We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliza Thompson House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eliza Thompson House to your Saves list
Eliza Thompson House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Central Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great place. This was a return trip for us and we'll return next time we visit Savannah. The location is perfect. Located in the heart of the historic district. Within an easy walk of all the major attractions. The staff does a wonderful job in helping with any questions or special requests you may have.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    100
    39
    21
    8
See reviews for
60
326
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed only two nights here and really love the place. It was located on the most beautiful street and convenient to all the squares in Savannah. We didn't really need a car and parked on the street for $12. We found the staff to be very nice and attentive. Wine and cheese in the afternoon and great desserts in the evening. All in a beautiful old and well maintained B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A true gem! This was our first visit to Savannah and we could not have asked for a more perfect place. The staff was friendly and very helpful in advising us about restaurants, tours and things to do. Room was spotless and nicely decorated. We had a wonderful time here and would love to return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Eliza Thompson House. The hotel was in a great location on a beautiful street, near several of the squares. We walked everywhere. The hotel staff was also very courteous and the rooms were clean. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our annual trip to discover USA with 3 other couples was planned for St. Patrick's Day in Savannah. Great location on a beautiful historic street- close to Parade route, away from riverfront. Staff is very helpful, rooms are pleasant (bath was small), wine and cheese late in afternoon and desserts offered at night. Located on a beautiful street in a lovely city. Pretty pricey on this busy weekend, but all the rooms were on this weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Two years ago, we were traveling with 3 other couples and stayed 4 days. It was wonderful so we decided to stay there again this year while traveling with two other couples. While we were still delighted with the overall visit, we did notice some decline. while Ms Virginia is still a wonderful cook, the menu was limited from before and we found the food just ordinary which is not at all what we experienced our first visit. We were so tired of variations of egg casserole and in need of fresh fruit that we chose to go out for breakfast our last two days. Instead of the great desserts that were served two years ago, the desserts served were of the kind that comes for Costco or Sams club. The staff , with the exception of Kevin,was not overly accommodating or friendly. No one spoke to us unless we spoke first and no one ( again Kevin being the exception) asked how we were doing or if we needed anything. a couple of examples of poor service and management . . .one of our party went to the kit henette looking for glasses. A staff member was at the counter sky ping on her cell phone and did not even acknowledge him. Another member of our party heard the manager speaking very loudly and angrily about the number of bottles of wine that was ordered that month. I was told by other members of our party that two different managers were on site at different times but did not speak to any one other than staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location and quality room? Check. Evening wine and desserts? Check. Great breakfast in a wonderful space and friendly, helpful staff? Yup. And on the prettiest street in town. Savannah really was this place. Stay here.

Room Tip: Lee room was perfect, with a wonderful view of Jones Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eliza Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House

Address: 5 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#14 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eliza Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliza Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.