We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savannah B&B's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliza Thompson House

Save Saved
You added Eliza Thompson House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #5 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Savannah B&B's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Located on Jones Street about 9-10 blocks from the River. But very close to everything if you don't mind walking. Just a few doors from Mrs. Wilkes Dining and a few blocks from Forysthe Park. Trolley can pick you up in front for tours if you like. Happy hour was very nice and a lot of interaction from the guests. We had guests from as far away as Austria.

Room Tip: Slept in room 134 overlooking the courtyard. large high bed, tv, 4 piece bath. Lots of stairs, up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    93
    34
    18
    8
See reviews for
51
294
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a great place and a wonderful B&B. Close to a lot of historic places in Savannah. The are many eating places very close. We had great meals at Clarys. The cheese and wine hours in the evening were a good place to meet with other visitors and exchange ideas as to where to go and what to do.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room and it is a great upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Kentucky
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time to Savannah for a couple of nights. Prefer B & B's over hotels. The exterior of the Eliza Thompson House is very attractive. The inside is another story. This business needs a real deep cleaning. It could be spectacular with a good updating. The parlor couch and chairs need replacing. The carpeting is dirty and worn. The courtyard could be amazing, but it is drab with ground in dirt. A good power washing on the exterior stairs would be a good start. Then power wash the pavers. Two complaints about our room: 1/ The carpet needs replacing. 2/ The air conditioner does not work properly and is very annoying. This place could be brought back to glory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent two nights in Savannah at this delightful inn. Service with a smile. Everyone went above and beyond to make us comfortable and have an enjoyable stay inside and outside of the inn. Arrangements for reservations, transportation, and sightseeing were made for us which simplified our visit. Breakfast and hors d'oeuvres were excellent and the restful courtyard was a great place to relax. Clean, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Elizah Thompson House is nestled on a beautiful , quiet Savannah street. When we arrived I felt I had stepped back into a kinder ,more genteel era. The house is beautiful. The antique furnishes in the main room drip with history A well trained staff is anxious to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They are friendly, attentive, and informative. Rooms are well appointed and very clean.
Yummy breakfast! The wine reception is held in the main room but you can enjoy your wine and appetizers in the lush courtyard. Each evening tasty desserts and coffee are served. The wine and dessert provide a vehicle to meet other travelers.
A hidden gem away from the bustle but close enough to walk to points of interest.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the accommodations. How peaceful to look out on the courtyard which contains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited the Eliza Thompson House in April 2013. We arrived at 11:15 pm after a long flight from California. We really appreciated the cheerful and helpful assistance of the night clerk Dave, who helped with the room, parking etc. The Inn is beautiful, the rooms very good. The breakfasts are buffet style but quite good, in a beautiful garden courtyard setting. We also appreciated the evening hors d'oervres and wine, and then the later coffee and desert offerings. Although we had to move twice in three nights due to a leak in the upstairs unit bathroom, the staff were incredibly prompt, helpful and cheerful. Sheila, the Inn Keeper, was very helpful and friendly, as were the front desk assistants. The Inn's location is great, on a traditional hanging moss old southern style neighborhood, near some of the prime locations for the "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" film. Easy walking distance to all the major historic and cultural sites in town. Recommend you obtain the 48 hour parking pass from the Inn. Street parking is not a major issue. We also recommend an a.m. trolley tour of the town to best orient yourself; sit on the left side of the trolley for the best park views to take photos. We highly recommend this Inn. If you are fascinated with the Spanish Moss, as we were, you can pick it direct from the tree - but do not pick it off the ground due to chiggers, they are not friendly little creatures.

Room Tip: For us, we prefer a lower level room for convenience, but some of the larger suites are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was one of the best values we have ever experienced in accommodations. The rooms were lovely and the staff was exceptional. A special shut out to Kevin. Breakfasts and cocktails were really something to look forward to. Would highly recommend for a great Savannah experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard garden room? They do not have a swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eliza Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House

Address: 5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#10 Family Hotel in Savannah
#40 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Eliza Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliza Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.