We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the trick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Windermere, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Did the trick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at the Andaz last time in Savannah, and that's a chic, romantic hotel. But for a budget girls weekend away, the Country Inn served our purposes well. The lobby is really, really nice. The service is incredible. I'd especially like to thank a young man whose name, I think, is Quincy Jones. He actually ran over to the parking lot a block away to help me, and was incredibly gracious about my being an idiot. I doubt he even told his manager how he went out of his way to help. All the front-desk folks were nice too. The rooms were fine. Mine had two queen beds. It was huge, with a nothing view and meh decor, but I wasn't in Savannah to sit in a hotel room. Add in free breakfast and free WiFi, and you have a good total package with prices among the lowest in the historic district (unless you're going icky-budget, which I wasn't).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Rudy Lynn"

Thank you for acknowledging Quincy for his hospitality. We are honored to have him on our team and thrilled that you were satisfied with your accommodations and service. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    291
    51
    16
    16
See reviews for
212
281
21
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, NC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic is a wonderful place to stay and enjoy all that the historic district has to offer. We were greeted by friendly efficient employees throughout our visit. One of the friendliest and most helpful employees was Sonya, making sure we had the best breakfast each morning! Thanks Sonya!

Rich and Sharon
North Carolina

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Country Inn & Suites-Savannah Historic for your lodging needs. Sonya loves interacting with our guests, and judging from your comments she played a huge part in your overall experience. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway from the kids. I wasn't sure about the location since my husband booked it, but it turned out to be a rather nice place to stay. We stayed on the 5th floor. The room had two flat screen televisions...one in the bedroom and the living area. The bathroom needs a slight upgrade with an improved shower head and it looked like a tiny part of the tile wall had been either touched up or was peeling. However, the bathroom was super clean and I never ran out of hot water. The people who worked there were really nice and helpful. Breakfast was served downstairs every morning and I loved having that convenience. I recommend sticking to the waffles. My husband liked the coffee, but I am picky. A 10 minute walk gets you to a Starbucks and there are some local coffee places, too. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk to the river. So, there was a lot to see in between the hotel and the river. We booked a ghost tour at the Sowell-Reed House and it was a very quick 4 minute walk. We even did a carriage tour and got a $3 discount of off each ticket by booking it at the front desk. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
It sounds like you and your husband had a wonderful time in the great city of Savannah. We appreciate you sharing all the discounts and information you discovered throughout your trip with potential guests. We appreciate the feedback and would love the chance to earn your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

You get better customer service at a Cracker Barrel. The reception representative (Sherry) was NOT hospitable and showed no interest in guests or visitors. Even the Concierge have the impression that they just did not want to be there. Not even a simple "Hello".

Housekeeping was the only "Good morning" we got. Beds were hard on the back but clean. Will not return and will pay more for happier people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Danny D;

I am sorry to hear that you felt unwelcomed at our facility. This truly comes as a surprise as we consider our staff members one of our greatest assets. Please be assured that I will look into this issue further as we strive to deliver exceptional customer service and hospitality to each and every guest at the Country Inn & Suites-Savannah Historic. My deepest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

great value for money considering hotel is in historic district of Savannah which pushes the prices up well appointed suite staff helpful & courteous, breakfast not the greatest but adequate.
Would definately use again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear kildavaig:
Thank you for choosing Country Inn & Suites-Savannah Historic for your lodging needs. I regret that our breakfast options did not meet your expectations. We are continuously working on ways to enhance our guest experience and perception. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here! The location was great, the staff was VERY friendly, and the hotel is beautiful and clean. One of the best parts of our stay was meeting Sonya who works in the breakfast area. She was such a sweet and helpful lady, and really kept the breakfast area clean! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Lisa W;

Sonya will be delighted that you remembered her, and that she impacted your stay so positively. I love the fact that you included your picture as I remember seeing and speaking with you a few times while you were on property. We appreciate the 5 star rating and hope that you will share your experience and recommend Country Inn & Suites-Savannah Historic with friends and family that have an interest in the Savannah area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is not located in the heart of the action, but the location worked very well for us. The city is easily walkable and there are some treasures within a couple blocks. Our room was on the 4th floor and the elevator service was very good never a wait. The room was clean, light and bright but had some deferred maintenance such as caulking for the tub/shower etc. The bed was wonderful, the sleep index is off the charts. Comfortable front room with a second television.The front desk staff was terrific- sharp and very helpful. We did find that Concierge was not to be relied upon completely. They did not help us with discounts that we could have enjoyed on tours (i.e. AAA and AARP)- they were only 2 great and 2 duds on restaurant recommendations, and when I asked about one place that they had not mentioned she responded "it is quite good but you might find it expensive" ???not certain what she meant. Breakfast was quite good, very well maintained and wonderful friendly staff. The peach/strawberry water at the front desk is a great touch. For the price we paid we could not have asked for much more.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was very quiet and safe feel. Also, park across the street in the garag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Richard D;

I am so sorry to hear that the concierge service did not meet your standards as they typically exceed expectations when it comes to referrals and intricate details about the Savannah area. Nonetheless; we view guest comments as our number one source in locating areas in which we can improve. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Address: 320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
#38 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District is the perfect spot for travelers looking to explore all the Historic Savannah has to offer. Located within walking distance to all of Savannah's historical treasures, guests can take advantage of what truly is a walking city. From our beautifully appointed guest rooms to our comfortable and inviting public areas, guests will have the perfect location to begin a memory making experience in this truly unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites - Savannah Historic
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic Hotel Savannah
Country Inn Savannah
Savannah Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.