We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutey Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Absolutey Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

My wife, daughter, future son in law and myself made a trip down to Savannah on December 26th for five days. The purpose of our trip was to fiinalize plans for my daughters wedding there in July.
I booked the hotel thru Priceline as part of a package. The hotel was excellent, all the staff from the maids to the front desk were very friendly, the two women running the breakfast each morning were excellent as well as the breakfast. Each mornng there were eggs, hot biscuits, bacon, sausage, fruit ,donuts, cereals and make your own waffles. The hotel was very busy with the holidays but all moved smoothly. Our room was very nicely decorated and rather large with two Queen beds and was spotless every day after maid service.

The pool was spotless and was so warm it was like a giant hot tub! The gym was small but all the equipment worked well and it was very clean and well maintained. The parking garage below the hotel was small and a little tight but we parked the car when we arrived and had no need for it as the hotel was in an excellent location. We walked every where the entire stay and at a modest leisurely pace we were at Bay St and River St in 10 to 12 minutes. I do not know how anyone could take 30 minutes to get there at a brisk pace???? , we ate at some excellent restaurants, a little tip for those who may stay here, very close to the hotel is a restaurant just across Liberty st. to the left behind a bank its called The Distillery. It worked out great one evening that we had some light rain and it was a very short walk. The food and drinks were very good. Our weather the rest of the time was fantastic! record high temps of 81 to 82 degrees in December! All in all we had a tremendous time in Savannah, finalized all our plans and can not wait to return!

  • Liked — very well run
  • Disliked — No out door pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    291
    51
    16
    16
See reviews for
212
281
21
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend trip in November. The hotel is relatively new, which is evident in the tasteful and contemporary furnishings of the hotel and rooms. Our room was pretty small but the bathroom was a good size. We were very impressed with the room furnishing decor and bedding, the duvet and bed was plush and the bed included decorative pillows!

Unfortunately, we didn't get to try breakfast but being a sweet tooth, I was pleasantly treated with fresh, warm cookies in a cookie basket at the check-in counter (they go quick!).

Service was friendly. Parking is extra but is conveniently located across the street from the hotel in a City parking garage for $10 a night. The garage car entrance is easily missed around the corner on a different street, but the pedestrian entrance to/from the garage to the hotel entrance face each other across a quiet street.

Overall location of the hotel is not as ideal as other hotels as it is on the border of the Savannah Historic District and the immediate surrounding area on one side of the hotel looked abandoned and it is about 10-15 minutes walk to areas with activity (I would not feel safe walking alone at night).

It was however, the best mid-priced hotel I could find during our stay around the area. We were not deterred from exploring at night and we simply took took our car and drove to the very lively Bay/River Street area. There are plenty of parking facilities there, although finding a space could be a challenge. When we were there, we found a lone spot on the very top floor of another City parking garage (good luck finding street parking!). Parking was cheap we thought, we paid $3 (don't remember for how long though).

Overall good experience and would consider staying there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, decor
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new smyrna beach florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

Really comfortable, clean, good value. On the edge of historic area and a nice walk to sights.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

We stayed here because of the Tripadvisor reviews & because it cost enough less than the hotels closer to River Street to be worth the walk. Even though we are old folks we never mind a 15 minute or so walk & in Savannah it is always interesting if you just vary the route. The basement parking ($10 with in & out) is incredibly tight but we had no problem finding a place whenever we came back. The rooms were almost new as was furniture. Breakfast was somewhat better than many hotels throw out.

Unless someone else gives one of those occasional bargains we would stay here next time.

  • Liked — Clean & new
  • Disliked — Location, though not bad
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Suites is a little farther away from the Historic District, Citty Market, and River ST (shopping) then they would have you believe. It is a good 35-45 minute walk (and that's hoofing it) down to River Street. The rooms are very clean and the hotel seems fairly new. Our problem was the maid service was terrible. She pretty much refused to help with the room at all. We ran out of toilet paper (wasn't replaced) we had one clean towel, some of the garbage would be emptied but not all, I did most of the cleaning made the beds etc so she didn't even bother to straighten anything at all. I left towels on the floor because they were dirty to give her the "hint" to take them and she left them there and still didn't give us new ones. Come to think of it, other than emptying trash that was about it. The cost is the same as a Marriott or many others so I expected better service. Almost everyone there was pretty nice except a male concierge that had quite the attitude. The parking garage below the hotel is a joke. It only holds about 10 cars. The one across the street is fine and they do validate but they charge you $10.00 to do this and the parking is only $5 a day. Hmm? Don't let them know you have a car and just park it yourself and save a few bucks.

  • Liked — Most of the staff were nice
  • Disliked — The maid service was terrible and not good for people with disabilities.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We choose the Country Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District based on its price, being new and the fact that we don't mind walking a little more than many of the other properties closer to Bay or River street. We probably paid 30% less by staying here. compared to closer comparable properties. Also, we saw taxi's and pedi-cabs around if the walk is of concern.
This property had all the amenities that you would expect. In room mini-fridge, micro, work area, etc. Not a huge room, but great for 2 people. Everthing appeared next to new, bed was comfortable, and outside noise was minimal. There was a small indoor pool on the second floor, along with an adequate gym area. B'fast was OK, nothing special but included in rate.
Parking under the hotel itself was limited and quite tight. if you have a larger car or truck, I would use the adjacent parkade, right across a narrow side street. We always found room underneath both days. The positive of that was the direct elevator from the parking to the floor you stay on.
As far as the distance to Bay street, I think it was a 12-15 minute steady walk. We felt safe, never were approached by street vendors, nor hustled for hand outs. You are a few minutes from the trolley tours and the Savannah museum, a big plus.
We really liked Savannah, will return someday, and would consider this Country Inn & Suites once again.

  • Liked — Newer property.
  • Disliked — No outdoor pool.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

I had researched and read reviews about the hotel. I was worried about the location. It's in the Historic District and I haven't been to Savannah in 20 years so I wasn't sure of what to expect. Most reviews were good but I was still worried.

The room was very nice. The staff was nice. The breakfast was good (cereals, yogurt, fruit, eggs, bacon, biscuits, fix-it-yourself waffles, coffee, juice, milk). The AC worked--much better than some we have stayed in.

Parking under the garage is for small/compact vehicles. The entrance is also the exit. It holds, maybe, 10 vehicles. There's no where to turn around, you have to drive in reverse back to the location that you came in, in order to get out.

Parking across the street was OK. It was automatically charged to the hotel room ($10). It is a city garage so if you park after 5PM (and before 7AM) it's easy to find a place on the side facing the hotel and it really is a VERY short walk. However, don't leave and come back after 8AM expecting to park close again. I didn't see an elevator. There's about enough room for 2 vehicles to pull up to the door to load luggage. So...if you are lucky, stay parked and roll your luggage to your car in the garage. As long as you are on the 1st level, there are not stairs. Don't let the parking garage "thing" discourage your stay.

  • Liked — Rooms were very clean.
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Address: 320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
#38 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District is the perfect spot for travelers looking to explore all the Historic Savannah has to offer. Located within walking distance to all of Savannah's historical treasures, guests can take advantage of what truly is a walking city. From our beautifully appointed guest rooms to our comfortable and inviting public areas, guests will have the perfect location to begin a memory making experience in this truly unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites - Savannah Historic
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic Hotel Savannah
Country Inn Savannah
Savannah Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.