We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bringing the history and culture of Savannah to life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Explore Savannah

Explore Savannah
Savannah, GA (Yamacraw Village)
(912) 507-9144
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bringing the history and culture of Savannah to life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Bobby met us outside our hotel taking the stress out of finding our way to the starting point. He brought the history and culture of this beautiful city to life for us, making it a highlight of our vacation. The 2 hour walking tour went so fast we were keen to continue exploring Savannah so Bobby recommended historic houses to visit and where to go for ice cream, breakfast and dinner (all great). Thanks to Bobby we had a wonderful and memorable visit to Savannah. We also have photos of the both us together, the only ones with both of us from our holiday, thanks to Bobby's thoughtfulness. We highly recommend contacting Bobby for your tour of Savannah.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    23
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A must do in Savannah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are ever in Savannah we recommend that you find yourself 2 free hours to spend with Bobby, you will not regret it. From the moment we met Bobby he made us feel comfortable and entertained us with many stories about Savannah. He showed us all the 'must visit' places and even gave us tips for our next destination. Given it is our first visit to the southern states, we particularly enjoyed learning many southern expressions. Bobby is a true southern gentleman, who genuinely cares about the people (and dogs) he shares his city with. This is the best tour that we have ever done and would definitely come back again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Savannah Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent an incredibly fun morning with Bobby. He answers emails really fast so it was easy to book. He sent info in advance with suggestions of attractions and places to eat which was great too. He met us in front of our rental unit which was great that we didn't have to figure out where to go. Bobby is very engaging and very funny. He is the closest thing to touring with Robin Williams that one could find. We loved him! He reads people well, connects well and has an endless repertoire of stories and interesting historical facts. We learned so much. He's very concerned for your safety and comfort too, a true southern gentleman. The time just flies by. No dozing off on this tour. It's too interesting. His energy is contagious. We hated to have it end. If he was still talking, we'd still be out there following him. He's not full of himself either. Teasing aside he's a very good man, a very humble man. I was really touched by the way he interacts with custodians in the parks, the homeless and everyone on the street. I loved how inclusive he was to everyone we came in contact with. He sent us pics afterwards and a thank you note. Pleasing his guests is very important to him. And if he ever gets tired of tours, he should consider stand up comedy! We've been using his expressions and laughing about our new memories all afternoon. It was such a wonderful tour. Thanks, Bobby!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bobby Davis is masterful! He is so knowledgeable and fun to be with. He even taught this Yankee to "speak Southern". I've already recommended him to friends who are heading this way next month.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was the best walking tour ever. Bobby is not only extremely knowledgeable about Savannah but he has stories and Southern sayings that kept us entertained the whole time. He explained everything about the historic district and how it developed over the centuries and how the area was involved in the Civil War and before. I would highly recommend any tour with Bobby for new or repeat visitors to Savannah.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore Savannah also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Explore Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explore Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.