We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good location, free cookies!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good location, free cookies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good service, helpful staff, good breakfast, and free cookies and punch in the evening!

Be aware that this is on the outer edge of the historic district and that you should be prepared to walk at least a half mile to get to where the action is (though there are at least 2 restaurants withing a couple of blocks of the hotel.) The free trolley runs only from 11a.m.-9 p.m., and the waterfront trolley was only running Thurs. - Sun. while we were there, so we were not able to take much advantage of the public transportation.

As some other reviewers have noted, we were instructed to park in the public garage across the street and charged $12 a day for this by the hotel, even though a 2-day public parking pass for this garage is available for $12 from the Visitor's Center. It is a small thing, but is the only blotch marring an otherwise excellent stay.

If you need quiet, ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the highway off-ramp. The traffic is not particularly heavy, but the occasional exiting truck does create a ruckus.

Room Tip: Rooms on the highway side are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest;
Thank you for sharing your comments. Please note that parking passes received from facilities other than the hotel itself will not grant access to the parking garage on weekends or during special events held at the Civic Center located directly across the street. Our goal is to make our guest parking experience as hassle free as possible.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and fresh baked cookies. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    304
    59
    20
    17
See reviews for
220
294
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been meaning to write about my stay at the Country Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District. I will be back! Great staff, great breakfast, and comfortable modern rooms. This place is a real gem! Went for a weekend with some friends and we all enjoyed it thoroughly. The hotel is walking distance to all the good restaurants and bars that were suggested to us.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend (11/1-4-2012) for the Rock and Roll Marathon and could not have asked for a better experirnce. I picked this property because of the cost and location to start and finsih line. The ENTIRE staff was friendly and helpful in anything we needed. even as far as asking you how your day was each time we walked past front desk. Breakfast staff was even very interested in making sure you had everything you needed. The best was the fresh cookies everyday after 5 at the front desk. We plan on attending the 2013 Rock and Roll Marathon in Savannah and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Kai and staff are so awesome to our troop. The breakfast was great, the rooms just the right size and we walked to all the great attractions. Highly recommend for Girl Scout troops! Nice indoor pool for the girls to unwind in after a long day!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherelle123, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We love the girl scouts and find that they truly enjoy the homely atmosphere and the short distance to the Juliette Lowe house. The other extra amenities that we provide; such as fresh baked cookies, indoor pool and deluxe hot breakfast, and board games are all favorites for our girl scout troops. We hope to see you again in the near future with another set of young ladies.
Yours in Hospitality;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here on vacation because we wanted to be close to the historic district. They were several restaurants within walking distance and the breakfast was very nice. Parking was conveniently located across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Simona at the front desk greeted us with a smile. We started off our visit to Savannah at the Crystal Restaurant Simona recommended that was less than 2 blocks from the hotel. The energy and smiles from the front desk and basically all the staff lasted all five days of our stay. We appreciated the breakfast options each morning and especially Brenda who was there each morning giving us tips on what to do each day while to tending to everyone. Our room was just right and kept clean during our stay. We would have like being 2-3 blocks closer to everything, but enjoyed walking the city each day. The parking area was small, but we were prepared by driving our Focus and felt the car was safe. We could have parked across the street for the same $12, but never had to and didn't even need to move the car for two days of our stay. Perfect location for the concert we were attending at the Johnny Mercer theatre.

Room Tip: Check in earlier to get the room at the end of the hall away from te elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed last week at this hotel that we booked over Priceline and we were all very pleased with the accomodations. When we checked in we were greeted warmly, given connecting rooms that we asked for and found the rooms to be large, clean and most importantly very comfortable beds. Our rooms were on the 3rd floor and we were never bothered by sounds from other rooms. We were always able to park in the garage below the hotel, the spaces are few and we were told for more compact cars. The breakfast area was clean, the food good and the staff were always there to see if you needed anything else and to clear your table. There were granola bars and fruit to take with you in the mornings and punch and cookies in the afternoon.
The only thing I would ask for would be a mirror over the desk area, this would make it easier for one person to get ready with make-up and hair while the other person is in the bath.
All in all I would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic

Address: 320 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District is the perfect spot for travelers looking to explore all the Historic Savannah has to offer. Located within walking distance to all of Savannah's historical treasures, guests can take advantage of what truly is a walking city. From our beautifully appointed guest rooms to our comfortable and inviting public areas, guests will have the perfect location to begin a memory making experience in this truly unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites - Savannah Historic
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic Hotel Savannah
Country Inn Savannah
Savannah Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.