We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ballastone Inn to your Saves list
Ballastone Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 East Oglethorpe Avenue, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Warm & accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Ballastone Inn and found it a comfortable place to visit. The accommodations had a good mix of old character with modern conveniences. The public rooms were comfortable and allowed for a variety of settings. The breakfast was very tasty and served by friendly staff. The afternoon tea had a flavorful mix of snacks to go with it. The evening wine could be a bit nicer if it wasn't necessary to charge by the glass. We enjoyed the port when we returned to the Inn after dinner. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. When we checked out I had left my cell phone in our room. The staff did a good job of getting it shipped to me quickly. We'll return to Ballastone on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    49
    22
    14
    11
See reviews for
32
316
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We found Ballastone beyond our best expectations. The accommodations were lovely - great combination of character and history, and total comfort (unbelievably great mattresses and bedding, terrific scented soaps and creams, pure comfort!)

The people were lovely, helpful, kind, funny and nice. We got help with packing our stuff (gift of packing materials), good advice, and more.

Would love a few higher end wines at the bar (OK, prob'ly asking a lot since they have to keep the bottles open). But the fruited water all day, and the high tea and hors d'oevres were great to come home to, and the breakfasts fabulous.

Try, though, to avoid the courtyard rooms if the Inn isn't full; early breakfasters in the courtyard can be less than quiet....

Room Tip: higher up if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was completely impressed by this charming little B&B. It's setup like a really old home, with a variety of accomodations, from large suites to little bedrooms. All appear to have a bathroom too. This place has been fitted with all the modern conveniences, including elevator, fire escape stairs, modern plumbing, etc... The downstairs area features a large parlour, with a bar, and a little dining room. Breakfast is top-notch, all served by very polite & charming locals. Happy hour was fun too. Lots of food and drink with your fellow travelers. I would stay here again. Savanah is a very noisy town. There always seems to be lots of tree trimming activities, as well as the requisite loud tree branch shredder machine. Lots of construction too. It can be noisy.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front of the house. The back alley features lots of heavy trucks rumbing back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ballastone Inn for an anniversary/birthday celebration. We were impressed from the moment we arrived and met friendly and helpful Melissa. The room we stayed in, the Palmetto Fan, featured a King sized bed, comfortable sitting area, and a gas fireplace. The room is large but still cozy and very clean. The bathroom was also large and modern. Each morning we were served a delicious hot breakfast (pancakes and sausage with fruit the first morning, eggs, bacon and grits with fruit the second) in one of the beautiful common rooms. The location is excellent because it is in a quiet neighborhood a few blocks away from the touristy river areas but close enough to walk to all the sights. The inn is a splurge but definitely worth it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have large windows with natural light. Palmetto Fan faces a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Alabama, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Ballastone Inn is located perfectly to everything that Savannah offers. Wonderful for walking to and activities. The employees were wonderful. You could not have asked for any better...each and every one of them. The Inn is beautiful and the breakfast was great. Excellent all around!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Ballastone Inn exceeded my expectations, not an easy feat. The location is fabulous. You can park behind the inn and never use your car until you leave. Everything is within walking distance. The staff is friendly and accommodating. They do everything they can to help you have a wonderful visit. The rooms are comfortable and the amenities are first class.

I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor or above the lobby are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples Fl, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent staff. Great location. We stayed for three nights in the Mulberry Tulips room, which was big, comfortable and well appointed. It is a grand old building. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Parking is a bit of a challenge. If you plan to get around by car buy a parking sticker from the con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Address: 14 East Oglethorpe Avenue, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballastone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.