We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savannah Historic District ...great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Savannah Historic District ...great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This inn was well situated, very close to the tourist centre..easy to take a city tour. Also very close to the Market area...and within walking distance of the historic waterfront area. The hotel service was excellent and the rooms we excellent..clean, good value. The inclusive breakfast was varied and well presented, wholesome choices. What impressed me was the use of real china and cutlery...with plastic available on request ..very impressive these days. Also the breakfast staff were very helpful and personable. Sonya warmly welcomed us and made sure we got what we needed...she was great. Thanks Sonya!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff left a memorable impression. We appreciate you taking the time to recognize Sonya and the great service she delivered. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    273
    49
    15
    14
See reviews for
205
258
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I did some price checks, and this hotel was very reasonable, given that it is in the historic district (on the perimeter, true, but still walkable to everything.) Staff was very nice and helpful, breakfast was pleasant. I would stay here again. I used the adjacent parking garage for an additional $12 nightly. Did not use my carfor my entire stay - walked everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We have many repeat guests that find our location to be one of our best amenities. We are conveniently located in walking distance to most historic sites in the area; which is important for anyone looking to park their vehicle and get some exercise in. We hope to see you when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Savannah and decided to stay at Country Inn since we know what you normally get at one. I know it is in the historical section but we were very disappointed in how dirty the carpets were. Was very afraid to take off our shoes. Our carpet by the beds were so gross! Not sure if it was stained or dirty. The carpet by the elevators were even worse and saw mold on wall in hallway. The breakfast was not that great either. The staff though were very nice. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Hope_Dave;
My deepest apologies for our failure in meeting your expectations during your staff with us. Guest feedback is a valuable tool in which we hold in very high regard at the Country Inn & Suites- Savannah Historic. We hope to see you again as we challenge ourselves to exceed guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location of the hotel is a bit further away from the riverwalk area which in fact is very nice due to very heavy tourist numbers. The walk to the squares and through historic homes is delightful and just outside the door. Parking is 12.00 a day underground but there is also a 4 storey parking lot across the street.
Checkin was quick and we were asked several times if we liked our room. The lobby is very nice and bright with a fireplace in a central location between concierge and breakfast area.
The room could be improved with better lighting and the placement of a coffee table in front of the sofa. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is clean except for the smoking area which is also the outside area that you can bring your breakfast to. The breakfast was different each day, well stocked and replaced.
No resturant on site but Notable Fare is on the corner, is wonderful for evening, and the Chrystal Beer Saloon another block down and that's good too.
Don't trust your GPS with the address as it takes you to the Montgomery Street but the entrance is on Jefferson and that's a one way. We stay again.

Room Tip: This hotel is U shaped and the center core is another building. You need to be 4th floor or higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Grums;

Thank you for sharing your hotel experience as well as all the great tips and insight about the area and surrounding restaurants. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Friendly reception staff and concierge service, good book in reception lounge suggesting places to eat. Clean and comfortable room, with similar facilities to similarly appointed Drury's chain room we stayed in the previous night. Swimming Pool looked clean and tidy, but is pretty small, small gym too. Parking was across the road, and cost $12, with a special pass required to get out on the weekend (I had to ask for that). Is within walking district of River Street area and Forsyth Park and local free buses pass by too. Check-out was 12 noon, so no pressure to get out after a lazy breakfast. Breakfast was self-serve and was regularly checked and refilled where ncessary. Plates were disposable and plastic knives, forks spoons. Apparently you get proper plates during the week. Overall though, no issues and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Chris;

We appreciate the feedback. Many of our guest truly appreciate china as an option during breakfast. We try our best to keep both china and disposable dining ware available to best accommodate all guests. We will continue in our efforts to place these items in areas that are easily detected without over crowding the food service area. We thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. Our room was nicely appointed, comfortable beds and granite counters in the bathroom.

The one annoyance about the room was the wall/under-window air conditioner was noisy. Not enough to kill us.

The location was reasonable but not terribly close to the action. But in the trade-off of price and location; it seemed like a reasonable compromise.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just got back from a weekend trip to Savannah. We chose the Coutnry Inn & Suites because the price was right but it seemed to be pretty close to the main part of town. We weren't disappointed. We were within an easy 15 minute stroll of River Street. We walked back at midnight and the entire route was adequately lit and in very nice residential areas.

The hotel staff was very pleasant and quick to give us tips on the city.
Our room was very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was great and there was a nice variety, however get down there early because it is in very cramped quarters and can be a bit hectic.

Now Parking....
The hotel charges $12 a night. There is a very small parking lot under the hotel.This lot is only suitable for small to mid size cars as anything larger might not be able to maneuver in there. The hotel closes the gates at 11pm and you can't get your car out. Across the street is a covered parking deck (Liberty Street Garage)that is also utilized by the hotel. The hotel charges guests $12 a night for this lot as well, however the posted rates on the Parking services website are Daily Rate ($1 an hour Max $10)
Evening Rate (Mon-Fri 6pm to close $2 flat rate)
Weekend Rate (5am Sat- 3am Sun $1 flat rate a day flat rate. 5am Sun - 1am Monday $1 flat rate a day)
If there is a special event then parking can be $5 to $20.
If you'd rather not mess with the parking lot attendent then the convenience of doing the parking through the hotel might outweigh the savings. You'll need to get a parking card from the hotel in order to use the larger lot.

Also, on the weekends you can park at the metered sites for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Duanne S;

Thank you for pointing out the parking situation; and realizing that the hassle free flat rate is the best option in most cases. There is limited street parking after 5pm on Friday -Sunday. The public parking garage is closed to the public on the weekends in which a pass is obtained by hotel guests that choose to park with us. Our parking garage gate closes at 11pm however; we have a desk agent scheduled 24 hours a day that can grant access in and out upon request. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Address: 320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#18 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District is the perfect spot for travelers looking to explore all the Historic Savannah has to offer. Located within walking distance to all of Savannah's historical treasures, guests can take advantage of what truly is a walking city. From our beautifully appointed guest rooms to our comfortable and inviting public areas, guests will have the perfect location to begin a memory making experience in this truly unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic Hotel Savannah
Country Inn And Suites - Savannah Historic
Country Inn Savannah
Savannah Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.