We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House with Southern Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Davenport House Museum

Davenport House Museum
324 East State Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912 236 8097
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$31*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #33 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: Historic Sites, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Federal-style home of master builder Isaiah Davenport restored to its early 19th century beauty. Owned and operated by Historic Savannah Foundation.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful House with Southern Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The tour given at the Davenport House is a great way to see the inside of a beautiful Savannah home. The tour is very well done and gives you wonderful insight into Old Savannah. After the tour is over they invite you to remain in the garden for as long as you please, which may be a while since the garden is just lovely. Tour lasts about 30 minutes. Our tour of the Davenport House was included with our On-and-Off Tour Bus company (Oglethrope Tours). It was our last stop before we left Savannah and it was a lovely way to end our trip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    78
    26
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stylish house from 1820's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The tour was really good, It starts at the basement and why it was at the street level, the house itself is wonderful, walking around the rooms and hear all the history about the Davenport family.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very well done tour by an excellent guide, house is remarkably restored. Though a few blocks from main part of town, most worthwhile!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rushed through with no chance to explore.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I love to visit historical homes and this one had some lovely features and architectural points of interest. We took this tour specifically to see the incredible oval shaped staircase and more importantly to climb it. We did ask before starting the tour but as it turns out you only get to go up one flight and have no time to take any pictures. It is a guided tour with no opportunity to explore on your own. We were in and out of the house in an hour. Considering the entrance fee per person I did not feel it worth the money to view.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Holiday Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Fun and informative look into the holiday season of the 1820's. Tour room by room with a different costumed narrator for each room.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davenport House Museum also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Davenport House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davenport House Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.