We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly - Southern hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliza Thompson House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eliza Thompson House to your Saves list
Eliza Thompson House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly - Southern hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed only one wonderful night at the Eliza Thompson house while passing through Savannah on route to New Orleans. We loved the old-world charm of this place which made us feel part of Savannah's history. Beautiful and clean rooms, delicious breakfast, and we loved the wine, cheese and desserts served in the drawing room. Special mention to the friendly woman on the front desk and the helpful man who sorted out our parking - this is a place where you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    104
    40
    21
    8
See reviews for
60
336
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We would just like to thank all of the staff at the Eliza Thompson House for making our vacation a wonderful one. This was our first time in Savannah and we just thought it was beautiful. The hospitality cannot be better. We stayed in the Savannah Room in which we had our own entrance. It was located beneath the main steps. At first when I booked the room I thought it would be noisey but we did not hear a sound. The room was spacious, quiet, and clean with a little sitting area and a nice sized bathroom. The street the inn is located on is beautiful and quiet. Breakfasts were good and enough to start your day. The wine, cheese and snacks are a nice addition to your evening, also later on in the evening they have desserts and coffee. These are nice additions to your stay especially when you want to meet other travelers. The inn conveniently located to everything. Just a short walk will bring you down the river where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. If you want to stay where there is top notch service this would be the place. Thanks again to all of the staff at the Eliza Thompson House for making our vacation a memorable one.
Sandy & Howard
East Norriton, Pa (located right outside Philadelphia)

Room Tip: The Savannah Room is a nice choice if you like a little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've spent approximately six months travelling around the United States and this has been my favourite place.
Positives:
The hospitality was second to none. Kevin went above and beyond expectations.
Complimentary breakfast but especially endearing was the free wine and crackers and cheese in the afternoon. You can enjoy them in the pretty guest lounge and mingle with other guest, take them to the quaint courtyard or take it back to your room.
Rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable beds
Robes offered.
Chocolates on the pillow case at approximately 6pm were a lovely touch
Location is relatively central.
Thanks a very enjoyable experience.
Negatives.. to clutch at straws you have to pay for street parking

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the warm welcome as we arrived until the goodbye, the whole experience was excellent.
The house is full of character, and it being Savannah a number of characters stayed there too!
The room overlooked the courtyard, not large but well furnished and spotlessly clean. Peaceful at night in a very comfortable bed. Breakfast, by Virginia in the courtyard was very good. Snacks and desserts available in the front room in the evening and a chance to check out some of the other guests. Location great, plus a parking pass make it a good stop over if touring. All in all " this is the place to be".

Room Tip: All good. As far as we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this place!! Staff is super friendly and helpful! They are all just busy as bees the entire time getting things done and keeping the place in tip top condition! We met other guests at the Evening wine and cheese....and had so much fun! We actually toured each others rooms with those we met!! We got to see the R Bruce room (deluxe queen), 2 courtyard Queen rooms and our room was the "Chatham" (double queen). Our room was the largest of those we visited, The R Bruce room (supposedly haunted) was also very nice. The courtyard queen rooms were smaller but also very nice. The only drawback of the Chatham was there was only a shower, no tub in the Chatham bathroom, but certainly nothing to complain about! With the wonderful breakfasts/wine and cheese and coffee and desserts offered each morning and evening, we only had to go out to eat once per day! We always felt completely safe in this neighborhood....a flat, easy to walk 7/10 of a mile to the river....very close to Mrs. Wilkes, only a couple blocks to the Crystal Beer Parlor.....and located on the most Beautiful street in Savannah....JONES st!! We loved it here, you will too!

Room Tip: No elevators here, so if you don't like stairs, ask for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days. It is a wonderful place to stay, the atmosphere is great, an amazing staff, and a great location. Erin at the desk helped us with restaurant reservations and called Ogelthorpe tour service to have us picked up at the door to take their tour. They had good buffet breaksfasts and yes Miss Virginias biscuits and gravy were amazing. The afternoon wine and appetizers were pretty good and the evening desserts were all good, including the coffee. The guests gathered and talked about where they went and were going and it was easy to get ideas from each other about where to eat and what to see. I woud highly recommend staying here while visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

You cannot beat the location of the Eliza Thompson House. Right in the heart of the historic district....the riverfront is only a 10 minute walk and Forsythe Park very close also. Jones Street is a beautiful street. The room was very comfortable as was the bed. The breakfast was good with lots of choices and the garden where you eat breakfast is beautiful. The wine and cheese in the afternoon and dessert and coffee in the evening was a really nice touch. Very pleased by all that. The parking pass worked out great...we never once moved our car.

Room was very quiet for sleeping and staff very helpful.

Enjoyed our stay there very much. Overall I thought it was a good value for all that you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eliza Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House

Address: 5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eliza Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliza Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.