We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Temple through Yankee Eyes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mickve Israel Temple

Mickve Israel Temple
Monterey Square, 20 East Gordon Street, Savannah, GA 31402-0816
+1 912-233-1547
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Third oldest congregation and only neo-gothic Jewish sanctuary in the U. S.
Merrick, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Southern Temple through Yankee Eyes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Mickve Israel is a beautiful temple. Surprisingly it is gothic-styled, shaped like a cathedral. From the outside one would not think it is a Jewish temple, unless one saw the "Shalom, Y'All" sign. The tour was led by a very knowledgeable docent, who willingly answered all questions. The museum had interesting artifacts.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    55
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Shalom ya'll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very unusual Gothic(?) style temple. Beautiful sanctuary and interesting little museum. They have tours but I don't know when.
I am sure that you will be welcome with open arms if you want to attend Reform service Fri night or Sat morning. You might even get invited for a meal in the dining hall afterwards. Jewish food festival usually in late October is always a hit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A fascinating and relaxing 45 minutes in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was so glad I decided to go on this tour. I had wondered if I should, as I'm not Jewish (though I have Jewish ancestors and am very interested to learn more about Judaism), but was made to feel thoroughly welcome the minute I arrived. The synagogue is incredibly beautiful and there was something very moving about being there. The combination of a recorded extract (which kind of brought it to life and gave a sense of what a service might be like) and the obvious knowledge and enthusiasm of our docent made the 45 minutes fly by. The museum upstairs is equally fascinating.
This made my day!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“gorgeous synagogue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great hour-long tour of a breathtakingly beautiful synagogue. Docent was very knowledgeable; history of the congregation is quite interesting. I would highly recommend doing this!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Savannah's Jewish history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The tour's docent was very knowledgeable and they had very interesting artifacts ranging from a 700 year old deer skin Torah to a letter from George Washington and the original Girl Scout cookie recipe.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickve Israel Temple also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Mickve Israel Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mickve Israel Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.