felt we picked the best location possible.

Our room was spacious and bright, we stayed in Eliza's master bedroom. It's the J.Stephen room with a lovely lace canopy bed, separate sitting area and lovely views of the courtyard and of jones street. The fireplace was non-working but added a nice touch in this lovely well cared for home. We loved the courtyard and being able to mingle with other guests. Beats the big box hotels any day!

Breakfast was good. We had a fantastic quiche and good biscuits. We enjoyed the grits and bacon too. Wine and cheese was good, the dessert even better (oh my chocolate cake!)
We will be back to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent only one night here. Our room was very comfortable and homey. The paintings on the walls were classic and enchanting. Our bed was high up but very comfortable. The wine and cheese at 5:30 were a plus as was a complementary dessert later on. The breakfast was good with bacon, sausage, and eggs as well as the usual things. The employees are charming notably Brandon who helped us find a parking spot. The hotel is located in the old section and convenient to all. We stayed in room 131 which is on the 2nd floor in the front and the internet there was occasionally intermittent and the signal weak. Also, there was some noise from the street at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My girlfriend. and I decided to take a road trip and go to Savannah for the weekend. We arrived at 11pm and were greeted by the staff like we were old family coming home for a visit. The rooms we had were perfect. They were spacious and quiet. Breakfast in the courtyard area was a perfect way to start the day. And drinks in the afternoon were a great way to end our day. The location is ideal with many unique shops close by that any visitor would be tempted to stimulate the local economy. It also is located in a quiet area so there is no noise that could disrupt a good night sleep. We definitely will be back with more girlfriends and maybe we'll bring the husbands too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I investigated various places to stay at in Savannah for our anniversary. It was our first experience in a bed and breakfast and we absolutely loved it. The food, service and environment were everything we were hoping it would be. It was very quiet and relaxing at night. We would definitely stay at the Eliza Thompson House again.

Room Tip: The courtyard room was very private and pretty view of the plants and Koi fish from the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Eliza Thompson House. I took my mom to Savannah for a "thank you" trip. We booked a room with two double beds. We were a little disappointed and worried when we got a street-level room - but it ended up totally fine. We were never awoken by street noise or by people going into the courtyard via the gate next to our door.

The room itself was huge, though the bathroom was small (expected and not a big deal). My nitpickiest comment is that since there aren't that many plugs in the room - at least not close to one of the beds - I wish the alarm clock was one that had a plug in it so I could put my phone there.

The breakfast was good, though we skipped it a couple of days since we'd been eating large lunches.

The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The wine and appetizers in the evening were awesome as well. And you absolutely cannot beat the location - do not stay close to the river, we greatly preferred being out in the middle of the historic district.

Overall we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently stayed at Eliza Thompson House during our visit to the wonderful city of Savannah. We spent a lot of time researching places to stay and were so happy with our choice, this place surpassed all of the great reviews and comments we read. First of all, the location is great and it's a easy walk to most attractions and places to eat. Our room was located right off of the main hallway and I was very pleasantly surprised that our room was quiet and we were not affected by the noise of other guests coming and going. Our room and beds were both very comfortable and clean. There is one improvement I would suggest, there was only one useable mirror, the one over the bathroom sink. This did make it challenging for 2 girls to get ready in the morning and evening. A floor length would help and I'm sure one could be added that was vintage and decor appropriate. We were able to take advantage of the breakfasts in the morning and the wine and cheese in the afternoons. We even made it for dessert one night. What a bonus to be able to enjoy all of this in the very lovely and tranquil courtyard. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we had no problem finding a parking spot for our car. I will recommend this b&b to all of my friends and hope that some day I will return to Savannah to stay in this lovely property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#1 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Downtown
Marshall House
Marshall House
#5 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#4 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Kehoe House
Kehoe House
#2 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House

Address: 5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Eliza Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliza Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.