We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next year, in Savannah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mickve Israel Temple

Mickve Israel Temple
Monterey Square, 20 East Gordon Street, Savannah, GA 31402-0816
+1 912-233-1547
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Third oldest congregation and only neo-gothic Jewish sanctuary in the U. S.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Next year, in Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband is Jewish and had no interest in visiting, but I insisted we go. He was so happy I made him go! This place is beautiful. A gothic temple - how odd! Our tour guide, Annette, was very engaging and entertaining. She encouraged questions and had all the answers - but beware - she also asks YOU questions :) Get there at the beginning of the tour times - it's not stated that they start right at 10 or 2, but it seemed that way - people came in later than that, and had to catch up. Jews in Savannah. Who knew? It's a reformed temple, but we were both a little unnerved that you can go up on the Bimah (Altar) and then when Annette opened the Ark... I'm not Jewish and I was a bit surprised. Husband says every temple is different. The upstairs is a small VERY interesting museum with a Torah from the 1600s or so. Don't miss this one!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    55
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you like Catholic Cathedrals, you should also visit Mickve Temple. The temple is beautiful and the docent excellent. Donation was $6 per person for a visit. We (17 people) really enjoyed the museum and Torahs on deerskin. Excellent history lesson for all ages. A must see in Savannah.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic Docent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was fascinated by the "Christian" style of architecture for the Mickve Israel Temple. Neither my wife or I are Jewish but we were intrigued enough to learn more about the building, as well as, the congregation. With an entry fee of only $5, it was an easy decision to take a tour. It was also money well spent!
The docent was excellent! She explained with enthusiasm and passion the history of the Jews in Savannah. She also had a humorous side that made the tour fun. All the questions that my wife and asked were well received and answered.
Photography is allowed for those that like to take pictures.
As we were leaving, we mentioned to the person at the desk that we were very impressed with our guide. She told us how she found all the docents to have a zeal for what they do. We ended up by having a wonderful conversation with her too!
A terrific learning experience with great people!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First Jews here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This Temple is georgeous. The story of the Jews and the part they played in the settling of the south and even Monticello is very interesting. An unlikely story brought to light here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Private tour just before closing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at Mickve Israel at 3:30 Friday hoping to catch a tour of the sanctuary and the little museum. We were taken around by a volunteer congregant, heard a taped intro in the sanctuary, visited the little museum and heard some of the history of the congregation. Interesting to know that Jews have been part of Savannah's history since 1733. We'll worth a visit and a nominal donation.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickve Israel Temple also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Mickve Israel Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mickve Israel Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.