We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Land O Lakes, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and I enjoyed every minute of our visit to Savannah and this hotel. I was a little worried since it was our first visit to the city and wasn't sure where to stay site unseen. The property was very nice, the check in/check out very friendly and speedy. The breakfast was great. Loved the location, close to the visitors center and trolley stops. My son loved the indoor pool after a long day of exploring. I would 100 % stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are honored to be chosen for your first trip to the great city of Savannah. Moreover we are glad to hear that you would choose us again. We look forward to welcoming you to our happy family of guests that come again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    269
    48
    14
    14
See reviews for
202
255
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wow. Alright, so hubby and I decide to take a quick get-away (one night) sans kiddos and choose Savannah, Ga. I was pretty bummed about the high hotel prices until I came across this gem. Country Inn is getting a major overhaul including a new tag line "I love this country" and boy, we did!! We were shocked to step into an absolutely beautiful hotel. It felt quite high-end. We were greeted by Sherri at the front desk who was incredibly sweet and helpful. Our room was spotless and roomy and we were in it not but 10 minutes when Sherri called to see if it was to our liking. Say what??!! Bonus points. We enjoyed Savannah so much we decided to stay for an extra night. We then spoke to Patrick at the front desk and not only did he give us a cheaper rate than night one (which was already a mere $80-something), but upon check-out, the first night was changed to the new cheaper price as the night before!! Of course, we were thrilled. Breakfast was nice. Our first morning we came down about 9:30am and that seemed to be when EVERYONE decided to come down! It was pretty crazy. The food was delicious, but kept running out. The kitchen staff worked quickly to re-fill everything. **Here's a secret, if the breakfast area is jammed packed for seating, then just go out through the additional dining hall (you can eat there as well) and walk outside to a very private cozy outdoor courtyard! We loved it. The one thing that really stood out to us, however, was the housekeeping staff. They were incredibly friendly always smiling and greeting us. One night upon walking in, a housekeeper waved to us from across the lobby. We just felt as if we'd been staying there a month and everyone knew us! They also have cookies and lemonade at 5pm in the lobby, but we missed out both times on that as they go fast. The entire staff at this hotel had a genuine friendliness about them and we will be back to stay here as soon as we can!!
Oh, and it's about a 10 minute walk to main historic stuff. Not bad at all if you don't mind walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Country Inn & Suites-Savannah Historic. You really touched on every encounter and aspect of your trip. Our staff is truly engaged with our brand and it's motto. We all love to interact with our guests and take both the creative criticism and compliments to heart. We hope to see you in the near future, and thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very close to the historic downtown sites, tourist center and trolley tours. It's just 10-15 minutes walking to City Market and the River. Staff is warm, courteous and helpful ( very Southern). The daily buffet breakast is also very good and the food staff are very warm and hardworking. Would stay again if we'll be in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My cousin and I spent 2 nights at this hotel. The front desk staff and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is $12 parking there. You can either go under the hotel or across the street in public parking. The price is the same. Under the hotel parking very small and I opted for across the street. They serve warm cookies at 5pm and also had delicious water served with a variety of fruits inside. Really refreshing. The breakfast is good and they have comfy beds. The location was great and we walked from their to many locations. The hotel is literally right off of I16 at exit 167B. We also did a private tour and the tour guide picked us up right in front of hotel. The have a concierge that can give you info and call to help make reservations if you need. They are in process of updating this location per the management. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Admittedly, we had a very rocky start to our vacation, including the check-in nightmare. But immediately things were handled professionally and graciously by the staff, esp. the manager (she even left a little goodie box in our room to apologize for all the mix-ups). Everyone who we dealt with was helpful and pleasant. The breakfast in the morning was made up a good selection of items. The wonderful lady in the kitchen tried to have a slightly different choice of hot items every day. The breakfast area seemed adequate and was not overly crowded as many hotels are. We were pleased to see a washer and dryer, as we had already been on the road for days. Our room was very nice- very much worth the cost. This hotel is perfectly located- the Savannah visitor center is practically across the street, everything is within walking distance, yet far enough away from all the tourist traffic to be a little more quiet. Take advantage of some of the closer restaurants, we found them to be of better quality and not as crowded as the ones closer to the river. Only a couple of complaints: the pool, much smaller than it appears in ad pics and very cold. Literally put my foot in and promptly went back to my room. Was looking forward to a relaxing swim after walking the city all day. The housekeeping, for the most part was ok, but the bathroom floor looked as if were hardly ever swept. The same hair and dust-bunnies from the previous guests remained in the same spot during our entire stay. But the rest of the room was very well kept. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
My apologies for the problem you experienced at check in. We are so excited to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit at the Country Inn & Suites-Savannah Historic, and plan to stay with us again.
-Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Booked a two queen bed for June 30-July 2 through Booking.com.We called when we arrived in town on the 30th to request early check-in.We were informed that check-in is at 4 p.m. So we checked in at 4 and unpacked.Went for dinner and returned.The parking on-site in insufficient and parking across the street is $12 a day.If you fail to return the badge that allows you to park across the street,$25 will be charged to you.
On Monday,July 1, we went to Tybee Island for half a day.Returned to the hotel at 1:30 and room service had not cleaned our room.So my girlfriend's 15 year old daughter went to get fresh towels while my girlfriend was showerering and I was doing laundry(Beachtowels and Swimsuits).
The housekeeper required the 15 yr. old to sign for the towels.I thought that was odd and found the hosekeeper to inform her that we would be leaving shortly for the afternoon.She assured me that she would clean our room.I went to get the laundry and updated our status with the housekeeper.Told her we would be leaving in about 20 minutes.Then when we were leaving I informed the housekeeper we were "out of her way". We returned that night at 10:00 p.m. to discover,you guessed it,no attempt whatsoever had been performed.I had to go to the desk after a long day,and following up with the housekeeper three times, and request our room be attended to.The person at the desk showed the signature of the 15 yr. old girl declining room service,she thought she was signing for towels.They sent two people to clean,replace towels and empty garbage at 10:30 p.m. In the process of clening the bathroom counter,one of the housekeepers broke two bottles of perfume.We were not charged for parking.Kai agreed that a minor should not be requested to sign anything at the hotel.I was told the general Manager would contact one of us.That hasn't happened!!!!
This is my second attempt to post this review.For some reason it didn't post Friday,when I wrote it the first time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Ben P;
My apologies for the mix up in which you did not receive room service as you requested. We strive to exceed expectations at every turn. I have complete confidence that my staff made every effort to rectify the situation; however I am more than willing to address any additional concerns you may have. I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsbee, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Where to start? The very convient location to all major activities in the historic district? The comfortable bed? The yummy cookies each day at 5:00? The access the a washer and dryer? The healthy breakfast? The outstanding staff? Yes, all of the things were present each day. The price was so reasonable. If you need the visitors center, walk across the street. We walked everywhere we went. It was great. All staff was outstanding. One person stood out - Brenda. Not only was she friendly, she was able to usually tell us about the weather and suggest things to do. Wow at the end of our stay, I even got a hug from her. She is a person of excellence. The hotel is fortunate to have her as an employee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you Tammy R;
We love receiving a good report, and appreciate you taking the time to share the highlights of your visit. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Address: 320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District is the perfect spot for travelers looking to explore all the Historic Savannah has to offer. Located within walking distance to all of Savannah's historical treasures, guests can take advantage of what truly is a walking city. From our beautifully appointed guest rooms to our comfortable and inviting public areas, guests will have the perfect location to begin a memory making experience in this truly unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic Hotel Savannah
Country Inn And Suites - Savannah Historic
Country Inn Savannah
Savannah Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.