We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Optimal B&B experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliza Thompson House

Save Saved
You added Eliza Thompson House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Loganville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Optimal B&B experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovely historical building. Perfectly located for touring old Savannah. Not only was the complimentary breakfast delicious- so was the desserts served from 8-10!
As for the staff, they could not be any more accommodating.
This was my mothers first time at a B&B, and though I' glad she enjoyed it, I'm afraid the bar has now been set too high!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    95
    38
    19
    8
See reviews for
54
299
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in an unhurried location, the Eliza Thompson House is the place. The house is lovely and the staff is attentive. I stayed on the weekend with my mother. Everything you'd like to see and everything you want to do in Savannah is in walking distance.

The rooms are comfortable. Ours was on the first floor right off of the main entrance. The noise from guests was minimal even at that location. But if I have an opportunity to go back, I would request a room facing the courtyard which is lovely. It is not an inexpensive stay. But if you are looking for Southern charm, comfort, and a bit of history, you have found the right place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a small one double bed room with a bathroom that was small because it had no counter space. I guess you give up certain amenities when you stay in a "Bed and Breakfast" type hotel. I must say the price for the room was excellent so I cannot complain about the size of the room as I knew what I was getting and it was just one night. The included breakfast was wonderful and the hotel was located on a beautiful street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loysville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Eliza Thompson House is a beautiful, tranquil bed and breakfast with service that is outstanding. In addition to a nice breakfast every morning, it offers wine and delicious desserts every evening. The entrance to this quaint hotel was always staffed with a person willing to go the extra mile to meet all our needs; such as calling a trolley to take us places, giving us advice on what to see and which tours would best fulfill our desires, and the best places to find that special seafood restaurant. It is a bit expensive but a place that ensured we had the best Savannah had to offer for service, tranquility, and beauty.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Located on Jones Street about 9-10 blocks from the River. But very close to everything if you don't mind walking. Just a few doors from Mrs. Wilkes Dining and a few blocks from Forysthe Park. Trolley can pick you up in front for tours if you like. Happy hour was very nice and a lot of interaction from the guests. We had guests from as far away as Austria.

Room Tip: Slept in room 134 overlooking the courtyard. large high bed, tv, 4 piece bath. Lots of stairs, up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a great place and a wonderful B&B. Close to a lot of historic places in Savannah. The are many eating places very close. We had great meals at Clarys. The cheese and wine hours in the evening were a good place to meet with other visitors and exchange ideas as to where to go and what to do.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room and it is a great upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Kentucky
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time to Savannah for a couple of nights. Prefer B & B's over hotels. The exterior of the Eliza Thompson House is very attractive. The inside is another story. This business needs a real deep cleaning. It could be spectacular with a good updating. The parlor couch and chairs need replacing. The carpeting is dirty and worn. The courtyard could be amazing, but it is drab with ground in dirt. A good power washing on the exterior stairs would be a good start. Then power wash the pavers. Two complaints about our room: 1/ The carpet needs replacing. 2/ The air conditioner does not work properly and is very annoying. This place could be brought back to glory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eliza Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House

Address: 5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Family Hotel in Savannah
#39 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Eliza Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliza Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.